Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

kaw2kaw
post Jun 30 2015, 12:12 PM

Hi guys,sifu,O/L

I'm a fresh grad and just started my career for about 4 months in this oil and gas industry. Im working with a contractor company as an engineer and sometimes my work not even specific to one job. I am the one to do the drafting works, im the one to do the scheduling work. Its not that i dont like my work. I learn a lot from this. Learn how to use the Microsoft project, learn to use the autocad which i never use before. And the salary is not that much. Sometimes i just feel like jealous with some of my fresh grad frens who work with consultant company with higher salary. Did i make a right decision to stay here for a little longer or should i find new company?

i need some advices from u guys.might be some of u have the same problems as me or have experienced this before icon_question.gif cry.gif
kaw2kaw
post Jun 30 2015, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Jun 30 2015, 01:01 PM)
First of all, what is the nature of company's business?

I am on the fence on this one to be frank.

What are your objectives?

What are your aims?
Im working with a company that provide electrical and instrument services especially for oil and gas(offshore n onshore),chemical plant etc. I was a mechanical engineering student and to be honest i am so much interested to be in piping(piping engineer). I dont mind to start my career back as mechanical engineer if i am going to be offered to join fresh graduate programme especially in piping
kaw2kaw
post Jun 30 2015, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jun 30 2015, 01:45 PM)
during my early days in my career as a fresh grad many moons ago in the late 80s, i was once asked to help DCC to LIPAT DRAWINGS for final document submission to the client. that was certainly never in the scope of work of an engineer. but i did not complaint, and i did what i was asked to do.

you should expect to do some crappy work like that as a fresh grad. have a tough mind if you want to continue a career in oil and gas.
yup..maybe i have to start from the very bottom to lead me to the right path in O&G
Thanks sir
kaw2kaw
post Jul 1 2015, 08:44 AM

QUOTE(Erek @ Jun 30 2015, 10:27 PM)
Dont let supersound teach u. Hehe
hahhaa..okay boss..i did it once again..lol
kaw2kaw
post Jul 1 2015, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(feekle @ Jul 1 2015, 08:57 AM)
Observe a friend of mine who is pipeline engineer on contractor side, what they do is pipeline maintenance (blasting + coating), wrapping using pro assure (if i got it right), sectional replacement & pigging. Not to difficult to do in the eyes of the observer, paperwork wise i have no idea lah..
Really? will probably try if offered something like this

0.0340sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:35 PM