AE90 engine swap, In need of recommendation

TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 10:08 AM, updated 11y ago

52 posts

The story is i got this old AE90 that i've been using for a while, the problem is its a bit on the underpowered side with its original 1.3 2e-e engine. I did a few research and found a few engines that can be swap in but unsure of which one is the best. Any sifu here are familiar in the topic and what r the usual budget for a swap for that particular engine. What i'm really looking for is reliability & power, something that can really take a trashing.

Here's what i'm considering:
1 - 4age redtop
2 - Silvertop
3 - Blacktop
4 - 4agze

This post has been edited by malaysian2001uk: May 4 2015, 10:13 AM
TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 10:50 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(qeyl90 @ May 4 2015, 10:38 AM)
Blacktop
what's the usual price for a blacktop complete with the gearbox, ecu & such?
TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 12:42 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 4 2015, 12:29 PM)
Full halfcut. May or may not comes with bodyparts.

Auto - About 4k
Manual 5spd - About 5k
Manual 6spd - 6k thereabouts
its funny how auto is much cheaper than manual for the blacktop biggrin.gif

i presume its not gonna be a direct PNP procedure? custom mounting is needed izzit? i heard i need a custom CNC mounting on the left side for the AE90
TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 12:56 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 4 2015, 12:49 PM)
Well, auto for a BT 20v seems to have less oomph for some hence less demand. Driving one on a AE100. Works well in Klang Valley's start-stop traffic though. biggrin.gif

IIRC, some minor modification of mountings required. May have to check with your mech.
juz love toyota ae series, solid cars all around flex.gif
thanx for the advise, now can start looking for the new motor, blacktop here we come icon_idea.gif
TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 01:53 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ May 4 2015, 01:43 PM)
Take BT.

ST - got wiring issue.
IF u take manual 6speed, need to do modification.
noted. thanks sifus notworthy.gif
TSmalaysian2001uk
post May 4 2015, 01:54 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 4 2015, 01:24 PM)
Tip: Klang may be a good place to start. Perhaps Jalan Kapar side. Was told by a sifu last time prices are slightly better over there.

Happy hunting!
alright, will do, thanx a bunch notworthy.gif

0.0140sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:14 AM