Oil & Gas Careers V8, Upstream and Downstream, Crude Oil (WTI): USD 45.22/bbl

SUSsupersound
post Sep 8 2015, 10:27 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Sep 8 2015, 07:37 AM)
Any lubang to join ib as a fresh grad?  brows.gif  Man, I kinda regret turning down KWAP's offer to become their investment analyst. The pay was quite good too. I just felt like it was a huge risk that time because they were heavily linked to the 1MDB scandal :/
Got scandal only can move the money. If the money don't move, how to make money doh.gif
_azam13
post Sep 8 2015, 10:40 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 8 2015, 02:27 AM)
Got scandal only can move the money. If the money don't move, how to make money doh.gif
I don't really get what you're trying to say.
Urbanbeast
post Sep 8 2015, 12:59 PM

21 posts

Hi all
im a graduating Mechanical Engineer

May i know what kind of consultancy and contractor can mechanical engineer work for?
in another words, the services/job scope
i not too familiar with oil and gas field

as for like construction field mechanical cover HVAC,Sanitary,Fire and so on

would like to get to know more about mechanical job in oil and gas

Thank you =)
tedisgodlike
post Sep 10 2015, 12:06 AM

582 posts

edited.

This post has been edited by tedisgodlike: Sep 20 2015, 06:40 PM
SUSsupersound
post Sep 10 2015, 10:17 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 10 2015, 12:06 AM)
Hi otai-otai sekalian.

I would like to ask opinion. I just graduated from UTP  then after that I work in EPC company as a graduate engineer (Project) until May 2015. Unfortunately, because of the current situation I didn't get the chance to become permanent staff.  sweat.gif

until now still searching job. I saw a program from TWI under cidb youth program they offered this program :

1) 3g/6g welding - 2 weeks
2) NDT :
    - Magnetic Particle Testing - 2 weeks
    - Penetrant Testing - 2 weeks
    - Interpretation of Radiographs- 2 weeks
    - Ultrasonic Testing- 2 weeks
3) Blasting & Painting operation- 4 weeks

Which courses should i go to expand my marketability? I don't mind to start from below (even if they offered me under rm 2k i also grab it, because I don't have enough experience) Btw I have degree in Mechanical Engineering and Diploma in Plant Engineering with 6 months experience as a QC inspector and around 11 months in PMT offshore project.

Thank you for the opinion, appreciated it.
Learn all would be better.
Yveatel
post Sep 10 2015, 10:32 AM

880 posts

Hi otai-otai sekalian.

I would like to ask opinion. I just graduated from UTP  then after that I work in EPC company as a graduate engineer (Project) until May 2015. Unfortunately, because of the current situation I didn't get the chance to become permanent staff.  sweat.gif

until now still searching job. I saw a program from TWI under cidb youth program they offered this program :

2) NDT :

Which courses should i go to expand my marketability? I don't mind to start from below (even if they offered me under rm 2k i also grab it, because I don't have enough experience) Btw I have degree in Mechanical Engineering and Diploma in Plant Engineering with 6 months experience as a QC inspector and around 11 months in PMT offshore project.

Take all.
3snow
post Sep 10 2015, 04:39 PM

51 posts

Hi otai-otai sekalian.

2) NDT :

Take all NDT cource, put more focus on UT, get UT 3.1, then 3.2.....good career development.
BillySteel
post Sep 11 2015, 02:53 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 10 2015, 01:06 AM)
Hi otai-otai sekalian.

2) NDT :

Gua tak faham. You have been a QC inspector and an offshore PMT and you still ask questions like this?

You, given your experience and background in an EPC should know by now what certs are in demand right?

Normally people like you will probably ask if should sit PCN or CSWIP. Try to join NDT company first. Cert with no experience too many in the market right now and NDT can pay you basic as low as RM900 (minimum wage) and site allowance at RM8 per/hr

This post has been edited by BillySteel: Sep 11 2015, 06:23 AM
ch_teo
post Sep 11 2015, 09:13 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Sep 11 2015, 02:53 AM)
Gua tak faham. You have been a QC inspector and an offshore PMT and you still ask questions like this?

You, given your experience and background in an EPC should know by now what certs are in demand right?

Normally people like you will probably ask if should sit PCN or CSWIP. Try to join NDT company first. Cert with no experience too many in the market right now and NDT can pay you basic as low as RM900 (minimum wage) and site allowance at RM8 per/hr
Some people can claim to have this and that experience but how good and depth the exposure of their experience is the question mark.

Whether their experience can aid them to pass the theory and practical exam in the above courses is also a question mark...

there are no short-cuts, it is about stage by stage from Level 1 until...
tedisgodlike
post Sep 11 2015, 09:44 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Sep 11 2015, 02:53 AM)

Jangan marah bro and thanks for the opinion. Literally, im just a newbie to the industry and still a bit clueless how to expand and what to expect for future growth.
BillySteel
post Sep 11 2015, 12:05 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 11 2015, 10:44 AM)
Jangan marah bro and thanks for the opinion. Literally, im just a newbie to the industry and still a bit clueless how to expand and what to expect for future growth.
I am not angry, I am just flabbergasted really how an engineer after working one and the half year in the industry as a QC and PMT in an EPC not know about how their industry work(NDT/Welding-related to QC, PMT basically you are involved in every stage).
You should know what certs are in demand because urm........ sweat.gif rolleyes.gif you know the people approving/requesting these certifications come from QC and PMT!
You can always talk with your seniors and I am sure they have lots of advice for you on current market trend.
Sad for the future of engineers in that region.
tedisgodlike
post Sep 11 2015, 01:06 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Sep 11 2015, 12:05 PM)
I am not angry, I am just flabbergasted really how an engineer after working one and the half year in the industry as a QC and PMT in an EPC not know about how their industry work(NDT/Welding-related to QC, PMT basically you are involved in every stage).
You should know what certs are in demand because urm........ sweat.gif  rolleyes.gif you know the people approving/requesting these certifications come from QC and PMT!
You can always talk with your seniors and I am sure they have lots of advice for you on current market trend.
Sad for the future of engineers in that region.
Oh i see the confusion here. My mistake. I forgot to mention that my qc experience was in aviation industry.

and in PMT i just involved until engineering stage ( FEED and detail design) . Thats why i didnt know much about ndt/welding. But now, thanks to you sir i already get the info. Again thank you so much.

This post has been edited by tedisgodlike: Sep 11 2015, 01:08 PM
Vervain
post Sep 11 2015, 03:35 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 11 2015, 01:06 PM)
Oh i see the confusion here. My mistake. I forgot to mention that my qc experience was in aviation industry.

and in PMT i just involved until engineering stage ( FEED and detail design) . Thats why i didnt know much about ndt/welding. But now, thanks to you sir i already get the info. Again thank you so much.
What is your engineering background?
mohdyakup
post Sep 14 2015, 05:25 PM

4,351 posts

OceanMight Sdn Bhd

http://www.upstreamonline.com/live/1411178...-kinabalu-award
ZZMsia
post Sep 15 2015, 06:09 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Sep 14 2015, 05:25 AM)
How about bunga pakma
eyelash
post Sep 15 2015, 10:53 PM

30 posts

All contractors (Exxon, Shell, Murphy, Talisman and the likes) who has business in Malaysia will have to go through PETRONAS for approval when they want to do hiring. This is a known fact and has been in place since aeons and aeons ago. Why? Because headcount is cost recoverable. So anything that's cost recoverable, of course PETRONAS needs to know and will need their approval. However, what these people fail to tell you is that PETRONAS has no control over whom you hire. They approve only the headcount but they don't control who should you hire. PETRONAS does not control how many you wish to hire even, you come in and propose and they just approve.

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Sep 5 2015, 02:48 PM)
Petronas is a local entity

Shell isnt

Petronas has to do it

Btw, do u know that shell hiring has to go under petronas approval?
eyelash
post Sep 15 2015, 11:08 PM

30 posts

Your fact isnt quite right. Local crude is mostly exported. Local crude usage is imported. Melaka mostly handles imported crude.

QUOTE(supersound @ Aug 6 2015, 02:45 PM)
Well, Petronas can shout for USD100 a barrel for our sweet crude, since the main buyer is still the refinery in Paka and Melaka whistling.gif
SUSsupersound
post Sep 15 2015, 11:36 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(eyelash @ Sep 15 2015, 11:08 PM)
Your fact isnt quite right. Local crude is mostly exported. Local crude usage is imported. Melaka mostly handles imported crude.
Still, it can't handle sour crude, so no point doh.gif
SUSsupersound
post Sep 15 2015, 11:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(eyelash @ Sep 15 2015, 10:53 PM)
All contractors (Exxon, Shell, Murphy, Talisman and the likes) who has business in Malaysia will have to go through PETRONAS for approval when they want to do hiring. This is a known fact and has been in place since aeons and aeons ago. Why? Because headcount is cost recoverable. So anything that's cost recoverable, of course PETRONAS needs to know and will need their approval. However, what these people fail to tell you is that PETRONAS has no control over whom you hire. They approve only the headcount but they don't control who should you hire. PETRONAS does not control how many you wish to hire even, you come in and propose and they just approve.
Few years back, indeed you are right, headcount only.
But now no more, race comes first with main factor is take Petronas's engineer first.
PaulReedSmooth
post Sep 16 2015, 01:54 PM

161 posts

Holiday reading biggrin.gif

Petronas, the Malaysian energy giant with big plans in B.C., faced ‘catastrophic’ safety issues

OTTAWA — Petronas, the Malaysian state-owned global energy giant at the heart of British Columbia’s LNG ambitions, was told in late 2013 that it was dealing with “very serious” safety and integrity issues throughout its offshore Malaysian operations, The Vancouver Sun has learned.

A 732-page internal audit, presented to senior management on Oct. 24 of that year and obtained recently by The Sun, uncovered numerous problems on Petronas oil and gas platforms in the three major oil and gas fields off the Malaysian coast.

More http://www.financialpost.com/m/search/blog...-issues-at-home

108 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:00 AM