Smart Home, Let's discuss

coolguy99
post Nov 1 2020, 07:59 PM

7,351 posts

for a newbie, where do I start to read about how to setup smart home? or is it easier to engage vendor to do it if I am totally clueless?
coolguy99
post Nov 10 2020, 04:59 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 10 2020, 03:11 PM)
Any tips for complete beginner? If let's say i dont know how to do any wiring , would TP Link Tapo + google nest suffice?
+1. Let's say to control lights, fans, aircond and tv using app/voice/timer control to start.

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Nov 10 2020, 05:01 PM
coolguy99
post Nov 26 2020, 11:14 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 29 2020, 10:29 AM)
1) I am using Aqara D1 switches and I would say they are pretty good but it will get very expensive when you want many of them, you could buy loads on installments if you don't want to deal with the lump sum at the start. I would say that for the D1 switches and most switches, the neutral ones are usually the best, depending on your house set up, you could pull a neutral from a near by AC switch (I have done this), the areas I don't have something to pull from, I used the non neutral ones. For Aqara switches, you can see power consumption as well have the switch act as a repeater for the signal from the hub, that isn't the case for the non-neutral ones. I have also used a Ewelink supported AC switch which I use for water features outside as well as my water heater. D1 switches through the hub have native HomeKit support (so you can use with your iPhone), but if you want it to work with Google Home or Alexa there is a way but its not natively supported.

2) AC you can control through an IR blaster (I am using Broadlink RM4C and RM4Pro), for this use case go for the RM4c, you can also control your fan speed through it.

3)I also have plans for curtains but its for the future.

4)IMO if you and your dependents if you have any, are all using iPhones, go for the HomeKit options and use the Home app, you will control automations through that and Siri.
For easy pairing, I can just get the Aqara hub right? You mentioned that there is a way to get it working with Alexa, is there any guide for beginners?

By the way what is the difference between a 1, 2 and 3 gang? Just the amount of switches?

Sorry am very new to this. Appreciate any guidance. biggrin.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 1 2020, 01:18 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(rayken @ Dec 1 2020, 12:49 PM)
hi sifu, let say i got 3 gang aqara switch, but my light switch only occupied 2 gang only...still got 1 gang left...can i program that gang for other purpose...like on/off the previous 2 gang switch together?
what do you plan to do with your original switch? just replace it? i have the same question too.. cause my original switch is for fan and lighting... i cannot totally replace it i think
coolguy99
post Dec 22 2020, 01:55 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 22 2020, 10:53 AM)
From my 2hrs google research, no need, HA will integrate with the mi gateway to access rest of the devices.

This is quite a comprehensive introduction video
https://youtu.be/sVqyDtEjudk
Thanks will check this out biggrin.gif
coolguy99
post Dec 26 2020, 08:21 PM

7,351 posts

For those with Aqara N200 lock, can I ask if it can be used with the Aqara hub?
coolguy99
post Dec 28 2020, 08:08 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Jun 20 2020, 09:58 PM)
Plan to switch to smart wall socket🥰
Aqara cannot use for fan? Is that true?
Have you find out if the smart switch can be used with fan?
coolguy99
post Jan 12 2021, 01:14 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(davidyang85 @ Jan 12 2021, 12:24 PM)
I think right now only Tuya has 20A switch with google assistant support

BTW you are using Aqara Hub in Aqara app?? Which version hub you are using? global or china version?
I bought the global version Aqara hub. What is the difference with the China version?
coolguy99
post Jan 12 2021, 04:22 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(davidyang85 @ Jan 12 2021, 01:34 PM)
What i understand is that global version supports google assistant and the china version doesnt.

Global version - higher price
China version - supports more device in Xiaomi Home app in china region setting.
I see thanks for the clarification! Cheers!
coolguy99
post Feb 13 2021, 08:47 AM

7,351 posts

Read through this thread seems like Alexa is recommended. How many of those devices did you guys purchase for a condo unit?

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Feb 13 2021, 08:56 AM
coolguy99
post Feb 14 2021, 09:09 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 13 2021, 11:56 AM)
Dont use Alexa cause my Android TV not compatible I use Google Nest Mini & Lenovo Smart Clock Essential
Here is my arrangement
1. Lenovo Smart Clock Essential with Google Assistant - Master Bedroom
2. Google Nest Mini 2 (3 array mic) use at Living Room
3. google Home Mini (kids room)

Another room occupy by parents they do not want
Is the compatibility with the Android TV the only issue with Alexa? Will take a look on Google Nest and Google Home. Thanks a lot.
coolguy99
post Feb 15 2021, 08:30 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 15 2021, 08:20 AM)
If you can download Alexa Official app from Apple App store or Google Play store

Alexa in Malaysia not available need sideload very messy

most of Alexa function also dont work as they say need Amazon account Prime account and Amazon Music etc etc.....

Maybe in UK/US not here in Malaysia
Ah I see. I will go try out Google Nest as an alternative then.
coolguy99
post Mar 24 2021, 10:22 AM

7,351 posts

Hi for those who are using the Aqara N200 lock, are you guys able to pair it with HomeKit? I keep getting the unable to add accessory error with error code 2502. Any idea?

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Mar 24 2021, 02:03 PM
coolguy99
post Mar 26 2021, 07:23 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(kpinn @ Mar 26 2021, 12:55 AM)
Hey guys, need a smart wall plug for my room.
Original socket was 3 gangs, 2 for lights 1 for fan.
I am Using HomeKit.
Any recommendation?
Aqara wall switch with its hub or Yeelight’s?
Aqara wall switch does not work with fan. You have to get a 2 gang for control lighting, and a normal one gang switch for the fan.
coolguy99
post Mar 27 2021, 06:51 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(steve1703 @ Mar 27 2021, 04:28 PM)
do you mean aqara switch cant control on/off for fan?
Cannot. Only can control lighting.
coolguy99
post Mar 27 2021, 10:31 PM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(sicklad77 @ Mar 27 2021, 09:20 PM)
Me too bos here. Been using 3 gang no neutral wall switch.
1 switch control led in box lights
1 switch control 4 led white down lights
1 switch control the on/off for my ceiling fan.
Works perfectly fine.

No issue here
Dang the seller told me cannot use for fan...so all the while I thought cannot use...
coolguy99
post Mar 28 2021, 10:28 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Mar 28 2021, 08:23 AM)
Guess the seller means not suitable for regulator type fan or else he really don't know about the product laugh.gif
But even with regulator fan you can still use the switch just the fan always run at max speed because regulator is removed; or fix the regulator at certain speed then direct connect it inside the fan canopy wink.gif
ah i hope i got this piece of advise a bit earlier. now is a little too late. bangwall.gif

if it possible to replace my manual switch with a one gang for my ceiling fan?

This post has been edited by coolguy99: Mar 28 2021, 10:33 AM
coolguy99
post Apr 1 2021, 09:34 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 1 2021, 08:13 AM)
Why need to control everything from phone. If cannot find your phone or phone malfunction, then no coffee  laugh.gif
Maybe that kettle can be manually controlled too, just like most of the smart switches
coolguy99
post Apr 1 2021, 10:25 AM

7,351 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 1 2021, 10:00 AM)
I’m using it now, mostly for convenience.
Don’t really have to go for the expensive ones, i used yale lock and it had some issues with keypad

Now smartlock with fingerprint available at lower prices than before. Just make sure to pick the ones that matches your door lock (etc deadbolt type)

If intruder really determined to break in your house, then no lock can really protect from that. Last time got case at my neighbourhood someone break in thru front door using tong gas 😅
Yes can take a look at aqara n200 lock. quite ok for the price and pretty good too
coolguy99
post Apr 1 2021, 11:32 AM

7,351 posts

want to ask if you guys replace the switch, will it normally damage the wall paint?

0.4146sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:45 PM