46 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Smart Home, Let's discuss

Zot
post Jan 22 2019, 07:33 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Jan 22 2019, 06:18 PM)
Any sifu here able to identify are these wall switches with or without Neutral? Please help  confused.gif

These are lisht switches with no Neutral obviously. The switch just cut off the L wire circuit. The N are looped at light point on ceiling.
Zot
post Jan 23 2019, 08:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Niuminoid @ Jan 22 2019, 09:05 PM)
Sifu can u pls guide me on how to connect each wire to this aqara 2 gang switch? Do I need to remove the existing loop wire?
I'm not sure if you have mentioned what you intend to do before. I can't find it. If have not mentioned what you planned to do, please brief other experts here (obviously I'm no familiar with these Aqara switches).

It seems to me that the switch is not a dual gang switch in a sense similar to normal dual gang switch that you shown before. It looks to me that this Aqara switch is more suitable to act like single pole dual way switch, not dual gang single pole switches (expert out there, correct me if I'm wrong blush.gif )

The looping wire (L) should be kept looping. I believe the loop is to provide power to other light switches. In usual practice, the L wire in looped to power 6 other lighting points.
Zot
post Jan 25 2019, 09:15 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(deadnick @ Jan 25 2019, 09:10 AM)
Just purchased a Xiaomi 2 gang wired switch which i intend to change my existing kitchen 2 gang switch. I'm hopeless when it comes to electrical, but did find out a little bit by reading this thread.

Would just like to confirm with all the sifu's here if im slotting the correct wires to Xiaomi switch. Please advise.

Looks correct to me smile.gif
Zot
post Feb 19 2019, 09:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(hsunl @ Feb 19 2019, 09:29 AM)
Tq for ur help. Troublesome to make another hole for adding another switch. Too bad , I should tell the wire man earlier abt this smart switch. He is only prepare neutral wire for me and well distributed all my 3 phase wire usage and my mistake never thought of smart switch only having a single Live incoming per switch.... or is there any others brand selling with connect to 2 incoming Live smart switch??

My option now
1. Choose either one incoming Live for it
2. Make another hole for adding a switch
3. Reserve this 2 gang smart switch for my single gang normal switch. It is weird but easy for me.
4. Restudy my phase power n redistribute them. This is hard and not easy for me.
5. Get another smart switch which can connect to 2 different Live incoming

Tq to all of u again here
Getting blurred picture here biggrin.gif

Your existing 2 gang switch has 2 L wires (different phases), one to light and 1 to fan.Now you bought a 2 gang smart switch that accept one L. You have N wire prepared for the smart switch. Correct?

In this case, I'll just use L wire from either phase to control both light and fan. Taped the other L wire and tuck it inside the whole for future use.

You don't need to worry if use only one of the phase. The power usage is not significant to upset load balance.
Zot
post Feb 19 2019, 01:08 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Feb 19 2019, 11:47 AM)
Really? So, even three different phase live can go to one same neutral?
Wonder why other people in this thread try but cannot tap from neutral wire for air con or heater on three phase?
You can configure how you would like your wiring to be. You can have separate N by phase or you can have one common phase to my knowledge.

Say you want to isolate each phase by having 3 separate RCD, then you cannot have L from other phase to return to another N. All the N wires are merged after they return to each RCD. You can have a 4-pole RCD where you have only 1 N wire.

So, you have to check MDB (Main Distribution Box) on how the house wiring is. Well, if you have separate N for each phase, the RCD will just trip. Will not burn your house smile.gif
Zot
post Feb 19 2019, 02:18 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Feb 19 2019, 11:51 AM)
Yes.

3 amp red + 3 amp blue + 3 amp yellow = zero amp at neutral.

Look at the power lines on the street. There’s 4 wires right?
3 phase and 1 neutral.

Also, many 3 phase motors don’t even have neutral in the first place. So I don’t know what you talking about.

One thing to take note is that a neutral must never lose its link to the main neutral link.
That is because the motor only has delta wiring which has √3 phase advantage. Many motors starts in Wye configuration which has lower voltage and when reach maximum power switched to Delta.
Zot
post Feb 19 2019, 02:30 PM

7,938 posts

deleted ... double reply

This post has been edited by Zot: Feb 19 2019, 02:31 PM
Zot
post Feb 19 2019, 02:35 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Feb 19 2019, 01:12 PM)
Oh, so there are options on how to setup the neutrals. Interesting.
What are the pros and cons of each setup?
As you see there is 4 pole RCD with trip switch, Therefore, I believe if there is any leak in any phase the RCD will trip and cut power to all phases. If you have separate RCD for each phase, you can isolate and work on the failed phase and still have power on other phases.

take sometime to find the diagram, but here it is:

As you can see the Ns are isolated for each phase
Zot
post Feb 21 2019, 07:54 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Feb 20 2019, 03:17 AM)
Hi guys, I'm doing a presentation topic on smart home and I need your input regarding the security of data. Is the event of data breach common in smart home devices and what is the impact of it to the home owner? And how to prevent such event from happening?
Perhaps you can be more clear I guess like how you define Smart Home.

What kind of data involved? Username and password to access control of the house? If the control involves only remotely switch on/off appliances, then it will not harm much unless you can unlock your main door remotely. biggrin.gif Why need to do that? Some people say want to let family member in when you are not home, but why not just register bio-metric recognition for each family/relatives that you allow access?
Zot
post Feb 21 2019, 09:11 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 21 2019, 08:44 AM)
The data security is depend on how much information have you put into another country server. When register some require detail that I don't no why.

If the server compromise, there is a risk to your data. Your router IP hack.

Hacker might get hold on it and use the same apps to do whatever he want on your smart home. If you have the smart lock, that is better for the hacker.  tongue.gif

So how secure is this smart home ?

With now the US/ China security war, it look real.
In this information world, personal data become business. You enter any competition, you give away name, IC, address and phone number at least. That is why you get call or msg from unknown entities laugh.gif The last defense you have is whether you want to pick up the call or not biggrin.gif Not only home but almost anything is not secure
Zot
post Mar 6 2019, 09:05 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 6 2019, 10:54 AM)
then for our normal terrace house, is there neutral line?
As far as I know houses by developers do not have N for lightings but for 3-pin socket only. Houses with N were normally renovated with N put in place.
Zot
post Mar 7 2019, 04:46 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(10071985 @ Mar 7 2019, 01:32 PM)
Thanks for all those feedback on the mandatory for Neutral line for Sonoff.
Looks like i need to plan properly, as quite troublesome to pull neutral to all switches.

what are the light switch brand/smart devices available, and compatible with google assistance?
From what i gather here:-

1) Sonoff  - need neutral line
2) Broadlink
3) Aqara/Xiaomi
As far as I know reading this thread on and off, any WiFi operated switch need more power, thus require N wire. The one that can operate wirelessly without N are those zigbee, BT, etc other than WiFi.
Zot
post Mar 7 2019, 09:00 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Mar 7 2019, 06:56 PM)
I thought ZigBee & Zwave also need N.
Maybe some manufacturers produce it like that but there are smart switches that require no N like Aqara even though it has N connector (I think)

https://shopee.com.my/XIAOMI-Aqara-Smart-Ho...95082.206651184

This post has been edited by Zot: Mar 7 2019, 09:01 PM
Zot
post Mar 8 2019, 08:05 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Mar 7 2019, 10:02 PM)
About RM15+ (with 3pin plug point, they dont sell asing asing). Taman Paramount area, Chi-Tak electrical. Got alternative brand at RM10+ but a bit smaller so not nice. Didnt measure the height, about 1cm more roughly.

Plan to use to charge my pixel 3, can set timer so at night don't overcharge. One plug for me one for my other half.
I think the smaller one is the type you put inside the wall on on surface like in your picture. House normally use black plastic box inside the wall probably no more than 50 sen each. I just remove the old one and chisel a bit and glue back the junction box deeper a bit biggrin.gif
Zot
post Mar 8 2019, 09:06 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 8 2019, 08:52 AM)
wow that is a good price for the aqara double gang. nice that the prices are coming down from our local sellers.
btw there are two types of Aqara wall switches. The one with the N terminal must be connected to the N in order to work, you cant just leave it out.
I think its safe to say there is no N in all our light switch points.

The only switches that I know (so far) that does not require Neutral are Aqara, Broadlink and LightwaveRF. The first one is using Zigbee, and the last two are RF
Really not much choice. Oh wait there is one more - Fibaro which is using Zwave
Fibaro and LightwaveRF really expensive though  sweat.gif
Can't really trust Shipping From stated there. Last time I bought something Ship from Balakong but tracking from China laugh.gif
Zot
post Mar 8 2019, 09:13 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 8 2019, 09:08 AM)
nah, VisionGagetry is local and located in Klang
those from China has a .my behind their shop's name
you can always check the Malaysia box on the left so you will only see local sellers
I see smile.gif
Zot
post Mar 8 2019, 12:37 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 8 2019, 12:00 PM)
Walau, all the conduit bright orange color with a dark background.

You miss your working factory place ? tongue.gif
Industrial standard color. biggrin.gif
Zot
post Apr 7 2019, 07:25 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Apr 6 2019, 03:52 PM)
using neutral or not got what impact? since aqara don't need while sonoff need.
The no Neutral switch will have lower max load and require min load like 3~5W. Max load normally around 500~600W (if not mistaken but some can go higher. The switch with N will have none of those limitaion except electrical + MCB max load (and switch of course smile.gif )
Zot
post Apr 16 2019, 10:31 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Apr 15 2019, 03:16 PM)
should be using, those conceal pvc. but scare congested. wow that is really tough. not a requirement to fix neutral wire? i mean during construction stage, not a requirement to put neutral wire?
Some using piping inside wall but some do not.

My house is not using piping but just strapped wire straight to brick before plastering. This save cost and time for developer but no discount on customer side laugh.gif Imagine if they put even 1/2" pvc pipe on the brick, you cannot have cement plaster so thick to cover the wall. They have to cut shallow ditch on brick wall, install piping and then plaster. I have to cut the plaster to bury the N wire pulled from a 3-pin socket. sad.gif
Zot
post Apr 16 2019, 01:13 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Apr 16 2019, 12:06 PM)
that 1 against the law le. should chisel the brickwall for a groove to fit in pvc pipe 1 correct way.

conceal use pvc, no conceal use GI. the 1 orange colour expose.
As far as I know it is not law to have concealed wiring in conduit. It maybe just local municipal law. Otherwise, houses cannot get passed for occupancy. I know certain developer use conduit.

46 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.3278sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:43 AM