Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!

syncomp
post Dec 30 2016, 01:24 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Dec 30 2016, 09:21 AM)
Hi, I got my Mibox International Version from Mi Hong Kong. It's the same with the US box except that some of the Mibox recommended apps are not there, coz those apps are for US.

I got my box for less than RM300 (not including shipping) coz fortunately I got a friend that lives in Hong Kong that is coming over for Holiday and she got it for me.

And I don't think either Xiaomi Hong Kong and Taiwan would want to sell abroad due to warranty issue, and not sure that they are permitted to do so or not.

alamak.. why no tell your friend come. if not can kirim one set... BTW, any idea what website can do postage to malaysia for that unit same as yours as you claim it is same with the US unit but without US apps. Surely the interface is in english right?
syncomp
post Apr 24 2017, 04:19 PM

498 posts

Is Iflix can be played on Mi box Malaysia? On HyppTV box it can be login but unable to operate. I just wonder if anybody has difficulties on setting up the app on mi box
syncomp
post Apr 24 2017, 05:38 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 24 2017, 04:22 PM)
Can, iFlix works but is a bit challenging to navigate with remote control because it's not a proper Android TV app, I think. I have to use my wireless mouse instead.
Thank you for the feedback. Already bought a wireless mouse and thinking of buying ugreen usb 3.0 hub with lazada.

I saw a few of Mi box offer here at lazada (inconjuction with 5% extra discount for CIMB card) which confusing with the product description of Mibox 3s, Mibox 3C.
I decided to just seacrh in the official Lazada Mi Store for the international version Mi box, and the price they offer is RM 349 (no CIMB card rebate). Is there any other cheaper option? Or just go with Mi Malaysia for less troublesome later on
syncomp
post Apr 24 2017, 08:28 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(Invulnerability @ Apr 24 2017, 08:21 PM)
Just go for official set, no need think too much
thanks brother. I just done paid for the set as I saw your reply. I just found out the box have further 10 % discount for CIMB card if you browse by your shopback in mobile phone.
But no further discount if you are browsing with your tablet or desktop (which I thought supposedly got 5% discount)

Thank you. Now patiently waiting for the box to arrive. rclxm9.gif

Reduction 10 % = RM 34.9 <----- That's a good deal

This post has been edited by syncomp: Apr 24 2017, 08:30 PM
syncomp
post Apr 24 2017, 11:03 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 24 2017, 08:55 PM)
I agree  rclxms.gif

BTW, iFlix doesn't appear on the Android TV Playstore so I followed the steps taught by one of the sifus here.

Login to the Google Play Store on your PC web browser and set it to install iFlix to the mibox.

But to be honest, I don't like iFlix. Firstly because most of their collection is not in HD. Secondly because the app or service is sometimes buggy.

I use Netflix or Kodi most of the time.
Actually I prefer Netflix more than iFlix. But my wife more lean towards iflix as it has more korean drama than netflix.

She even said, Korean drama, no need so high definition ones. sweat.gif
If can watch free, I already happy. (Bundle with UniFi)

BTW, thanks for the iFlix guide mate! laugh.gif
Will surely do installation later on the box

As the storage capacity is too small, we can swap the storage with an external pendrive right?
I just wondered, if it can be swapable with external HDD? And How big is the storage capacity can it supported?
syncomp
post Apr 27 2017, 11:17 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Mar 20 2017, 07:08 PM)
I'm using 4 ports USB 2.0 hub and my 2.5" external hdd works fine as well as my RF receiver, usb pendrive and xbox360 wireless receiver.
Hi. How much storage is your external HDD capacity? And do you set is as internal storage for installing apps?
syncomp
post Apr 28 2017, 08:37 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Apr 28 2017, 07:36 AM)
My external hdd is 1TB and I do not set it as internal storage. Instead I''m using 32GB usb 3.0 pendrive as internal storage but not all apps can be installed into it. In fact after I've formatted the pendrive in the settings you can migrate apps to it.
I tried to use my 1TB external drive as internal storage. Along the way when it requested to format the partition it gave error. I tried two times and both failed. I do think that it has it limited memory that can be 'read' as internal storage.. Oh well.. I guess I have to invest for a thumb drive now. I wondered if 64 GB thumb drive can be use as today sweet spot storage recommended is 64 GB

syncomp
post Apr 28 2017, 11:30 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(aceedburn @ Apr 28 2017, 09:09 PM)
I'm using a 64GB Thumbdrive formatted as internal storage. Working well so far but only apps that are allowed to run on it will auto install on it. But it helps in streaming as more space to cache the stream.
That's great to hear.. So now we're confirmed that 32 GB and 64 GB pendrive working without problem as internal storage. thumbup.gif
syncomp
post May 10 2017, 03:26 PM

498 posts

Guys, I am selling my Mi Box. If you guys interested can check my siggy. After tested for few days I decided to use back my hypptv box. I've no issue with its performance. But I prefer TM box to watch hypptv
syncomp
post Jan 28 2018, 12:20 AM

498 posts

Anybody successfully play terratium with subtitle? I can't do that. Using my player pro now

syncomp
post Mar 4 2019, 12:51 AM

498 posts

QUOTE(veron4best @ Mar 3 2019, 11:21 AM)
may i know mi box s storage of 8gb is enuf to run kodi with elementum?
Enough. Kodi build usually 300 - 400 mb. U got free 5.6 GB by default

0.0210sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:22 AM