11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V149, Higher interest rate coming soon?

SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 12:21 PM

23,851 posts

Buy on valuations ..not the prices per se
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 12:23 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Jan 7 2016, 12:21 PM)
If market meltdown, it won't be good for either you or everyone else....

You sure you want everyone to suffer (including you) so that you can afford to buy the shares of some company?   shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Ya u are right..Cash is still King in any melt downs ..but Not Maybank shares or what that keeping your cash in their banks biggrin.gif

Anyway do not put Maybank before the economy unless it is like Alibaba that could drive the economy ........

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 12:37 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 12:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ Jan 7 2016, 12:38 PM)
Value and price are 2 different things. When there is a price meltdown, it doesn't necessarily mean the value of the company deteriorate on a 1:1 ratio as well. Historically, markets has always overreacted when there were good and bad news. I aim to profit from these over-reactions, in this case a price meltdown. So far, there has been several companies where this has happened in recent months due to GST scare, namely Padini, HLInd. Current cases where I believe an overreaction has happened but the price has not reverted back to mean are banking stocks such as AmBank & CIMB.
I think u are basically a Post Sub Prime Investor.........the cut off point ( history erased from yr memory easily or taken lightly if u are a post Sub Prime investor )

Post Sub Prime investors are Die Hard arguing Group ...based on lots of their own assumptions .....

THey see Earthquake 3 ..then they conclude Earthqauke 8 or 9 would be more or less the same

Have u Google the real meaning of a " MELTDOWN " in stock market BTW ????

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 01:02 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 01:12 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Jan 7 2016, 01:02 PM)
By the way , can help to check my calculation to get the PE is correct or not?
Gadang:
Qtr Net profit attributable to ordinary shareholders
30-11-14 $8511
28-02-15 $16168
31-05-15 $24552
31-08-15 $20862
Total $70093

Total issued share capital: 235113

EPS = $70093/235113 = $0.298124732

Current share price = $2.44

P/E (trailing 12 months) = 8.184493744

Is my calculation correct? Please help to advice.
Investing is the " Sum of the Parts" so I do not just take PE or EPS alone ..anyway it is the future earnings that more important than the past ..

A company could be have a bad PE now but odeli showing good turnaround then I would buy ...

TIMECOM was once almost forgone ...but now a shining entity for example ..

What makes KYY successful coz he connects himself more to the future ..less on the past

So if yr calculation is a bit out here and there ,,it does not matter much COZ u can never compute 100% right on Future Events .

Best Regards

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 01:14 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 01:43 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Jan 7 2016, 01:27 PM)
@ Sky Gor, actually, i plan to average up on Gadang. But then, waiting for it to come down. It seems the price push is in anticipation of a good quarter which will be announced this month.
Hopefully, can "hentam" some of it when the price has dropped after the quarterly results release.

i think Gadang will experienced higher earnings for their FY16. BUt then, the share price has been chased up quite alot. I am waiting for the buying pressure to dissipitate before averaging up. Hopefully, it will drop to RM2.20 and then, whack some more.
I asked my friends to buy Gadang at rm 1.80.......

But honestly I cannot see every step of the ways.......meaning u buy now..sure tomorrow u can make the money despite China halted the market.

SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 01:43 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Jan 7 2016, 01:27 PM)
@ Sky Gor, actually, i plan to average up on Gadang. But then, waiting for it to come down. It seems the price push is in anticipation of a good quarter which will be announced this month.
Hopefully, can "hentam" some of it when the price has dropped after the quarterly results release.

i think Gadang will experienced higher earnings for their FY16. BUt then, the share price has been chased up quite alot. I am waiting for the buying pressure to dissipitate before averaging up. Hopefully, it will drop to RM2.20 and then, whack some more.
I asked my friends to buy Gadang at rm 1.80.......

But honestly I cannot see every step of the ways.......meaning u buy now..sure tomorrow u can make the money despite China halted the market.

SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 01:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Jan 7 2016, 01:28 PM)
By the way - what is your opinion on SymLife? i am stuck in there for very very long....sigh....
Symlife is still a good fundamental stock..but property sector is out the favour at the moment..

I thought u mentioned many times in another forum that to switch to something like Gadang quite some time back. So why u preferred to be stuck ?

If u aim for immediate return ..then u should switch some time back or even now .......

Once I held Asiatics for more than 7 years , at about 1.50..then it changed name to Genting Plantation with better feng sui..

BTW Icon8888..wrote a good article on Value Investors vs Value Traders....so u need to know which group u are..in

Value Investors hold shares until sometimes they forget they have such shares...

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 02:02 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 03:36 PM

23,851 posts

As I say u need to analyse yr own self first before embarking on next investment mission .......Are U a Value Investor Vs Value Trader ..?

The Q u asked about Tambun or property sector basically are Value Investor Q but by nature U are just a Value Trader....Property sector is for Value Investors now at the moment..long haul

Let me put it in another way.....IF a man wanted or has 100% desire to have a relation with another man .......and having no interest for women...

Then he would be stuck in " pretending" to be a man .. The frustration and so on ? yes or no..?

If by nature u do not want to be a super long investor..then why u ask those stocks required u to hold for super long period.......?

So yr Q to me are irrelevance....sori for that do not mean to be rude...

Having said the above...nothing wrong with yr own analysis of stocks........

Anyway ..Gadang is in Construction to me..

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 10:26 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 04:10 PM

23,851 posts

If u are a Value Trader and wanted to put all yr money into Property linked stocks......somehow u would feel " stuck " after holding for a short period of time....

Yr desire and stock performance go separate ways....in short term

I.e yr mindset does not prepare u for long term....

Everyone wants to make money like WB....but few having the patience like him hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 04:26 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 7 2016, 05:06 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Jan 7 2016, 05:00 PM)
@ Sky Gor -
long story short -
for Gadang: value trader - due to existence of average cost of Rm1.45,
for Tambun & Symlife: value investor.
nod.gif

My suggestion for u is go for " Gadang type" and over time...... your stomach is able to digest long term stocks like Tambun and so on ..

It is an evolution per se...aka less frustration for u in a way .......

Good luck..

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 7 2016, 10:27 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 8 2016, 09:14 AM

23,851 posts

KIALIM stays Green..something is cooking
SKY 1809
post Jan 8 2016, 01:15 PM

23,851 posts

Strategy for Year

We continue to advocate a defensive core equity portfolio – telco, utility, consumer staples, selected REITs, healthcare - with the thematic and value stocks to provide the outperformance. Key thematics, in our view, will revolve around: (i) substantial construction awards relating to rails, highways, TODs, (ii) continued strength in the USD, (iii) Sarawak’s state election in 2Q16, (iv) a strong El Nino in 1H16, and a potential La Nina towards end-2016, (v) Shariah investing. Longer term, investors should strengthen their portfolio: (i) in the niche export sectors, which are TPPA beneficiaries, (ii) which will benefit from China’s One Belt, One Road.

Source: Maybank Research - 8 Jan 2016

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 10 2016, 01:07 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 11 2016, 03:59 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 8 2016, 12:07 PM)
The salted fish starts to swim again. Never expected but do notice that they start to 'report' profits some quarters ago. Too much leakage due to related parties transactions.
Not the The Force Awakens meh hmm.gif
SKY 1809
post Jan 11 2016, 04:03 PM

23,851 posts

Record year forecast for construction sector despite property slowdown

http://www.theedgeproperty.com.my/my/conte...operty-slowdown
SKY 1809
post Jan 11 2016, 04:14 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Jan 11 2016, 02:45 PM)
ACW flying! a good mid-term to long-term buy yes.
AWC is a hot favourite in my personal discussion group biggrin.gif

Anyway it bags a contract from KL 118 ..

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 11 2016, 04:19 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 12 2016, 09:09 AM

23,851 posts

Not bad Ah Tai
SKY 1809
post Jan 12 2016, 09:46 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Jan 12 2016, 09:36 AM)
thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif  drool.gif  rclxms.gif
Likely more projects on the way
SKY 1809
post Jan 12 2016, 04:22 PM

23,851 posts

6211 ..Salted Fish nak harga ?
SKY 1809
post Jan 13 2016, 11:25 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jan 13 2016, 10:39 AM)
Lagi boleh tahan. Ng family just woke up to the joy of owning a PLC and not just making bricks.

Ah, finally making money can come in so many different ways.
Well..making money by investing sometimes could be a much simpler process..but many want to substitute Patience with many other complicated thoughts..... choices for current trend ?
SKY 1809
post Jan 19 2016, 05:05 PM

23,851 posts

My Rubbish Stock got jalan today..not bad

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 19 2016, 05:05 PM

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0431sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled