Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

SUSsupersound
post Aug 4 2015, 10:10 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Aug 3 2015, 06:13 PM)
Anyone got lubang at middle east? Guess that is the safest place for o&g
Jerry Varghese, AP Recruitment, Thinkplus are some of the website you may try.
But now is not a good time also for Middle East except Saudi that still doing mass hiring due to 2 mega refineries are due to start up soon.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 5 2015, 01:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 5 2015, 09:32 AM)
Shell MLNG PSC dua not renewed by Petronas?
Now is under long term thunderstorm in O&G, time for big company like Petronas to review contracts with Alibaba companies. Which ever Alibaba companies that still can get contract from Petronas must have strong connection with top management whistling.gif
Maybe will jump out an Alibaba company and buy Shell Malaysia totally, just like Petron bought over ESSO last time whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 5 2015, 02:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 5 2015, 02:28 PM)
So I guess it spells GG.com for SMEP?
Maybe, as said many many times, brace your self if you still want to survive in O&G, be it from upstream or downstream.
With oil price maintaining or testing new low, when it breaches below USD40, by next year Petronas will start to lose money, if they still continuing awarding white elephant projects to their Alibaba companies.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 5 2015, 04:16 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 5 2015, 03:08 PM)
I've been thinking, sticking around applying to other O&G companies, but then everywhere also tak secure langsung, retrenchment sini sana.

So, otai otai, adik ingin minta tunjuk ajar, mahu ask for advice here. First of all, adik juga kerja sebagai engineer dalam satu O&G company di Malaysia. So, would it be a good idea to venture out from this industry for at least, this while? Adik bukanlah senior sangat, 3 tahun kerja sebagai engineer saja.

Maybe 1-2 years until everything recovers to a better situation baru come back?
Got job already just continue until get slashed. Gain more experience then jump ship to Middle East, at least will be 2X from what you have now.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 5 2015, 06:35 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Aug 5 2015, 05:50 PM)
Shell retail business is different, as the market leader in Malaysia, it's a cash cow and holding a big volume and significant profit contribution to the company.

Esso in Malaysia was not doing I remember, San Miguel was buying it with a high price during the O&G good time.
Just wait and see whistling.gif
Anything can happen laugh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 5 2015, 11:06 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Aug 5 2015, 10:43 PM)
Brent Crude Oil
$49.99  ▲0.47    0.94%
2015.08.04 end-of-day

WTI Crude Oil
$45.74  ▲0.57    1.25%
2015.08.04 end-of-day
Today up slightly nod.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 6 2015, 02:45 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Aug 5 2015, 11:15 PM)
M’sian crude price falls by US$5.35 to US$61.54/bbl
The selling price (OSP) of a basket of Malaysian crude oil for July-loading has been set at US$61.54 a barrel, state-owned Petronas said today.

The July price for flagship Labuan fell US$5.35 a barrel from June. The price had reached its lowest in January since April  2009.

Petronas introduced a new benchmark starting January 2014, based on the spot differentials to dated Brent for three grades - Labuan, Miri and Kikeh.

As a result of the change, Tapis Blend was dropped as the key pricing reference to dated Brent due to low liquidity and falling output.

Kimanis, a new grade that started production in the fourth quarter of 2014, could be included in the price reference basket in late-2015 or 2016.
Well, Petronas can shout for USD100 a barrel for our sweet crude, since the main buyer is still the refinery in Paka and Melaka whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 6 2015, 02:47 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Aug 6 2015, 10:44 AM)
My info said someone put deposit already to buy, my friend just resigned from Shell n join another "sister"

(^__^)
Wind are blowing everyday whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 8 2015, 08:07 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Aug 8 2015, 04:56 AM)
Can PM me? Thanks in advance
A secret will remain a secret when only 1 person knows, it will be news when 2nd person knows on it whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 10 2015, 11:04 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Aug 10 2015, 10:07 PM)
I think as long in oil n gas, there is bound to hv some quota for these race.

But it is perplexing that GLC should also help this partiular race who has been retrench by other companies by hiring them rather than hiring freshies without financial commitment

I wonder y freshies when outside there r many unemployed ppl who has commitments to pay. I dun mind if they help those particular race tho...
There's always pros and cons on every step a company make.
Time will be the judge.

SUSsupersound
post Aug 10 2015, 11:09 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Aug 10 2015, 10:15 PM)
Cheaper to hire & mostly scholar of petronas. Their inexperienced in handling project often proven costly.
You are right on this, But big corporation like petronas won't need people that can think like you. They only need people that can fulfill their needs. Like running a white elephant project, they need more failures rather than success.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 11 2015, 09:03 PM

11,554 posts

http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=clv15.nym
Hope can see RON95 at rm1.85 next month.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 12 2015, 09:31 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DuFfz @ Aug 11 2015, 11:31 AM)
Nope i'm not a scholar, I'm just locally educated with loans. its based on my 4+ years of dealing with new recruit who assigned to look after construction works by their seniors. The case of overlook, v.o, & unfamiliarity with how to construct , cost millions in v.o. Not to mention the countless arguments & all the blame directed to contractor. Guidance is 1 thing which is severe lacking from my point of view, for us contractor we learned from being screwed & humiliated.
I'm not trying to be smart sir, like i said, its from my personal observation.
In every organization where songlap operation is the main culture, sure they need someone to take the blame whistling.gif
If the blame is to be taken by contract holder(which is the person that award the white elephant project), he may need to go to jail.
But by putting the blame to contractors, there will be more excuse can be used. Material price gone up, sourced wrong sub-cons are common. Usually such contractors forever can get projects.
Small scale companies will talk on cost control, efficiency, while big companies won't talk on this. Budget over-run, delayed hand-over are normal. Like the RAPID project already delayed for 1 year(and they dare to openly says so).

Welcome to the reality world, what you've learn in school won't applicable to real life whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 12 2015, 01:14 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Aug 12 2015, 12:02 PM)
Being observer, we can learn a trick or two by reading  rclxms.gif

can be informative
You got day and night, got light sure have shadow.
Same goes to O&G, bloom for too long, is time to correct thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 14 2015, 09:08 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Aug 13 2015, 01:32 PM)
Good day sifus,
A quick question about heat exchangers. When and why or during what type of condition do we use these HE (Shell & tube heat exchanger(STHE) VS Printed circuit heat exchanger(PCHE) VS Plate and frame heat exchanger(PFHE) ? did some searching but informations don't seem to be relevant. Hope some sifus here with experience can help. were ask to justify.
Application, cost, maintenance will determine which is the best.
http://www.chemkb.com/equipments/heat-exch...exchanger-pche/
There's no direct right answer on this. Like a crude oil refinery, normal shell and tube exchanger will do the job.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 17 2015, 11:55 AM

11,554 posts

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...ount/?style=biz
More good news for upstream business.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 18 2015, 10:31 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Aug 18 2015, 01:02 AM)
Just have a thought, depreciation of MYR might helps in slow down the retrenchment? It's RM4.10 now.
http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...cted/?style=biz
Under what reason to slowdown retrenchment?
With this news, it is very obvious that O&G companies hired too many staffs for sleeping shocking.gif
So even with 1USD=rm10, hiring too many staffs for sleeping is still a fact. I'm still waiting otais here to twist this fact whistling.gif
Malaysia considered very good already, only close down 21 rigs out of 39 where Middle East close down 90 out of 100 whistling.gif
Ours are just ~50% down compare to others of 90% laugh.gif
As Jib Gor said before : bercukurlar whistling.gif
4-5 years back Shell also borrow money to pay dividend, now Petronas are doing the same shakehead.gif
SUSsupersound
post Aug 18 2015, 10:35 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(mark_vyz @ Aug 17 2015, 04:49 PM)
Wow murphy too? I heard this morning Shell global is going to reduce 30%
30% is just a small number, won't affect much.
Royal Dutch are trying to collect 70 billion to bail out BG.
So 30% is just for a start, more will come. Slash 1 staff that sleeping and taking rm60-90k a month then take a new staff with minimum benefit will be good, since both are doing the same, sleeping only.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 18 2015, 10:45 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Aug 17 2015, 06:26 PM)
Im not yet taking any for now...still in resilient mode and always ready working like its my last day at the company.

For the record I only have a diploma in electronics but having 10 years working as process tech/control room. Im not sure what good I can bring to other industry if shit does happened... I see the demand of crane operator and safety officer is there regardless of what industry, that's why im interested.
Demand for crane operator are always there, since almost every type of business also need to use crane.
As for sleeping officer, not all will be needing them, since a company can get a visiting sleeping officer only icon_rolleyes.gif
If you have time, get both of the certification will be the best.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 19 2015, 09:51 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(E Crew @ Aug 18 2015, 11:02 PM)
thank you for your reply smile.gif
No problem, but this is also the first time I know got other type of heat exchangers laugh.gif

QUOTE(Nakaoji @ Aug 19 2015, 03:48 AM)
Just landed my feet on the land after two weeks offshore, suddenly received a retrenchment email. I mean literally. I just got off from the boat crew, received internet line then boom, bad news. Haha.

Luckily I have no commitment at all but sadly I have only be employed for four months. Tough times for a fresh graduate like me. Can't even get a year experience working, already being laid off.
At least you can wake up fast enough, what if you go and commit to all sort of commitments like getting a 9 year loan for a scrap metal and a rm600k flat in KL?

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0428sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:01 AM