QUOTE(emperor_rahl @ Aug 17 2015, 08:17 AM)
Sorry to hear that, heard about both Aker and Murphy layoffs. Best of luck...Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl
Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl
Aug 17 2015, 04:19 PM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Aug 18 2015, 12:35 PM
Sep 19 2015, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(dudan @ Sep 18 2015, 05:44 PM) anyone know any news about Tok Bali Supply Base. Really hard to google any infos about the project progress etc. Only knew that company UDPS was somehow involved with it, coz saw their site office nearby tok bali. Tok Bali is still coming up, I was there some time back and still lots to be done, even more time before more tenants actually move in. |
Oct 23 2015, 03:50 AM
QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Oct 23 2015, 12:08 AM) Guys, stay strong! Im sure this storm will be over soon.. Any otai that work overseas have any idea about the E&P sector now, what is the progress of shale oil now? seems like org org amerika tak mau back down...still drilling like no tmrw. stanzai is correct, rig counts have dropped here in the US. Many operators aren't drilling at all, there are quite a number of layoffs in the shale producing areas (ND, PA, TX). There's a sense of unease in Houston although companies are still consolidating ie. closing offices outside of Houston and moving people back to TX. I expect 2016 to be worse. KSA apparently is hurting as well from what I've read. |
Dec 1 2015, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(phil- @ Nov 30 2015, 01:11 PM) Hi all sifus. Need opinions from all of you. Right now I'm working with MNC oil n gas company but not as engineer. It is just office job and no travel required. Have been working for one and half years and I can say it is secured even the oil price is low since I never heard any one from this company got lay off. There are several advantages to the SLB job, first it interests you which to me is very important. Second is the SLB brand name itself, and finally a service company tends to give you more exposure compared to a PSC/operator. The money is a side advantage but look into whether or not it's an apples to apples comparison ie. permanent vs contract, benefits etc.Recently I got offer from SLB for field engineer. So the question is should I take this offer or just stick with my current job because I know most of the engineer got lay off nowadays. But in terms of payment, SLB pays a lot compare to my current salary. Fyi, my background is engineering and I would really love a job which needs me to travel and not only do the office job but with the current issue and all the lay off make me confuse whether to stay or to accept the offer. Hope everyone can give honest opinions for me. The risks are that most service companies will lay off people far quicker. Personally I'd take that risk and go to SLB, having experience and several brand names (multinational + SLB) makes a difference in the future, also you get to build your network too. |
Dec 10 2015, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(mat2020 @ Dec 9 2015, 07:50 PM) What about Tok Bali Supply Base? Is it true that Tok Bali Supply Base is 3rd largest supply base in Malaysia after Kerteh and Labuan? Anyone mind to share job opportunity here? Yes Tok Bali is the 3rd largest after Kemaman and Labuan, but it's the 3rd largest out of 3 supply bases I haven't been there for several months but the construction is moving. |
Dec 23 2015, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Dec 23 2015, 10:02 PM) I wonder if Petronas is retrenching people. At these low oil price Petronas takes the biggest hit as the Production Sharing Contract favors the Contractor company during low oil price like now. I haven't looked at the detailed commercial contracts, but how does Petronas get hit worse in today's situation? I thought all the partners including Petronas would be hit equally bad?Also Petronas as a group has their downstream business which makes money to cover for their PCSB upstream. Many of the PSC aren't integrated companies, just upstream so I would venture that the PSCs are the ones being hit worse. |
Jan 2 2016, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 1 2016, 08:42 PM) And this is why I keep saying that these American companies must be high on something. The pride before the bankruptcies come a calling. I've talked to some of the commercial/strategy people at these companies while I was in Houston and it's not just pride. There are several smaller companies doing unconventionals/shale in North America so getting all of them inline to reduce production will be difficult. Also there's the legal side of things ie. DOJ & collusion plus land owners potentially suing because they're not getting enough royalties etc.But I agree with you, they only way they'll go without reducing production is down and out. |
Jan 4 2016, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 2 2016, 11:11 AM) The only way for the oil price to recover is either we suddenly have huge demand (aka China) or we have massive bankruptcies of the shale pil companies which will permanently shut them down (hopefully the bondholders will be so averse to reinvest in them in the future) because if they are not shut down permanently, oil price will never recover above 60 dollars as these companies will then open the DUCs (Drilling Un-Completed) wells and flood the market again. See where this is going. If they don't give, this will be 1983-1999 all over again. That is a loooong period of price stagnation. In all honesty, even if the shale oil companies goes bankrupt or shuts down, Exxon/Chevron or another big oil will take over, or a private group will do so. There's some risk aversion but there's also a lot of capital out there and a lot of willingness to spend while capital (and to a certain extent contracts/labor) are relatively cheap. The feeling I got while I was there was how the US companies are using technology to improve production and reduce costs. Obama lifting the crude export ban is driving this too.I do see an extended price stagnation and agree mostly with Kaletsky's article from Jan 2015 where "the marginal cost of US shale oil (~$50) would become a ceiling for global oil prices, whereas the costs of relatively remote and marginal conventional oilfields in OPEC and Russia would set a floor (~$20)" China isn't consuming energy the way it used to and the world economy is stagnating as well. I'm not looking forward to it but $20-$50 oil price seems to be the norm for what looks like a long time. |
| Change to: | 0.0576sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:58 AM |