QUOTE(ckweng @ Dec 28 2017, 11:24 AM)
Was the one that you bought during 12.12 sold by Mi Store with 1-year Malaysia warranty? Thanks in advance.
yup. sold by XiaoMi Malaysia official store Xiaomi Mi Box User Club, let's talk mi box!
Dec 28 2017, 12:06 PM
506 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Dec 28 2017, 01:05 PM
1,615 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Dec 28 2017, 01:13 PM
587 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Dec 28 2017, 03:42 PM
1,691 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Dec 28 2017, 04:32 PM
710 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
When I first bought it last year, I spent slightly more than RM400 for it to ship to MY. It served me very well and is worth it. However this month I upgraded to Nvidia Shield because I will turn the Shield into my Smart Home hub (control all the sensors and smart home stuff). The mi box is a solid android box for streaming content and playing the occasional game or two on it. I have helped set up several friend and family mi boxes for them too and all working flawlessly.
Dec 28 2017, 05:21 PM
2,050 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: DC |
QUOTE(lalahehe90 @ Dec 28 2017, 12:31 AM) I thought, the international version is the malaysia version.The different is just the warranty QUOTE(tztong @ Dec 28 2017, 09:36 AM) dear sifu, i bought mitv at 11street with MI LIFE jailbreak version. At first i thought it was my internet problem to fail playing most of the movie. I wonder what source of your film is?i had upgraded my Unifi 30mb now. and still same most of the movie cannot play. but some of it can play. any1 know why? |
Dec 28 2017, 08:07 PM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(kucuboy @ Dec 28 2017, 04:32 PM) When I first bought it last year, I spent slightly more than RM400 for it to ship to MY. It served me very well and is worth it. However this month I upgraded to Nvidia Shield because I will turn the Shield into my Smart Home hub (control all the sensors and smart home stuff). The mi box is a solid android box for streaming content and playing the occasional game or two on it. I have helped set up several friend and family mi boxes for them too and all working flawlessly. Smart hub function still online when nvidia shield on standby?I'm still waiting for my smartthings usb to arrive |
Dec 29 2017, 10:18 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
29,767 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Johor, Malaysia. |
Mi Box - Short Review
This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Dec 29 2017, 10:21 AM |
Dec 29 2017, 11:21 AM
Nice review there Andrewtst .
Going to look around for Side Launcher too. Dont like the non function app on the main screen too. I also need help on finding the usb to rj35 converter with 3 usb? My search on garage, lazada or lelong is not really fruitful. Anyone can help? |
Dec 29 2017, 11:27 AM
1,276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(koinibler @ Dec 29 2017, 11:21 AM) Nice review there Andrewtst . https://www.lazada.com.my/ugreen-3-ports-us...0.89aba62lXPSUmGoing to look around for Side Launcher too. Dont like the non function app on the main screen too. I also need help on finding the usb to rj35 converter with 3 usb? My search on garage, lazada or lelong is not really fruitful. Anyone can help? |
Dec 29 2017, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(niakulah @ Dec 29 2017, 11:27 AM) mean this rj35 is just an ethernet port.Kinda confusing with rj45 Thanks for the link |
Dec 29 2017, 02:19 PM
1,276 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Dec 29 2017, 03:27 PM
Dec 29 2017, 03:33 PM
anyone here know what is the difference between Malaysia version international version. I knew that the model for both is MDZ-16-AB. In term of apps, is there any difference ?
Dec 29 2017, 03:38 PM
Just stick to MDZ-16-AB and you will be fine, This IS the international version. It runs on Android TV 6.0 operating system Every other Mibox doesnt run on this OS. Only extra thing about buying MDZ-16-AB in Malaysia would be the 1 year warranty honored by Xiaomi Malaysia. But if you managed to purchase the MDZ-16-AB in the orange retail packaging, you get some free trial codes for a few US based streaming services plus a few pre-installed apps but nothing you cant install yourself later on.
This post has been edited by kucuboy: Dec 29 2017, 03:42 PM |
Dec 29 2017, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(kucuboy @ Dec 29 2017, 03:38 PM) Just stick to MDZ-16-AB and you will be fine, This IS the international version. It runs on Android TV 6.0 operating system Every other Mibox doesnt run on this OS. Only extra thing about buying MDZ-16-AB in Malaysia would be the 1 year warranty honored by Xiaomi Malaysia. But if you managed to purchase the MDZ-16-AB in the orange retail packaging, you get some free trial codes for a few US based streaming services plus a few pre-installed apps but nothing you cant install yourself later on. Which means US version (Orange Box) cannot side load any application ? |
Dec 29 2017, 04:05 PM
967 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: setapak |
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 29 2017, 10:18 AM) Mi Box - Short Review nice review ![]()
YouTube 4K enable? any info on playing 4K MKV file? |
Dec 29 2017, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
29,767 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Johor, Malaysia. |
QUOTE(koinibler @ Dec 29 2017, 11:21 AM) Nice review there Andrewtst . Thanks for liking. Going to look around for Side Launcher too. Dont like the non function app on the main screen too. I also need help on finding the usb to rj35 converter with 3 usb? My search on garage, lazada or lelong is not really fruitful. Anyone can help? QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Dec 29 2017, 04:05 PM) YouTube 4K is enable and you can choose your preferable resolution. Playback mkv should be no issue, if native not working, you can find MX Player at Android TV playstore. |
Dec 29 2017, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(audiocool @ Dec 29 2017, 03:57 PM) Can, you can sideload on both orange box or brown box MDZ-16-AB to your hearts's content. Just that the orange box MDZ-16-AB has free trial vouchers and has some pre-installed apps (which can be removed or disabled) To not confuse you or anyone for that matter, just remember all MDZ-16-AB as International version, simpler that way. |
Dec 29 2017, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(kucuboy @ Dec 29 2017, 04:19 PM) Can, you can sideload on both orange box or brown box MDZ-16-AB to your hearts's content. Just that the orange box MDZ-16-AB has free trial vouchers and has some pre-installed apps (which can be removed or disabled) To not confuse you or anyone for that matter, just remember all MDZ-16-AB as International version, simpler that way. Understood now. Cos I'm still in dilemma whether to choose Malaysia version (brown box) and International version (orange box) since I can see the orange box can get it around RM255 after voucher. |
| Change to: | 0.0241sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:11 PM |