Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!

alucard89
post Jun 8 2015, 01:34 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 8 2015, 01:13 PM)
Hi to all sifu here,

I'm newbie to android tv box, my budget is below RM300, I will be using Unifi vip5, currently looking at this box name original Genuine New Mi Box 4k 1080p HD 3rd gen Xiaomi TV Box Mibox Android Box english available, RM249, anyone using this box? Please give your comments....

Appreciate very much

Thank you
When using Kodi, it can sometimes randomly crash
Great for some gaming, but you'll need to add micro sdcard since internal storage is quite limited
There's some chinese stream app installed, doesn't seem to work for me
Probably need those dns app that most sellers seem to have preinstall in their mibox units.
Instead I just installed astro iptv service, there's a bunch of sellers there in garage sales.
Using the 2g ram version btw.
alucard89
post Jun 8 2015, 02:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 8 2015, 02:04 PM)
may I know how often kodi crash? in one movie? or in a week? because I seldom watch tv.

What type of Mibox do you use?

Kodi doesn't really crash, but the playback suddenly stopped for no reason, but you can resume it immediately
Then again, I tried using Kodi on the mibox around a few months back
Since then there's probably a lot updates for the android version, and I still haven't update my mibox to the latest version yet.
The same 4K version that you just mentioned, just that mine's 2gb version which is quite rare to find now.
I don't even see this version listed in the xiaomi official website anymore.

This post has been edited by alucard89: Jun 8 2015, 02:23 PM
alucard89
post Jun 8 2015, 03:32 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(alwyn75 @ Jun 8 2015, 02:51 PM)
Actually, I'm looking for 2gb ram too and my channel wishlist is these only
1) Nat Geo Wild
2) Discovery channel
3) Discovery Science
4) History
5) National Geographic Channel
6) Animal Planet
7) CNN
8) BBC World
9) Blomberg television

Karaoke app is bonus if available....

BTW, where do you buy your unit? Pm me
Got it from taobao, it's probably still there somewhere
Not sure about the price now
Bought mine for around rm220
alucard89
post Sep 10 2015, 12:01 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Aug 4 2015, 05:17 PM)
Any decent apps that can be used to control mibox by using phone?
You haven't try mibox official app?
alucard89
post Sep 10 2015, 12:02 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(munlok30 @ Aug 29 2015, 10:08 AM)
hi guys ,

can anyone tell me how to transfer internal app to my sd card in this mi box . i am confuse and i couldn't found a solution .
With latest update, I think there's an option to install apps to sdcard
If not you can just use link2sd

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 10 2015, 12:02 PM
alucard89
post Sep 10 2015, 12:22 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Sep 10 2015, 12:19 PM)
i have tried it and i think its not really good sad.gif
That's the only app available to control your mibox other than your remote
Is your mibox mini already rooted? There should be no problem with video playback with h/w enabled once rooted

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 10 2015, 12:22 PM
alucard89
post Sep 10 2015, 03:17 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(negayem @ Sep 10 2015, 01:09 PM)
For those who 'subscribed' to the iptv package with this Xiomi, how do you find the streaming? Are you happy with it? Are there subtitles in English or perhaps Malay?

Seriously considering to get one, but I'm worried about the performance of the iptv.
Do you mean the one with Astroxx packages? Subtitles are available alrite
Any android device can run the iptv app, basically just depends on your broadband speed.
alucard89
post Sep 10 2015, 03:32 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Sep 10 2015, 02:00 PM)
Yup I have rooted the box
Did you have stuttering issues in previous version of Kodi?
Also, what's the format for the videos with stuttering issues? Are they mkv files with high bitrates around >4gb?
Seems like this guy has no problem with 1080p, although he didn't exactly mention the 1080p source (could be yify rips)

Kinda interested to get one because of the small form factor.
alucard89
post Jan 2 2016, 08:12 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Dec 28 2015, 11:19 AM)
One question.

I see a there is a setting to install apps and files to SD card. How does this work and do i need to setup a folder for files to be stored on the SD card?

I'm running out of space on my internal storage.
Last time i installed link2sd and link kodi and a bunch of other apps to external sdcard.
For some reason i couldn't get latest kodi to launch on latest update.
alucard89
post Jan 29 2017, 12:08 PM

4,454 posts

Anyone here got problem with purchased apps on the play store not listed as purchased?

I'm trying to install apps that I purchased but it's not listed as paid, so I tried anyway paying again just to test, but transaction was cancelled and they give refund back.
alucard89
post Mar 4 2017, 04:35 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Mar 4 2017, 03:34 PM)
bought mine from aliexpress.International ed.(MDZ-16-AB)Do not think there is a malaysia version with local content.can install any apk with it.Do not mind if I ask,what is your box version?
How's the price compared to lazada?
alucard89
post Mar 4 2017, 05:35 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Mar 4 2017, 05:32 PM)
bought in jan 2017 for usd69.99/RM318.22.with free shipping.
Care to share link? Got too many chinese version floating around there
alucard89
post Mar 5 2017, 02:14 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Mar 5 2017, 02:12 PM)
someone bought from this seller way back in January and posted in this forum.can't remember who.This is the same seller i bought it from-
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Shippi...0608.0.0.j81oSg
Thx for the link
Anyone bought one yet from mi Malaysia?
Do you still get the same 60USD worth of freebies?
alucard89
post Jun 21 2017, 05:40 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Jun 20 2017, 04:02 PM)
hi, i'm not too sure on steps for the white mibox, but during my research, there are loads of you tube video for this model. else u can try to Vietnamese forum.
Now that it's on global firmware
What about netflix hd playback? Is it enabled or still 480p only?
alucard89
post Sep 4 2017, 08:17 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(elmond @ Sep 4 2017, 03:41 PM)
get the international version

http://www.mi.com/my/mibox/
How's your experience so far with the google tv android interface? Still going smooth?
Thinking of getting one just for kodi & 4k netflix

alucard89
post Sep 5 2017, 09:37 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Sep 4 2017, 10:35 PM)
hmn, good info. How much does it cost for international version? Looks like Lazada is selling ~RM325. any place can get cheaper price on this? thx smile.gif
On sale for 69.99 usd at gearbest
I regret using my coupon for other stuff, could've got an extra rm50 off from the price haha

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 5 2017, 09:38 AM
alucard89
post Sep 5 2017, 11:13 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Inspiration~ @ Sep 5 2017, 10:59 AM)
thanks for the info, good deal that can save extra 50. Btw, does this gearbest trust-able ?
Also, will custom charge us on tax as this is ship from oversea?
Just avoid expedited shipping like dhl and use free shipping or sea shipping. For dhl, should be ok since it's less than rm500 but usually anything with bluetooth needs sirim or something.

Yeah, they're ok so far, bought some laptops from their site
alucard89
post Sep 5 2017, 01:25 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Sep 5 2017, 11:24 AM)
Bought my GT1 player from gear best via free delivery option. Item reached within a week with no custom or sirim fee required.

FYI, for mi box international, I got mine thru Lazada( not official xiao mi store) zekaisi store for less than rm250 in June this year. Happy searching smile.gif
Which free delivery post did they use? SGPost or SEA express?
Also, that rm250 mibox international was limited promo or use coupon?
Was it from this link http://www.lazada.com.my/xiaomi-mi-tv-box-...a&mp=1&rs=23224

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 5 2017, 01:29 PM
alucard89
post Sep 5 2017, 09:28 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Sep 5 2017, 02:35 PM)
They use something called Kerry post
As for the mi box, u can check out my old post quoted below. It was listed at rm238.60 before applying any coupons. I believe the seller increased the price a few times already.
Fuhh, that price increase from just 2 months go
Need to check this thread regularly now
alucard89
post Sep 9 2017, 08:14 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(Pepperboy @ Sep 8 2017, 12:17 PM)
"We're having trouble playing this title right now. Please try again later or select a different title". Note that this is on a "regular" Full HD TV. Other apps play video just fine... just Netflix... not using DNS.

Using Digi Infinite 150 through router. My tablet can play Netflix videos through the same router without any problems...
Is it ok now? My mibox is on the way
Anyway my firetv stick plays Netflix without any issues on digi infinity, I tried using US dns but only gets sd quality mostly on 4g

This post has been edited by alucard89: Sep 9 2017, 08:14 PM

0.0276sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:41 AM