19 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) Thread V3, 2nd in Malaysia - THE World Ranking 2021

regan96
post Sep 10 2016, 08:45 PM

581 posts

I need help from whoever studying for Bachelor Banking and Finance Or Bachelor Business Administration?
TScnvery
post Sep 11 2016, 12:38 AM

1,831 posts

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 10 2016, 08:45 PM)
I need help from whoever studying for Bachelor Banking and Finance Or Bachelor Business Administration?
Banking and Finance will be a better choice for future career paths
regan96
post Sep 11 2016, 01:44 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(cnvery @ Sep 11 2016, 01:38 AM)
Banking and Finance will be a better choice for future career paths
Do u know any forumer taking it cause I want to know more about it. I am more worried about the economics thats in it. I am really bad at it.
TScnvery
post Sep 11 2016, 08:27 PM

1,831 posts

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 11 2016, 01:44 PM)
Do u know any forumer taking it cause I want to know more about it. I am more worried about the economics thats in it. I am really bad at it.
Nope
Dunhill200s
post Sep 16 2016, 12:45 PM

Need info for internet (BoardBand).
Which provider is the best in UTAR Kampar and surrounding housing area.

Many thanks
TScnvery
post Sep 20 2016, 01:13 AM

1,831 posts

Source: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?stor...100003405455381

Research Opportunity for 3E to do Postgraduate Studies

We are recruiting a full research assistant to work on smart grid project.

Stipend is RM 2500 or more.

For further information, please contact Prof Lim Yun Seng on email: yslim@utar.edu.my
regan96
post Sep 27 2016, 05:41 PM

581 posts

Hey, CNVERY. I have decided to do BA and from what I have heard they will make you fail the paper even if u pass it because they want money. They will force the student to retake. I need help from someone inside.
Derps
post Sep 27 2016, 09:29 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 27 2016, 05:41 PM)
Hey, CNVERY. I have decided to do BA and from what I have heard they will make you fail the paper even if u pass it because they want money. They will force the student to retake. I need help from someone inside.
I'm from UTAR and I can tell you that is not true. UTAR exams are usually more difficult compare to other uni so maybe that's why you think they will fail you because they want money. And ya, it's different in UTAR because once you fail a subject, you have no choice but to retake the semester, you can't resit the paper.
regan96
post Sep 27 2016, 09:32 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(Derps @ Sep 27 2016, 10:29 PM)
I'm from UTAR and I can tell you that is not true. UTAR exams are usually more difficult compare to other uni so maybe that's why you think they will fail you because they want money. And ya, it's different in UTAR because once you fail a subject, you have no choice but to retake the semester, you can't resit the paper.
So, its true that the exams are tough compare to the tutorial given. Oh my life is going down the drain. Its the same cost to take up the whole semester right?
luxollidd
post Sep 28 2016, 03:23 PM

61 posts

hi guys, have a few questions ( and might be a lil sensitive )

im planning on continuing in accounting after finishing my pre-u, and i'm eyeing on few universities currently, nottingham ( god damn that fees ), IUKL, and UTAR.

1. Are the lecturers good? ( i.e do more than just teach for the sake of teaching )

2. How is the markings regulated? ( nottingham have "boards" that re-marks the
students paper so lecturer's personal issue cant affect the final score )

3. hows the club and co-curricular activity there? active?

4. facilities, from 1 to 10, which? ( i.e library, sports facility, gymnasium, classroom, lecture / gathering halls etc )

5. Is the student council active? do they hold influence over the university's administration and decision incase of suggestions or disputes?

6. last but not least... is there any...racism issue? my example being, i've seen in some environment where some of the same color tends to group together, bias / favoritism among peers-peers / lecturer-student, and whatnot. believe me, i don't have problem with this question. just curious

thats it for now. thanks
Derps
post Sep 29 2016, 05:58 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 27 2016, 09:32 PM)
So, its true that the exams are tough compare to the tutorial given. Oh my life is going down the drain. Its the same cost to take up the whole semester right?
Yeah, so be more hardworking ! What do you mean by its the same cost to take up the whole semester?

QUOTE(luxollidd @ Sep 28 2016, 03:23 PM)
hi guys, have a few questions ( and might be a lil sensitive )

im planning on continuing in accounting after finishing my pre-u, and i'm eyeing on few universities currently, nottingham ( god damn that fees ), IUKL, and UTAR.

1. Are the lecturers good? ( i.e do more than just teach for the sake of teaching )

2. How is the markings regulated? ( nottingham have "boards" that re-marks the
students paper so lecturer's personal issue cant affect the final score )

3. hows the club and co-curricular activity there? active?

4. facilities, from 1 to 10, which? ( i.e library, sports facility, gymnasium, classroom, lecture / gathering halls etc )

5. Is the student council active? do they hold influence over the university's administration and decision incase of suggestions or disputes?

6. last but not least... is there any...racism issue? my example being, i've seen in some environment where some of the same color tends to group together, bias / favoritism among peers-peers / lecturer-student, and whatnot. believe me, i don't have problem with this question. just curious

thats it for now. thanks
1. So far I think the lecturer are okay, you can always see them on consultant hours if you're not clear with your notes.

2. You can appeal for remarking iirc.

3. I would say quite active, there's alot of activities going on from time to time.

4. For facilities, I personally hate it. Im from SG long campus and the most I would rate it is 4/10. It's really THAT bad. The library is alright but is always packed and the aircond is not very cold, not sports facility at all, there is a gym I've never been to, classroom is sometimes hot sometimes cold but the hall is alright.

5. Im not sure about this.

6. Uhm, I don't think so but for your info in UTAR it's almost 90% chinese and 10% other race.
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:28 PM

1,831 posts

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 27 2016, 05:41 PM)
Nope, this applies to some private university in Malaysia, but definitely not UTAR.

QUOTE(Derps @ Sep 27 2016, 09:29 PM)
+1

QUOTE(regan96 @ Sep 27 2016, 09:32 PM)
UTAR exam is tougher compared to other local-grown uni. You will pass if you working hard.

If you take 5 subjects for one semester and only failed 1 out of 5, then you only need to retake the failed subject in next semester (Some subjects only offer once per year).

The cost actually is based on credit hours.

If you only take one subject in next semester, then you only need to pay fees for one subject. Take note that you need to pay university fees once per year (Depends on your intake).
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:29 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=74811

Comprehensive research workshop

Prof Ramayah giving tips to improve academic research

A two-day comprehensive research workshop was held at Sungai Long Campus on 2 and 5 September 2016. The workshop aimed at improving academics’ research and publication skills.

“Publishing research is an integral part of a researcher’s professional life, as it advances the theory and practice of your fields, enhances institutions’ reputation and funding, and creates networks with other professionals worldwide,” said Prof T. Ramayah, from Universiti Sains Malaysia’s Department of Operations Management, School of Management.

“Both the number and quality of publications are the most important factors in deciding a researcher’s career; it is practically a matter of life and death,” he warned.

Prof Ramayah highlighted two important performance indicators that will make or break an academic research — the h-index and g-index.

The h-index measures quantity and quality, productivity and influence of a research. It has a chart to show the number of papers published by an author, and the citations of an author over time. However, the index will only work properly for comparing researchers working in the same field as citation conventions differ widely from field to field.

The g-index is an alternative to the h-index, which does not average the numbers of citations. The index is calculated based on the distribution of citations received by a given researcher's publications.

Prof Ramayah advised the audience to publish in higher-ranked journals listed in the Institute of Scientific Information (ISI) to get a better impact factor.

He also warned that there are many predatory journals that researchers have to be aware of, as it will put a researcher’s career in jeopardy. “Jeffrey Beall’s website Scholarly Open Access offers a detailed list of blacklisted journals and publishers that you should stay away from,” he said.

Faculty of Accountancy and Management Dean Dr Sia Bee Chuan presenting Prof Ramayah a token of appreciation

Prof T. Ramayah is an avid researcher especially in the areas of Information Systems, Operations Management, Marketing Management and Organisational Behaviour. He is also an expert in Quantitative research methods and Structural Equation Modeling (SEM).

His publications which exceed 300 have appeared in the Journal of Environmental Management, Technovation, Journal of Business Ethics, Journal of Business Economics and Management, and Computers in Human Behavior.

This workshop was organised by the Centre for Sustainable Development and Corporate Social Responsibility in Business (CSDCSR).
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:30 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=74815

Talk on Hakka culture

Prof Chien (left) receiving a gift from Faculty of Creative Industries Dean and Tun Tan Cheng Lock Centre (TCLC) for Social and Policy Studies Chairperson, Dr Chin Yee Mun

A talk titled “Leisure, Work, and Constituted Everydayness Mountain Songs of Hakka Women in Colonized Northern Taiwan (1930–1955)” was given by National Chiao Tung University, Department of Humanities and Social Science’s Prof Chien Mei-Ling at Sungai Long Campus on 26 August 2016.

“My research focuses on the diversity of individual experiences through singing and listening to mountain songs among Hakka women in northern Taiwan during the colonial period,” Prof Chien said.

Prof Chien’s research showed how different types of mountain songs shaped the lives of her participants, Grandma Lo, Liu, Teng and Huang.

The oldest folk songs in the north are formed based on musical notes, “la, do, mi”. The topics of the song are impromptu instead of prescribed. The second type of song is known as “tea-picking tunes”, performed mainly in the fields. The third type, “little deities”, has fixed titles, rhythm, and lyrics with no room for improvisation.

“Grandma Lo, Liu, Teng and Huang shared similar modes of life, but the songs carry different meanings for each,” Prof Chien explained. Through Grandma Lo’s narration, the songs play an important role in rituals and special occasions, but not during work or in places of worship.

From her research, Grandma Huang and Liu believe that music is part of life. It carries no restrictions and taboos, and they are an integral part of their everyday life. However, Grandma Teng viewed singing mountain songs as a private activity and thought it as unimportant in her life.

In contrast to Grandma Huang and Liu, Grandma Teng’s upbringing was different due to her father’s relationship with the Japanese. She was heavily influenced by Japanese culture growing up. She read Japanese books, dressed in Japanese clothing, and listened to Japanese music, an indicator of two contrasting cultural elements in her life.

“The elders’ narration showed how the rural Hakka in northern Taiwan defined leisure and work in a colonised agricultural society. It also shows a distinct style of folk life, and the means of personal communication and emotional expression,” Prof Chien said.

This talk was organised by the Tun Tan Cheng Lock Centre (TCLC) for Social and Policy Studies.

Participants with Prof Chien (fifth from left)
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:32 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=74819

Kuok Foundation delegation visits UTAR

A team of four delegates from the Kuok Foundation visited Kampar Campus on 5 September 2016. The objectives of the visit were to discuss the research capabilities of the university in the field of agricultural science, scholarship opportunities for students, the facilities and services of UTAR Mary KUOK Pick Hoo Library, the activities conducted by the Professorial Chair of Kuok Foundation, facilitation of talent to address industries’ needs, and further exploration on possible collaborations between UTAR and the Kuok Foundation.

The four delegates from Kuok Foundation were General Manager Ng Teck Seng, Trustee Lynette Ng, and Administrative Managers Sharon Teoh and Choo Hwei Miin.

On hand to welcome them were UTAR staff led by UTAR Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Prof Ir Dr Ewe Hong Tat, Faculty of Science (FSc) Dean Assoc Prof Dr Lim Tuck Meng, FSc Deputy Dean for Academic Development and Undergraduate Programmes Dr Gideon Khoo, Professorial Chair (Tan Sri Dato’ Philip Kuok Professorial Chair in Agricultural Science) Prof Dr Ooi Aun Chuan, Department of Agricultural and Food Science Head Dr Tan Yen Nee, Division of Community and International Networking Director Prof Dr Cheng Ming Yu, Department of Mathematical and Actuarial Sciences Assoc Prof Dr Tan Sin Leng, Library Director Lim Suan Hoon, FSc lecturers and supporting staff.

The delegates and UTAR management staff during the campus tour

From left: Choo, Teoh, Prof Cheng, Lynette Ng and Dr Tan at the Agriculture Park

The visit started with a campus tour led by Dr Lim, Dr Tan, Prof Ooi and Prof Cheng to noteworthy places of Kampar Campus, including UTAR Gallery, the bronze sculptures of Confucious and Einstein, Bird Sanctuary, Dewan Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik and UTAR Main Library. After the campus tour, Prof Ewe presented the delegates with a video introduction to the university. The visitors were enlightened with information on the university's research and post graduate programmes, student services and facilities, students' activities and recognition of programmes offered.

Discussion in progress

The briefings led to further discussion on UTAR’s Agricultural Science programme and the various fields of studies parked under the Faculty of Science. Ng gave a short introduction about the Kuok Foundation and expressed their interest to collaborate with UTAR, particularly on relevant industries, scholarships and R&D. Overall it was a fruitful fact-finding journey for the delegates.

The Kuok Foundation is a non-profit charitable institution incorporated on 1 June 1970 under the Malaysian Companies Act 1965 as a company limited by guarantee and without a share capital.

Prof Ewe (right) presenting a token of appreciation to Ng
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:32 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=74820

FICT IAP Forum 2016

Panel of guests sharing their opinions

Gathering industrial experts, academicians and students, the “Hottest and Highly Sought-after Skills in ICT” Industrial Advisory Panel (IAP) Forum 2016, organised by Faculty of Information and Technology, was held on 29 June 2016 at the Kampar Campus.

Invited to the forum was a panel of guests, namely Recogine Technology and EV-Dynamic Senior Consultant Dr Kwong Kae Hsiang, Intel Microelectronics (M) Sdn Bhd System on Chip (SOC) Senior Design Validation Manager Chew Beng Wah, E-Genting Holdings Sdn Bhd Senior Vice President of the R&D Systems department, KEDA Limited Managing Director and Association of the Computer and Multimedia Industry of Malaysia (PIKOM) Representative Lee Boon Kok, and Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation Sdn Bhd (MDEC) Senior Manager of Talent Development Division Tan Eng Hoo. The forum also saw the presence of FICT Dean Assoc Prof Dr Liew Soung Yue, and FICT Deputy Dean for Academic Development and Undergraduate Programmes and Organising Chairperson Dr Cheng Wai Khuen, along with staff and students.

With aims to have in-depth discussion on the effectiveness of universities’ expenditures on large-scale resources in augmenting its degree programmes, the forum commenced with the panel addressing the effectiveness of the university’s efforts in nurturing students that can be valued assets to employers. The forum saw agreement that UTAR is indeed on the right track with proper resource utilisation. Active engagement was seen among participants as they voiced their opinions which led to other topics being raised, such as student employment after graduation, technical and soft skills required by the industries, and the effects of academic results on employment.

When asked of the qualities students should possess for employment, Dr Kwong responded by advising students to be passionate in performing given tasks. He stated his belief that students should have the maturity and capacity to make independent decisions to better navigate their careers. He also reminded students that the monetary aspect of their careers is not the priority and rather they should consider first their capacity and willingness to contribute to the company and learn from the job.

Responding to a similar question, Lee however, encouraged students to found a start-up business of their own, mentioning that it offers invaluable experiences after graduation. With a word of caution, Lee said, “There will be risks and failures along the business line, but do not lose hope because failures are great teachers that offer great lessons.” Regardless the choice of employment students make, the panel advised students to pair patience with effort to achieve their ambitions.

In light of career-related subjects, the panel also placed emphasis on having both technical skills and soft skills to heighten students’ employability. The panel noted students, in general, graduate with good technical skills, but yet lack the required soft skills. Hence, they presented an example which validated the importance of having well-developed leadership skills.

FICT is committed to assuring students graduate with the required skill sets to respond to professional needs. Events such as the IAP forum are one of the many strategies FICT employs in enhancing its current programmes. The forum ended with a souvenir presentation by Dr Liew to all the honoured guests.
TScnvery
post Sep 29 2016, 07:34 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=74834

UTAR and FMM Perak sign MoU

From left: Hew, Dr Au Yong, Prof Lee, Prof Chuah, Dato’ Gan, Chok, Louis, Prof Choong, Chan, Zulkepli and Won

UTAR and the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers (FMM) Perak signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) on 22 September 2016 at Kampar Campus, laying the cornerstone for dynamic industry-academia collaboration.

The MoU will see UTAR and FMM Perak exploring a wide spectrum of areas including industrial trainings and attachments, staff/students trainings, professional development courses and collaboration with industries in Perak.

The signatories from UTAR were President Ir Prof Academician Dato’ Dr Chuah Hean Teik and Vice President for R&D and Commercialisation Prof Ir Dr Lee Sze Wei, while FMM Perak was represented by Chairman Dato’ Gan Tack Kong and Senior Manager Louis Gnanapragasam. Also present at the ceremony were FMM Perak Vice Chairman Francis Chok Yin Fatt, UTAR Vice President for Student Development and Alumni Relations Prof Dr Choong Chee Keong, UTAR Council Member Hew Fen Yee, UTAR Faculty of Business and Finance Dean Dr Au Yong Hui Nee, UTAR Division of Community and International Networking Director Prof Dr Cheng Ming Yu, FMM Perak Manager Mahinder Singh, and FMM Perak Committee Members Won Foo Yee, Mark Chan and Zulkepli Bin Hussin.

Reminiscing of the maiden collaboration with FMM which was a seminar on wastewater following the inaugural MoU signing between both parties in 2009, Prof Chuah said both UTAR and FMM have subsequently worked closely on several occasions such as the invitation to UTAR to participate in the Malaysia-China (Wenzhou) Expo event among others. According to Prof Chuah, Malaysia is often seen by other countries such as South Korea and China as a strategic partner in the ASEAN region, which has resulted in institutions of higher learning like UTAR reaping an abundance of opportunities to collaborate with overseas partners. “As a university, we can be the bridge between the industries and our overseas partners. And by capitalising on these working opportunities, we are also able to benefit our local small and medium industries and enterprises by assisting them in reaching out to a wider market,” Prof Chuah mentioned. He also voiced his hope that this MoU will be an impetus for UTAR and FMM Perak to jointly contribute to the overall development and growth of industries in the Silver State.

Prof Chuah thanking Dato’ Gan for the opportunity to work together

Echoing Prof Chuah’s sentiment on boosting the SMEs in the country, Dato’ Gan highlighted the importance of working with strategic partners and how this can help to benefit Perak. Also impressed by UTAR’s remarkable track record and achievements in a span of 14 years, Dato’ Gan said, “It’s a privilege for FMM Perak to be one of UTAR’s industry partners by which we are able to share resources and knowledge. Globalisation today has made it necessary for the industry to connect with the students.” Citing the example of Facebook and Google being invented by students, Dato’ Gan also mentioned the need to empower and encourage students to be creative and innovative as their ideas can be taken to help the industries.

Dato’ Gan sharing his thoughts and hopes of the MoU

The ceremony reached its highlight with the signatories being invited to sign the documents and subsequently ended with a souvenir presentation session.

Prof Chuah and Dato’ Gan all smiles after signing the MoU while Prof Lee (left) and Louis (right) look on

Prof Chuah and Dato’ Gan exchanging souvenirs

Dubbed as “The Voice of the Malaysian Manufacturing Industry”, FMM was established in 1968 and is Malaysia’s largest private sector economic organisation representing more than 2,800 manufacturing and industrial service companies of varying sizes. FMM has since been leading Malaysian manufacturers in spearheading the nation’s growth and modernisation.

FMM Perak is currently one of UTAR’s 86 industry partners. UTAR’s robust network with many universities and industry partners has over the years cemented its position as a global university of educational excellence with transformative societal impact.
TScnvery
post Oct 1 2016, 03:54 AM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=75843

SAGE Talk

Garcia providing tips on how to start writing a journal article manuscript

The UTAR Library organised a talk titled “Simple Guide to Writing a Journal Article” at the Sungai Long Campus on 26 September 2016. The speaker was Rosalia da Garcia who is the Deputy Managing Director of SAGE Publications, and the Head of Sales and Marketing for the Asia-Pacific region.

With the aim to provide useful tips for journal article publication, the informative talk also empowered writers with helpful advice to improve the quality of their manuscripts to heighten the chances of the journal articles being published. Besides that, Garcia with her rich experience in the publishing field discussed the keys that one must consider before submitting a journal article for publication and offered a simple guide to preparing a good manuscript.

“Before you proceed to writing, you must first consider your purpose of writing and publishing the paper. It is necessary to spend some time to think from what angle or perspective you wish to convey your research findings. You might want to fill a research gap, extend an existing theory or present a novel idea. Understanding your purpose of writing the paper and identifying the needs of your prospective audience will help you to frame a better manuscript structure and improve the clarity of the writing,” said Garcia.

She added, “It’s also crucial to identify the objectives, genres and scopes of the target journal. Do ensure that you have met the required criteria before you submit the manuscript. Approach your colleagues and consult the journal editor when you need assistance. Those little steps will help you to keep your writing clear and relevant.”

Garcia showed some good examples on how to write a good query letter to the journal editor, and provided specific guidelines on how to structure an outstanding manuscript. The speaker further explained some strategies on writing a precise abstract and selecting a suitable journal where the writers can submit their manuscripts for publication.

In addition, Garcia briefed the audience about some psychological aspects of a successful writer while working on an academic paper. “Handling rejection and revisions of manuscripts could be time-consuming and certainly require much effort to reread, review and rewrite your submitted papers. Do not be disheartened by that as that’s what the majority of writers have to experience before they get their papers published.”

“Most manuscripts are rejected due to insufficient constructive arguments,” explained Garcia. Mentioning some criteria of a good manuscript, she highlighted, “Papers which provide insights into an important issue for research or theory development, as well as those which stimulate the audience’s mind for more questions are more likely to be accepted. I recommend you to study some good published papers as reference. Attend to details and check your language and spelling before you submit the paper as it will help to reduce the risks of getting rejected.”

The talk ended with a Q&A session with the speaker. Participants at the talk included UTAR academics, researchers and postgraduate students from various faculties and research centres.

The audience listening attentively to Garcia
TScnvery
post Oct 18 2016, 12:29 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=75849

Educational visit to news agencies

A total of 35 students and four lecturers from the Faculty of Arts and Social Science (FAS) embarked on a journey to discover the ins and outs of the world of news and media on 4 August 2016.

Organised by the Department of Languages and Linguistics (DLL), the trip comprised visits to two major English news agencies, namely Al-Jazeera and Malaysiakini. Initiated by the Head of DLL Christina Ong Sook Beng, the visits were aimed to expose the students to the processes involved in news production, as well as to prepare them for their journeys after graduation.

Upon reaching the Al-Jazeera offices located at GTower in the heart of bustling Kuala Lumpur, the students were witness to journalists hard at work in the newsroom where news broadcasts from all over the world were being displayed.

Being an international company, Al-Jazeera operates its main office from Doha, Qatar, while running regional hubs all over the world. The Malaysian hub caters to the Southeast Asian region, and is booming with activity as journalists strive to achieve the best coverage of stories to be published and aired on time.

The students and lecturers, who were given a sit-down tour of the company and its operations, were thrilled with what they saw and heard, with some even expressing their aspirations to become journalists or producers in the future. The students were also exposed to information regarding the news writing and production from a series of sharing sessions delivered by officials from Al-Jazeera, namely Bureau Manager Jayaganesh Sabapathy, Producer of Programme Tiffany Ang, Producer of News Alicia Au and Senior Producer of Programme and Industry Advisor for UTAR’s English Language programme K. Parkaran.

From left: Jayaganesh, Ang, Au and Parkaran revealing the perks of becoming a journalist and producer

Year Two English Language student Tan Sze Ling, who took an interest in the workings of the cameras used to broadcast live news updates, said that she had never considered becoming a producer or a newscaster, but is now quite interested. “After seeing the intensity of the work that journalists and newscasters have to go through, I now understand why news is so valuable and of such quintessence. I hope that one day I too will be able to contribute to such a vast field,” she said.

Producer Tiffany Ang said that social media is one of the most effective ways to disseminate information to the masses. “Since many people are on social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and now even Snapchat, we have taken it into our own hands to be active on these platforms to spread news, even if it is as simple as a tweet or picture,” she said. Ang, who is also in-charge of 101 East, Al-Jazeera’s in-depth, weekly current affairs programme, works with her team to produce newsworthy stories from across Asia and the Pacific, to uncover information that people would normally never look into twice. She mentioned that 101 East is a great way to enable society to understand the trends and ways-of-life of people in different countries, and to immerse themselves in cultures different from their own.

Media Manager of Al-Jazeera Gary Ooi (in black shirt) helping a student don a Kevlar vest and demonstrating the usage of filming equipment

Fellow producer at Al-Jazeera, Alicia Au was overwhelmed by the students’ reactions, saying that it was nice to see young people taking the initiative in a field where controversies from news reports might arise. “Although we understand that certain news might expose the ill-workings of certain people, it is our job to be fair and just when reporting, so that our viewers are able to grasp the truth of what is happening around them instead of being clouded by false accusations and biased news,” said Au.

She also mentioned that UTAR students could play an active role, even through their lives in a small town such as Kampar. “As university students, I’m sure you go through many things on a daily basis. If many of you come together and produce little write-ups of the happenings in Kampar, you could produce an online blog that would help people get acquainted with the treasures that Kampar has to offer. That could help you build a good community for yourselves and the locals there, as well as give you the necessary experience,” she said.

Ong (centre) presenting a token of appreciation to Jayaganesh, while (from left) Mohamad Iqbaal, Parkaran, Au and UTAR Lecturers Siti Ummaizah and Ooi Zao May look on

After about two and a half hours spent in the Al-Jazeera office, the students and lecturers made their way to the second news agency, Malaysiakini, a free press agency that fights for press freedom in Malaysia by reporting unbiased and unrestrained news.

Located at Section 51 of Petaling Jaya, the Malaysiakini office is home to news productions in four different languages, namely English, Bahasa Malaysia, Mandarin and Tamil, as well as home to KiniTV, Malaysiakini’s internet TV news portal. The Social Media Editor of Malaysiakini Norman Goh led the tour around the office and showed the students and lecturers the different workspaces created to suit the needs of staff to maximise productivity.

Students listening attentively to KiniTV’s Head of Content Tham Seen Hau (in dress) and Goh (in pink shirt)

Year Two student Taneesha Pillai commented on the press freedom that Malaysiakini fights for, saying, “It’s nice to see a news agency that believes in objectivity and truth in news reporting. It makes me even more interested to take up some sort of journalism when I finish my bachelor’s degree.”

The UTAR students and lecturers also had the opportunity to meet Steven Gan, Malaysiakini’s Editor-in-Chief and Co-Founder, who spoke to them about the multiple challenges that the agency has faced since its launch in 1999.

The trip managed to evoke a sense of pride in the hearts of the students, as they expressed their appreciation for news agencies which strove to do good. Final Year Journalism student Wong Poe Kay said that this is what made her fall in love with journalism in the first place. “I like how despite obstacles they still manage to keep their heads held high.” She said that the trip allowed her to gain better insight to the world of media and news.

DLL’s Lecturer Mohamad Iqbaal bin Mohd Wazir said that he himself learnt a vast amount of information that cannot be obtained through textbooks. “The working world will pose challenges to individuals and companies, but what matters is whether or not the ways to overcome these challenges are based on the truth. If they are, success will not be a stranger.”

From left: Gan, Ong, Siti Ummaizah and UTAR students
TScnvery
post Oct 18 2016, 12:30 PM

1,831 posts

Source: http://www.utar.edu.my/econtent_sub.jsp?fc...contentid=75851

Exploring collaborative opportunities with PCCCI

Representatives from UTAR and PCCCI discussing on potential areas for collaboration

A group of UTAR management staff organised a visit to the Perak Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCCI) on 14 September 2016 to explore potential collaboration between UTAR and PCCCI.

The representatives from UTAR consisted of Faculty of Business and Finance (FBF) Dean Dr Au Yong Hui Nee, FBF Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Dr Mahmud Bin Hj Abd Wahab, FBF Deputy Dean for Student Development and Industrial Training Yew King Tak, FBF Department of Business Head Choong Yuen Onn, FBF Department of Marketing Head Choy Johnn Yee, FBF Department of Finance Head Lim Chong Heng, FBF Head of MBA (Corporate Management) Programme Dr Ng Lee Peng, Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Dr Lo Po Kim, and Prof Dr Ooi Aun Chuan from the Faculty of Science.

The UTAR delegates were warmly welcomed by the PCCCI representatives, which consisted of Vice President Steven Yow Thin Chin, General Secretary Dato’ Ng Yok Gee, General Assistant Secretary Tan Chong Seng, Economic and Government Affairs Head Lee Chee Ming, Central Committee Member Chai Koh Pian, Central Committee Member cum Vice Chairman of Youth Committee Tan Kin Wai, Committee Member of Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) and Human Resource Development Dean Liew Choong Ching, Youth Committee Treasurer Kean Wong Kean Yue, Youth Committee Member Loh Ban John, Vintage Consult Sdn Bhd Representative Edwina Chee Ong, Pak Keong Food Industries Sdn Bhd Representative Gary Soh Chong Mun, Weldmart Representative Edward Leong Sir Weay, PanPages Online Sdn Bhd Representative Steven Chan Chee Yip, Computerxpress Sdn Bhd Representative Chun Chee Kong, Mee Sim Marketing Sdn Bhd Representative Eric Liew Chan Wai, and Soon Hin Hardware Sdn Bhd Representatives Eric Koh Seng Kiat and Alan Ng Tuak Loon.

With both parties expressing their hopes to foster strong collaborations, a meeting, chaired by Yow, was held to facilitate better discussion and understanding on the possible areas for collaboration among the representatives. The meeting commenced with Yow presenting his welcome message who said he was hopeful that the collaboration between UTAR and PCCCI will greatly benefit the development of SMEs in Perak.

The meeting also saw the discussion of possible collaborative opportunities to conduct trainings or workshops for SMEs. The courses will include providing guidance on accounting practices, tax consultation, procedures involved in Good and Services Tax (GST) implementation, and also solutions for firms facing difficulties in sales and marketing.

The representatives expressed their optimism towards the trainings that will serve as platforms to better educate the SMEs on the current trends and happenings in the market, as well as to assist the SMEs in conducting research.

The meeting also touched upon internship placement opportunities for UTAR students at PCCCI member companies, invitation for recruitment drives where PCCCI member companies can interview and recruit UTAR graduates, and promotion activities aimed to introduce UTAR programmes to PCCCI member companies’ staff whom wish to further their studies.

It is through the university’s commitment to expand its expertise, services and resources to continuously provide a supportive environment for the faculties and students that culminate in UTAR forging ties with industry partners for many research collaborations. The fruitful visit ended with souvenir exchanges between UTAR and PCCCI.

Souvenir exchanges between UTAR and PCCCI

19 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:42 PM