TSpeacelover1990
post Apr 26 2015, 08:47 PM, updated 11y ago

48 posts

Equipment Used : TP-Link TL-WR841HP

Features :
-2 * 8dBI High Gain Antenna
-Up to 300Mbps
-Superior Range
-Enhanced WiFi Signals to cut through walls and obstacles eliminating dead zones
-Support both Maxis and UniFi
-Easy to configure

Product Details Page :
TP-Link WR841HP Product Detail

Picture

Antenna Comparison with Other Object

Retail Price (as of 26 April 2015):
ViewNet : RM159 (Inclusive of GST)
CZone : RM169 (Inclusive of GST)

Setup Guide

Similar to :
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry73305595

Review
1. Tested in a 22x75 sq ft Double Story Terrace house
2. Router = TP-Link TL-WR841HP
3. Test Device = LG Nexus 4

House Structure Diagram and Testing Spot

Result @ Spot 1

Result @ Spot 2

Result @ Spot 3

Result @ Spot 4

Result @ Spot 5

Result @ Spot 6

Comments

- Good Coverage and Speed.
- Suitable for those who are having dead-zones issue.

This post has been edited by peacelover1990: Apr 28 2015, 09:12 PM
High-Speed
post Apr 29 2015, 09:30 AM

54 posts

Look stunning at this!
8dbi LONG antenna cost at RM 159? I found cheaper online! biggrin.gif
mindspring
post May 11 2015, 01:38 PM

582 posts

i have one at home.

unfortunately it has an issue with hypptv. i dont know whether it just me, or someone else also facing the same problem.

it will buffering for like 1 minute or more before u could watch the channel, or most of the time u will get no signal error.

definitely not misconfiguration by me. i've tried both the wizard and manual setup, still getting the same output.
epo
post May 11 2015, 07:14 PM

892 posts

Any comparison with 5dbi dual antenna ?
248apply
post Jul 19 2015, 03:53 PM

QUOTE(mindspring @ May 11 2015, 01:38 PM)
i have one at home.

unfortunately it has an issue with hypptv. i dont know whether it just me, or someone else also facing the same problem.

it will buffering for like 1 minute or more before u could watch the channel, or most of the time u will get no signal error.

definitely not misconfiguration by me. i've tried both the wizard and manual setup, still getting the same output.
Hi,before I face these problem for unifi hypptv after contact tp-link technician.They give me the beta firmware version after I upgrade it.The HyppTv problem solve already.

here is the link to update your router firmware.

https://mega.co.nz/#!KJFDHJSZ!FW3o5...vD4Y6He1aWHK_EA

This post has been edited by 248apply: Jul 19 2015, 03:57 PM
mindspring
post Jul 19 2015, 03:56 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(248apply @ Jul 19 2015, 03:53 PM)
Hi,before I face these problem for unifi hypptv after contact tp-link technician.They give be the beta firmware version

thank you. will try it out later smile.gif
mindspring
post Jul 19 2015, 09:10 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(248apply @ Jul 19 2015, 03:53 PM)
Hi,before I face these problem for unifi hypptv after contact tp-link technician.They give me the beta firmware version after I upgrade it.The HyppTv problem solve already.

tested and it works. thank you very much.

peacelover1990 should add this in the first post.

3ping u can try this too, if u want.

UPDATE:
at first, it was ok. but then after like 15 minutes, my wireless went crazy and there were hiccups on the hypptv too. the problems still persist after reboot.
end up using the stock router back. its beta for a reason sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mindspring: Jul 19 2015, 09:52 PM
3ping
post Jul 21 2015, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(mindspring @ Jul 19 2015, 09:10 PM)
tested and it works. thank you very much.

peacelover1990 should add this in the first post.

3ping u can try this too, if u want.

UPDATE:
at first, it was ok. but then after like 15 minutes, my wireless went crazy and there were hiccups on the hypptv too. the problems still persist after reboot.
end up using the stock router back. its beta for a reason  sweat.gif
Lol. Guess i will just stick to asus router then.
=)
feeroz
post Jul 22 2015, 08:24 PM

I'm having the same issues too on hypptv.

Called the service number and he recommends the beta firmware.

tried the beta firmware and having the jittery issues on hypptv like @mindspring.

so back to stock router and suffer the lag in changing channels
fairytail24
post Jul 29 2015, 11:10 AM

How far for these router open air coverage?
GodDamnU
post Jul 29 2015, 05:14 PM

The Antenna how long..(mean cm)
asus RT-N12HP is anthenna 38cm
how abt tplink @@?

TomBoy245
post Jul 29 2015, 05:27 PM

QUOTE(GodDamnU @ Jul 29 2015, 06:14 PM)
The Antenna how long..(mean cm)
asus RT-N12HP is anthenna 38cm
how abt tplink @@?
29cm dude..my home also is using TL-WR841HP..I calculate brows.gif brows.gif
WinLiaoLoh
post Jul 30 2015, 08:52 PM

This router is amazing. The interface fixes a lot of issues I've had with Router-web-based interfaces, and the range is incredible. It covers an entire 80 yard area with several buildings. If you're lookin' for a high-power router, this is the one, ladies and gents...can say"win liao lor"XD
FasterLah
post Jul 30 2015, 09:19 PM

I have found it very simple to set up either by the disc or manually. The config is easy to understand and flexible. Haven't had any problems since setting it up. Good buy rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
FasterLah
post Jul 30 2015, 09:21 PM

Basic set up was very simple, just plug it in and the default settings will get you half way there. The other half is just a matter of logging into the browser based configuration utility and picking a new name and password for your WiFi network (cool kids never use a default WiFi name). If you've ever set up a router you won't have a problem with this upgrade, I was able to completely set one up via my Nexus 4 smartphone (it was a little more work that way). If this is your first, then you'll need to rely a little more heavily on the instructions, and a hardwired connection is always recomended for configuration (using wireless means you will be disconnected from the router and have to log back in with the new settings every time you apply a settings change). rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
GodBlessU
post Jul 30 2015, 09:28 PM

Sleek design,Good Wireless range.
Wireless radio transmit power control.
Good wireless speed.
Ease of use.
WDS Bridging offers the ability to use this router to extend the range of another router. rclxms.gif
Badman88
post Jul 30 2015, 09:33 PM

2 year warranty a little better than most. It’s small and silent. Price seems a little high for such a low end device, but I guess that’s fair. My D-link and Linksys are much faster in wireless and wired speeds. It seems pretty solid and I haven’t noticed any dropouts nor need to reboot it ever. That’s good. All in all it’s a solid average router. I personally can’t live without gigabit ports, but that’s just me.
coolstore
post Jul 30 2015, 09:36 PM

1,524 posts

tp-link xxxHP series is stand for HIGH POWER, and it refers to the machine's wireless transmission power, rated by mW (miliwatt) or watt.

Antenna is another thing, rated by gain (dbi). so 'high power' and 'high gain' basically 2 things. last time most home router with 100mW (0.1watt) only then pair with high gain antenna 5dbi to 9dbi max (the limit reached for indoor antenna). Thus product always labelled with wording of 'high gain', not using the term 'high power'.

early 841hp version is rated at 800mW (0.8watt), the newer version should be at 1000mW (1watt) same as asus.

Badman88
post Jul 30 2015, 09:36 PM

The TP-LINK TL-WR841HP (I'll call it the “HP”) router is a small router --- the size of a paperback book --- with sleek lines, and thankfully, no bright LEDs. It's surprising how much of a treat this is in wireless routers, since ergonomics are often forgotten completely. It's not the first TP-Link router I've applauded for this reason. The router also features four LAN ports, a reset button (not recessed), and a sideways AC adapter that won't block outlets on normal power strips. All good features for the normal home user...

This post has been edited by Badman88: Jul 30 2015, 09:54 PM
lacusclynee
post Jul 31 2015, 07:01 PM

QUOTE(fairytail24 @ Jul 29 2015, 12:10 PM)
How far for these router open air coverage?
Open air coverage is 2500 square fit depend the environment. thumbup.gif

0.0261sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:40 PM