how to skillful in pentool function.., pls help out..

TSkokanchai
post Oct 20 2006, 01:54 AM, updated 20y ago

645 posts

i felt that i kinda lag of pentool skill..

do there any method..to skillful in tis function..

i do .practice in picture using it..
track the picture in path..

but how to improve in desgining while using it..
i am wonder..

pls help out..thx!

exkay
post Oct 20 2006, 02:28 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

photoshop, or illustrator?
TSkokanchai
post Oct 20 2006, 04:18 AM

645 posts

Both..

anyhow..wat is the different between both?
i mainly use photoshop..cos can use with path and feather..

etsuko
post Oct 20 2006, 11:49 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

the way the Pen tool is controlled is slightly different. how you end and continue is different.

mastering the Pen tool is basically the limit where you get so good at it, you can use it very fast. smile.gif
zorexx
post Oct 20 2006, 09:38 PM

75 posts

he is not asking wat will happen if he mastered it, he is asking how...

just do more practice, i;m no good at it either, but after a few times using it, i can make basic shapes, heres something i'm going to try later or 2moro or whenever i'm free, but it only works if u have a scanner, just draw some shapes on a paper and scan it into ur comp then trace it with a pen tool, good luck.
jayhan
post Oct 20 2006, 11:24 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

pentool is good, u can press tab (get all the palette gone) and start do pathing, i sugguest is dun zoom too much, let say 400%-500%? if not sure, always zoom out and zoom in again

for me, practice makes perfect. I got my first pathing experience during internship, now very get used to pathing already, although still not professional, but i think is ok already

dun rush while pathing loh.

or maybe u need a good mouse tongue.gif
Dark Steno
post Oct 21 2006, 01:21 AM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

I do like to zoom very much. Other than than, the material for the pentool will be in high resolution. No matter how pixelated it will be because I want the pentool product, which is later on, in nice and high resolution.
Resphoina
post Oct 21 2006, 12:01 PM

419 posts

Well, zoom in is normally my second step in using pen tool. The first step is controlling the ctrl and alt by clicking at the path point. Shift is also a very useful button in controlling the path. After you got the shape you wanted roughly, there's always tiny curves that you've done unwell which you cant see under 100% screen. Thus, this is the time when you need zoom in. You zoom in and redrag the points, control them and make the tiny curves became flawless. IT shall turn out a smooth curves with any shapes you like. Good luck.
bem69
post Oct 22 2006, 02:15 AM

K-Bem
2,658 posts

Hmm, sad to say, but I often find it more comfortable to click on the anchor point again to reset the handles then proceed with the other anchorpoints and dragging, instead of pulling the handles after every curve. Seems to be the quickest way for me to trace in Illustrator. On photoshop though, I honestly hate the pen tool, and how that you have to delete shapes all the time.

My advice, to the thread starter, practice, practice and practice. Trace complex objects, try again and again, until you find the fastest method for you. Even if you follow the professionals' methods, but you're not up to speed, what's the use.
Resphoina
post Oct 22 2006, 07:14 AM

419 posts

Yea, bem69 is right. In using pen tool, u have to keep on practising until u get the best way. I practiced alot too. biggrin.gif
SUSMalaysian
post Oct 22 2006, 07:17 AM

1,651 posts

kokanchai..always go to subang cc play dota
jayhan
post Oct 22 2006, 01:50 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

^ hahaha

another small tips from me smile.gif

if the pictures are too dark to path, always increase the brightness b4 pathing, then u got better picture of it
etsuko
post Oct 23 2006, 09:43 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

one of the tricky things about pathing at a high zoom level is not knowing how the curve selecting will turn out because the pixels make the illusion that your curve would be accurate.. tongue.gif
X.E.D
post Oct 25 2006, 11:36 AM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

How to get the bezier curves correct? They always **** over you know, and the whole curve goes distorted. Manual tracing looks jaggy and isn't a prefect curve too.
That's the reason for my pentool phobia. Anyone to help?
GulaV
post Oct 28 2006, 02:13 AM

451 posts

easy.. cut ur hands off laugh.gif

practice tracing and pathing..then u ll be an expert thumbup.gif

useful for vector.
TSkokanchai
post Oct 29 2006, 03:23 AM

645 posts

beside using trace..

can u draw a picture/cartoon using pentool?i was wondering...

anyhow..i am still..confuse..
wat are the different between illustartor pentool and photoshop..

it seem photoshop one..is much better..
got losta effect to play..

junkieG
post Oct 29 2006, 10:24 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

whut do u mean by psd is much better? lotsa effect? huh? effect=pen tool?laugh.gif

the only way is to keep on tracing any logo...example try trace a liverpool logo via AI.....try pathfinder also

once u reach the super uber elit which is less then 20 minutes to complete ur tracing, then to imagine and execute is ez via AI or PSD

good luck!

0.0197sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:33 AM