Gaming Desktop

TSlionellex
post May 5 2015, 03:55 AM, updated 11y ago

51 posts

Sifus, I need some advice and maybe some corrections.. I've surfed the net for some rigs and I kinda know what I want. Here's my future-rigs.

Palit GTX 970
ASUS Z97
Intel Core i7-5820K
KINGSTON HyperX FURY
Corsair VS550
Western Digital Blue 1TB
TRANSCEND SSD 370 128GB

Yes, I know they're expensive.. Just that I want a rig that could last me for years instead of getting a decent one now and changing it time to time.
DummieXD
post May 5 2015, 03:22 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(lionellex @ May 5 2015, 03:55 AM)
Sifus, I need some advice and maybe some corrections.. I've surfed the net for some rigs and I kinda know what I want. Here's my future-rigs.

Palit GTX 970
ASUS Z97
Intel Core i7-5820K
KINGSTON HyperX FURY
Corsair VS550
Western Digital Blue 1TB
TRANSCEND SSD 370 128GB

Yes, I know they're expensive.. Just that I want a rig that could last me for years instead of getting a decent one now and changing it time to time.
First of all, what do you intend to do with your rig? Production? Gaming?
If gaming, then the motherboard choice is solid, but the i7 5820K is an LGA2011 chip, Z97 boards are LGA1150. You'll have to pair the 5820K with a X99 motherboard or downgrade the processor to an i7 4790k, which is the best CPU for LGA1150 now.

But if you are doing production and could benefit from the extra cores from the 5820K then go for it, otherwise you won't need so much CPU power.

Do note that the 5820K REQUIRES DDR4 memory and the 4790K can only support DDR3 memory.

I would also suggest getting a more solid power supply if you're looking for future proofing. When upgrading one rig to another, most of the time you'll keep the PSU and casing.
I suggest getting the V-series from CoolerMaster, the AX,HX,RM series from Corsair or the X-series from Seasonic. It wouldn't hurt to get a higher wattage JUST IN CASE you wanna go for an SLI build in the future. Getting more wattage does not mean a higher electric bill if you choose an efficient one, it will only draw what is needed. Personally i find the 700W to 900W range the sweet spot.

If you have the extra cash, upgrading the SSD to 250GB would have you worrying a lot less about space, I suffered using 120GB as well last time. You can save a little money by buying the Kingston V300. SATA based SSDs perform almost the same, might as well get the cheapest. tongue.gif

Lastly, the GTX970 would do fine if you're only planning to game on 1080p or 1440p, but if you're doing any plans to upgrade to a higher resolution, I'll suggest getting something a little more hardcore, perhaps you can spend the money you saved on the processor here. At this point in time, the GTX970 still gives a really good performance for the price though, just upset about the VRAM issue, I'm also running GTX970's. :/

Good luck! And don't be afraid to PM me if you got specific questions to ask. smile.gif
mod_po
post May 5 2015, 07:03 PM

im a dragon in cat costume
1,462 posts

Palit GTX 970
ASUS Z97
Intel Core i7-5820K
KINGSTON HyperX FURY
Corsair VS550
Western Digital Blue 1TB
TRANSCEND SSD 370 128GB

Do provide us ur budget, n ur usage, gaming xpectation?
it maybe yes or maybe not neccessary for lga2011 build depending on ur budget n ur usage,
SUSwct
post May 6 2015, 12:58 AM

228 posts

Palit GTX 970
ASUS Z97
Intel Core i7-5820K
KINGSTON HyperX FURY
Corsair VS550
Western Digital Blue 1TB
TRANSCEND SSD 370 128GB

- any 970 will do
- Asus Z97 Pro Gamer, it will be a solid choice with the onboard SupremeFX audio
- CPU depends on ur usage
- atm if u r not doing rendering, wil suggest get 1X8GB(more than enough just for gaming)
- get at least 600W PSU
- any HDD will do for storage and 256GB or above SSD is a must
TSlionellex
post May 6 2015, 01:33 AM

51 posts

Yes entirely for gaming, thanks guys. and my budget is over 5k.
mod_po
post May 6 2015, 03:47 AM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(lionellex @ May 6 2015, 01:33 AM)
Yes entirely for gaming, thanks guys. and my budget is over 5k.
if oni for gaming purpose with ur budget, u dun nid that i7-5820k

this one for around 5K build OC

intel i7-4790K RM1329 (u will get OC-able CPU)
Asrock Z97 Killer RM569
Zotac GTX970 Reference 4GB GDDR5 - RM1300
2x Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM458
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
Liteon 900S 256GB - RM429
Seasonic S12II Evo 620W 80+ Bronze Fully Modular - RM319
Thermaltake versa H25 RM135
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM4897

if for non OC (u will get better GPU)

Intel Xeon 1231 V3 RM979
Asus B85M-G RM313
Leadtek GTX980 RM2179
2xCorsair Value RAM 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - RM458
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199

RM5011

but if u insist on the i7-5820k build

Intel Core i7 5820K RM1500
MSI X99S SLI Plus RM975
Zotac GTX970 Ref RM1300
Corsair Value RAM 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RM264 x2 = 16GB RM528
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM5544

imo,
it the i7-5820k build wouldnt b much diffrent with the i7-4790k build in term of gaming performance,
myb just 1-5% dffrent on CERTAIN games,
on future proofing also will not make much significant diffrent,
unless if u have 6.5k budget, then it will b another case

This post has been edited by mod_po: May 6 2015, 03:51 AM
TSlionellex
post May 6 2015, 04:01 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 6 2015, 03:47 AM)

Asrock Z97 Killer RM569
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM4897

Intel Xeon 1231 V3 RM979
Asus B85M-G RM313
Leadtek GTX980 RM2179
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199

RM5011

MSI X99S SLI Plus RM975
Zotac GTX970 Ref RM1300
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM5544

imo,
it the i7-5820k build wouldnt b much diffrent with the i7-4790k build in term of gaming performance,
Wooooooo, thank you sir. Will go thru everthing.

SSJBen
post May 6 2015, 03:27 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Understand 2 more things;

- Skylake is due in September/October 2015
- Broadwell is due early June 2015

You don't have to care about Broadwell, but if you can hold out for a rig until September/October then perhaps you may want to wait a little?

This post has been edited by SSJBen: May 6 2015, 03:27 PM
AeonixG
post May 7 2015, 12:30 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 6 2015, 03:47 AM)

Asrock Z97 Killer RM569
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM4897

Intel Xeon 1231 V3 RM979
Asus B85M-G RM313
Leadtek GTX980 RM2179
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199

RM5011

MSI X99S SLI Plus RM975
Zotac GTX970 Ref RM1300
WD 1TB HDD - RM 199
Liteon 900S 256GB RM429
CM Hyper 212X RM159

RM5544

imo,
This is very helpful, Thanks thumbup.gif
mod_po
post May 7 2015, 01:58 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(AeonixG @ May 7 2015, 12:30 PM)
This is very helpful, Thanks  thumbup.gif
aih?? r u building ur own pc?
have asked recomendation on any thread?
aliesterfiend
post May 7 2015, 02:55 PM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

Gaming only ? Better stick with 4690k. Those hyperthreading 4790k wont matter much in gaming and you can save few hundred ringgit for other things, probably a second or bigger SSD ?

This post has been edited by aliesterfiend: May 7 2015, 02:56 PM
AeonixG
post May 7 2015, 03:13 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 7 2015, 01:58 PM)
aih?? r u building ur own pc?
have asked recomendation on any thread?
Nop, but planning to, My Gaming Rig is coming to a 5 years old. I did change the few hardwares in and out.

Current Spec:
- i7 2600 Processor (Use to be i3 1st gen, got this with mobo from an Acer Veriton CPU cheap)
- Acer Motherboard (Use to be Gigabyte H55M-UD2H but that can't support i7 so i just swap to this model)
- Kingston 2GB RAM x 4
- Leadtek GTX760 OC Edition 2GB(Use to be ATi 5850)
- CoolerMaster 650watt PSU (I think)
- WD 1TB HDD x 3
- CoolerMaster Casing (Don't recall the model)

Manage to play Latest Games in High/Ultra so far so quite satisfy with my current rig. Just that I would prefer to upgrade one at a time instead of buying a new rig. So yeah, am still surveying and looking around for now
mod_po
post May 7 2015, 03:36 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(AeonixG @ May 7 2015, 03:13 PM)
Nop, but planning to, My Gaming Rig is coming to a 5 years old. I did change the few hardwares in and out.

Current Spec:
- i7 2600 Processor (Use to be i3 1st gen, got this with mobo from an Acer Veriton CPU cheap)
- Acer Motherboard (Use to be Gigabyte H55M-UD2H but that can't support i7 so i just swap to this model)
- Kingston 2GB RAM x 4
- Leadtek GTX760 OC Edition 2GB(Use to be ATi 5850)
- CoolerMaster 650watt PSU (I think)
- WD 1TB HDD x 3
- CoolerMaster Casing (Don't recall the model)

Manage to play Latest Games in High/Ultra so far so quite satisfy with my current rig. Just that I would prefer to upgrade one at a time instead of buying a new rig. So yeah, am still surveying and looking around for now
ur pc shud handle current gaming gud,
just nid to adjust the setting to get smooth gameplay,
upgrade to GTX970 gonna b a huge boost,
AeonixG
post May 7 2015, 04:19 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(mod_po @ May 7 2015, 03:36 PM)
ur pc shud handle current gaming gud,
just nid to adjust the setting to get smooth gameplay,
upgrade to GTX970 gonna b a huge boost,
Thanks for the advise, Will await GTX970 market price to drop some thumbup.gif
Minecrafter
post May 7 2015, 08:05 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ May 7 2015, 02:55 PM)
Gaming only ? Better stick with 4690k. Those hyperthreading 4790k wont matter much in gaming and you can save few hundred ringgit for other things, probably a second or bigger SSD ?
You're wrong. tongue.gif Games are taking advantage of more cores and threads.Take The Witcher 3 for example.Recommended CPU requirement is an i7 3770 doh.gif
mod_po
post May 7 2015, 10:28 PM

1,462 posts

QUOTE(aliesterfiend @ May 7 2015, 02:55 PM)
aihh i didnt notice this comment,
sorry to say bro,
u r partially right,
if im restricted with budget better i spend on xeon as it will run on cheap mobo n cheap PSU,
so the last bill would be cheaper than the i5-4670k as it nid powerfull mobo, power PSU n xtra cooler to juice it up

if u talking about i5, even the i5-4440 would perform moreless the same with the i5-4670k on gaming

so as minecrafter said, better future investment on xeon (or any cpu than have more thread)
aliesterfiend
post May 8 2015, 09:34 AM

Red Dragon
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 7 2015, 08:05 PM)
You're wrong. tongue.gif Games are taking advantage of more cores and threads.Take The Witcher 3 for example.Recommended CPU requirement is an i7 3770 doh.gif
Yeah, more core which is 4. smile.gif
AeonixG
post May 8 2015, 05:20 PM

125 posts

Is it possible to have HyperX DDR3 Ram for my spec instead of normal Kingston ram?

Q57H-AM Motherboard
Intel® Core™ i7 processor with Intel® vPro™ technology
Intel® Q57 Express Chipset
Memory Up to 16 GB of DDR3 1066/1333 MHz SDRAM (dual-channel support on four DIMMs)
rav3n82
post May 8 2015, 05:29 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(AeonixG @ May 8 2015, 05:20 PM)
Is it possible to have HyperX DDR3 Ram for my spec instead of normal Kingston ram?

Q57H-AM Motherboard
Intel® Core™ i7 processor with Intel® vPro™ technology
Intel® Q57 Express Chipset
Memory Up to 16 GB of DDR3 1066/1333 MHz SDRAM (dual-channel support on four DIMMs)
Why not? Though it will downclock to run at 1333MHz, and do note that HyperX runs at 1600/1866 MHz.
AeonixG
post May 8 2015, 05:32 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 8 2015, 05:29 PM)
Why not? Though it will downclock to run at 1333MHz, and do note that HyperX runs at 1600/1866 MHz.
I don't mind it to downclock. Just that my current Kingston 2GB x 4 is having problem causing BSOD. Am thinking about getting a high end ram just so i am ready for future upgrade too. So it's possible to run? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by AeonixG: May 8 2015, 05:32 PM

0.0248sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:40 AM