Smart Home, Let's discuss

Zot
post Nov 12 2018, 08:42 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Nov 11 2018, 10:59 AM)
Ok bro! Just bought aqara switches today during 1111. Hope it works, else gotta pull neutral wire.

Cheers.
So, your house is 3 phase wiring? Your house has 3 separate RCCD? If one big one with linked switch lever, maybe it is using common N line?
Zot
post Nov 15 2018, 01:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Nov 15 2018, 01:09 PM)
Hahah ok now more confident
Buy good tape like 3M. Cheap DIY china one may drop over time.

Good placement would be an area where you think smoke will accumulate first. For 2 storey house, smoke tend to go up through staircase. So, the ceiling at the top center of the staircase is probably the best location. By probably 2 unit. One for kitchen ceiling and one hall area or location I mentioned. The wall at at kitchen entrance/opening will block the smoke from going to other space like hall until more smoke and this is late already smile.gif
Zot
post Nov 15 2018, 05:21 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 15 2018, 02:09 PM)
i bought one 3M VHB tape. Supposed to be the toughest but its not. Worst than the ones I bought from ACE
maybe i bought fake one
Yes branded one many fakes. If significantly cheaper than other shop, then suspicious.
Zot
post Nov 15 2018, 05:22 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Nov 15 2018, 02:07 PM)
Ya outside kitchen before entering the living hall is a good lication.

Other location , near to stair is good but to high, probably find a low celing after the stair ceiling

How about room,
Inside the room already late. Door closed and the smoke already thick outside your room laugh.gif
Zot
post Nov 15 2018, 08:33 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Nov 15 2018, 06:17 PM)
If happen inside brdroom?
So. put in each room smile.gif Good business for Xiaomi rclxms.gif
Zot
post Nov 17 2018, 06:21 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Nov 16 2018, 12:40 PM)
so that I can control the auto gate from my handphone.. sometimes if I forget to shut the auto gate.. can see from my cctv then can use the app to shut it
You forget to close the gate but what if you forget to even check the CCTV. Probably by the time you check CCTV, it is too late already.

Why not make it auto close after certain period but of course with sensor to check nothing obstructing first. This I would say smart gate biggrin.gif
Zot
post Nov 25 2018, 07:09 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Nov 25 2018, 12:04 AM)
Hi sifu, can you advise me if the the ac and lights using common N line? The elcb is not installed yet, still waiting developer to install.

First picture shows that the GND are connected to 2 copper bars. The reason for two bars is likely because they don't have longer bar for all GND wire in a single bar. There will be wire joining the two bar, I'm sure

The 2nd picture shows that the N wires are separated into 3 separate bars. Looks like the N are going to be separated but it can't be sure just as yet. Maybe they are going into 1 master 4 pole RCCB or 3 separate 2-pole RCCB. If 3 x 2-pole RCCB, then N has to follow phase. Why not just call developer or the guy in charge of the project and ask. The person can tell you for sure.
Zot
post Nov 26 2018, 01:36 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 26 2018, 11:57 AM)
rclxms.gif Not bad wei, plants put indoor or outdoor?
Automatically moves the plant pot outside in the morning and inside at night wink.gif
Zot
post Nov 26 2018, 01:43 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 26 2018, 01:38 PM)
Of course outdoor la. Want flood my indoor house meh.  biggrin.gif
I bought most of the required tubing, connector, etc. for more than a year or two and still in my store room doh.gif

Why didn't you just buy the standard timer valve plenty out there? Just because you want to control using your phone? biggrin.gif
Zot
post Nov 26 2018, 01:44 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 26 2018, 01:41 PM)
Boss will bankrupt, have to install conveyor belt to transfer it.  tongue.gif 

Outdoor got kena rain or not? Later monsoon season, waste money to water the flooded plants.  whistling.gif
Just need install sensor to detect soil moisture.
Zot
post Nov 26 2018, 02:03 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 26 2018, 01:59 PM)
Standard timer for watering is either battery run or 240v. And it place at water tap outdoor.

Either need change battery or tarik wire. And not cheap. Cost as much as RM350+.  sweat.gif

This wan only cost me about RM100. Many parts is from my stock. Hose, fitting, casing etc all free.

Power is supply by solar panel. So no disruption and free power.

Once schedule set, I don't mess with it. Don't need to control by phone also. Unless manual on/off in some case.

So much better than the normal timer.
Agree. Timer is not cheap. I was thinking just to control the solenoid valve using moisture sensor. Sensor is cheap or can just make simple one..

Well, the idea is running more than a year laugh.gif
Zot
post Nov 27 2018, 01:55 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Nov 27 2018, 01:52 PM)
Of course, cannot lah.
No internet, how to connect to GH or Alexa.
Voice control no need internet. The instruction is:

"Please switch off the light, honey" biggrin.gif
Zot
post Dec 4 2018, 08:06 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Snoy @ Dec 3 2018, 06:03 PM)
Just went through Xiaomi forum.
This seems to be a known issues caused by inferior resistors (only non-neutral version) for a few users in year 2017.
And Aqara claimed that they had changed the supplier.

When did you buy your switch?
Or do you know its manufacturing date?

I actually have 1 of such switch installed in my room few months ago.
Starting to get worried.
The worst is just that the switch stop to work. This is quite normal in design. Computer simulation is not perfect and the part is not perfect too. The component selection is normally just enough to meet to meet circuit requirement just to save 0.01 sen laugh.gif

Recall is even worse in vehicle. Defect discovered after probably after accident happened 7 to 10 years down the line and manufacturers will admit probably a year after investigation sad.gif
Zot
post Dec 5 2018, 02:04 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 5 2018, 08:17 AM)
how much are the they and the cost of the charger?
I think not worth it cause the non-rechargeable ones can last 15 year or more.
QUOTE(kk131 @ Dec 5 2018, 08:42 AM)
If you already have a charger then only the cost of the battery, I see the rechargeable cells starting around RM5.

Anyway bought a lithium battery, wonder if it will last 5 years.
Rechargeable battery will not last as long as regular non-rechargeable one. There is non as far as I know. Furthermore, the rechargeable battery operable length gets shorter and shorter. It is more nuisance recharging it than using normal battery. smile.gif
Zot
post Dec 6 2018, 04:27 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Dec 5 2018, 04:34 PM)
If it flickers, not enough load.

The way the switch work without neutral is that it does not turn the switch fully off, but in between OFF and ON . That's how it's able to power the circuitry when it's off, it allows some current to flow through even when it's off to power the internal circuitry.  That is why there is a minimum load requirement to using this switch. How many LED lights are you powering with that switch?
Actually, it is not about minimum load but minimum leak current that flow through load (bulb or whatever) in off condition. The LED has very load leak current, thus could not provide enough power to the switch circuitry. Therefore, the switch is provided with capacitor normally about 0.1uF to be connected parallel to the load (LED bulb in this case). The capacitor will leak the AC current to the switch to ensure the switch works as it should.

So, if you have flickering problem, you need to install the capacitor. Otherwise, there is no need to. smile.gif
Zot
post Dec 13 2018, 10:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Dec 13 2018, 08:56 PM)
Already tried at Element 14 and RS. But I haven’t look for the connector. I prefer the connector.
I bought the male side before at Ace. Will go again this weekend see if they got the female
This type of DIY type can be found is electronic/electrical part shop like Jalan Pasar. Maybe can go to shop that repair TV, They do sell this kind of thing too
Zot
post Dec 25 2018, 05:41 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 25 2018, 05:33 PM)
not really what i am looking for.........but the term inching is helpful.
I think it is what you looking for. Don't get confused with inching term used. It is actually like momentary push button switch if not mistaken. I believe this is what you need. It will perform like door bell or gate switch
Zot
post Jan 10 2019, 10:59 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(bovenchau @ Jan 10 2019, 10:53 AM)
Hi Sifues,

I would like to try for the sonoff t1 uk 3 gang 1 switch model. But, when i open the old switch, it do not have neutral wired. But beside it, it do have aircon on\off switch.

Question : Can myself pull the neutral wired from that aircon on\off switch ?

And use the connector to split for that neutral wire , can ?

Depends on house wiring. You can just try. If it works, it works. Otherwise, it will trip the MCB. Then probably you have 3 phase with 3 separate RCD breaker. Then you need to find the N from the same phase.
Zot
post Jan 11 2019, 03:29 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(lennylsl @ Jan 11 2019, 03:27 PM)
Hey guys,

i'm looking to get samsung's smartthings hub v3. I can't seem to decide whether US or UK version is better (because of Zwave). Can someone share some views?

Can the UK Zwave work with china's Zwave products?

Appreciate the help guys.... thanks a bunch
You can refer the frequency on Wiki

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Z-Wave

Another reference

https://products.z-wavealliance.org/regions/6/categories

This post has been edited by Zot: Jan 11 2019, 03:31 PM
Zot
post Jan 12 2019, 06:00 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(bovenchau @ Jan 11 2019, 11:15 PM)
Thanks boss. But my house single phase wor, so is it eventually all the neutral shared the same ? sorry, i am noob
Yes. Can tap N from any point smile.gif

46 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:00 AM