Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Dilemma of choosing job offer

views

TSTengBoraBora
post Apr 24 2015, 09:38 PM, updated 9y ago

2 posts

Hi everyone, I'm a fresh grad with bachelor degree in accounting & finance. Currently I have two offers in hand.

1. BDO - Tax Associate
2. Huawei - Senior Accounting Associate

At first I think BDO is better as it's considered as top 5 accounting firm in Malaysia and can gain more exposure. However some of my friends told me that Huawei is growing rapidly and it provides better pay and benefits. Which should i choose? Any idea of the working environment and culture?

Please advise... icon_question.gif
chiahau
post Apr 24 2015, 09:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
All Stars
14,074 posts

QUOTE(TengBoraBora @ Apr 24 2015, 09:38 PM)
Hi everyone, I'm a fresh grad with bachelor degree in accounting & finance.  Currently I have two offers in hand.

1. BDO - Tax Associate

At first I think BDO is better as it's considered as top 5 accounting firm in Malaysia and can gain more exposure. However some of my friends told me that Huawei is growing rapidly and it provides better pay and benefits. Which should i choose? Any idea of the working environment and culture?

I reckon you should try to go for Big 4 instead.

And to be honest, getting directly into tax without any audit experience may impair your abilities to leave to more lucrative fields in the near future.

Of course tax is good money itself if you are good ( Tax consultancy and etc ) but I believe that one must go through the rigors of Assurances before they should dive into another division.
KayShif
post Apr 24 2015, 11:39 PM

Getting Started
76 posts

Hi everyone, I'm a fresh grad with bachelor degree in accounting & finance.  Currently I have two offers in hand.

1. BDO - Tax Associate

choose based on your needs. Decide first what you need.
Example, you need big name? more salary? stability? less work? more work ? exposure? etc etc.