Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!

aka_kepep
post May 23 2016, 02:34 PM

a r c h i t o r t u r e d
615 posts

http://www.mi.com/en/mibox/#specs

for those interested with android tv interface instead of miui tv smile.gif its gonna launch soon
aka_kepep
post May 24 2016, 08:51 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ May 23 2016, 11:44 PM)
cant wait for this, very interested in it.

wonder what will be the price.
me too.. i hope its within the 300rm price range
aka_kepep
post Sep 25 2016, 04:27 PM

615 posts

aka_kepep
post Nov 12 2016, 09:10 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 11 2016, 09:34 PM)
Using a chromecast 2 now for iflix, Netflix, YouTube and Spotify. Waiting for someone to sell the Google certified mibox that's now available in the US.

Nvidia shield TV is too expensive for a non-gamer such as myself. sad.gif
One or two sellers in Aliexpress is having sales for the international version. Price close to 75usd. Im gonna order one there. 6hours left before sales end!
aka_kepep
post Nov 12 2016, 10:20 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 12 2016, 09:14 AM)
I worry that if I buy from aliexpress, the package would get held up by our Jabatan Kastam for 'donation'.
No lah. Bought a few electrical items before. 1 or 2 units wont get held. Unless u buy bulk
aka_kepep
post Nov 16 2016, 08:51 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Nov 15 2016, 10:23 AM)
Can share the link where you purchased?

Normally how long does it take for shipping from Aliexpress?

Thank you.
i normally receive stuff's from aliexpress around 2-3 weeks time
aka_kepep
post Nov 16 2016, 08:52 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Nov 15 2016, 07:14 PM)
Sigh, right after ordering new international version of Mibox, a new one is set to be announced by Xiaomi.

http://www.gizmochina.com/2016/11/15/xiaom...mber-16-launch/
ow mann... mad.gif mad.gif i just ordered the international version too
aka_kepep
post Nov 16 2016, 02:07 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Nov 16 2016, 11:46 AM)
Interested to sell? Haha..There are takers. Just let me know.
hahaha... ill do a test drive first
aka_kepep
post Nov 16 2016, 04:57 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Nov 16 2016, 02:55 PM)
No problem...but it seems that the new MiBox 3s just announced by XiaoMi are having the same specs as the US one...zzzzz dry.gif

Mibox 3s
Yeahh... but still, no info on Android TV OS... im buying the international version for the android TV os
aka_kepep
post Nov 22 2016, 06:35 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Nov 20 2016, 06:54 PM)
Already got the stocks?
Stocks ready. Just a matter of shipping time. Mine is already within airline processing stage
aka_kepep
post Nov 25 2016, 07:12 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ Nov 25 2016, 04:15 PM)
Finally received the international Mi Box today from Aliexpress. Exactly two weeks to ship from China. First impressions : Doesn't have the box cover like that sold in the US. No coupon codes at all. (US version comes with a total of $76 of coupons). 3 pieces of paper for warranty, manual and product info, all in English. Other items include the mi box, remote control and hdmi cable (no AAA batteries).

Boot up looks similar to that on youtube of Americans using the USA Mi Box. The biggest difference is there is only Netflix and Redbull TV on the recommended apps section. Mi Box sold in the US have Sling TV, Hulu, Pandora, Vudu and several other popular streaming apps in the recommended section.

The other Google apps like Android TV playstore, Youtube and Play Movies is preloaded.
Strangely cant control the audio on Netflix shows via the Mi Box remote. But on Youtube and SPMC it works. Must be a bug with the Netflix app.

In the settings, it shows Android 6.01 and no updates available. I tried installing UC Browser, Astro On The Go, Mobdro and APKpure but for some reason the screen orientation is horizontal. I installed a separate app to force the screen orientation correctly. So far never heard this bug from US Mi Box users.

The worst thing so far for me is that Astro On The Go keeps crashing after I input username and password.

I dont know why there is no browser pre-installed in this box. When I do a voice search, it will show hits from youtube. Would have wished the voice search could look up websites in Google.com.

I will update after doing further tests and experiments.
youtube app enables HD / FULL HD / 4K option?
aka_kepep
post Nov 30 2016, 08:11 PM

615 posts

Finally got mine. Pure androidtv experience. Snappy performance. Although im just usin it for kodi youtube plex and netflix smile.gif

This post has been edited by aka_kepep: Nov 30 2016, 08:15 PM

aka_kepep
post Dec 1 2016, 08:39 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Dec 1 2016, 07:35 PM)
Will it have not ebough ram or storage issue? I heaRd that some people choose other TV box than mibox because the storage or ram is smaller, so when watching kodi, always facing issue.
Im choosing it for androidtv os smile.gif i was an m8s user before

This post has been edited by aka_kepep: Dec 1 2016, 08:41 PM
aka_kepep
post Dec 3 2016, 09:50 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(zero721 @ Dec 3 2016, 06:56 PM)
Better than M8S?
Its a different experience cuz its androidtv. I prefer its simplicity. If ur asking on hardware performance, i think its faster. Or maybe bciz its brand new, lol
aka_kepep
post Dec 7 2016, 11:14 AM

615 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 7 2016, 10:55 AM)
bro..how much you bought it for and where?
aliexpress. around 73 usd, free postage. arrived within 2 weeks smile.gif

0.0676sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:57 PM