Smart Home, Let's discuss

Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 26 2022, 12:06 PM

๐Ÿ‘ 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Sep 26 2022, 11:39 AM)
sorry, dont understand.  unsure.gif
usually i see inside wall box the black type (or maybe other colour) , but not those hard box surface type inside wall..
developer uses the same white-colour plastic baseplate as the one you say is used on surface. the difference is only, it is now inside the wall itself.
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 26 2022, 04:28 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Sep 26 2022, 03:18 PM)
oh ic..
well doesn't that more expensive than the designated box for inside walls.. and also that base doesn't have the 'wings' to grasp inside wall cement..
anyway.. that's another story not related here.. haha  laugh.gif

bought sonoff Zigbee USB 3.0 Dongle Plus.. since wrongly bought the Zigbee smart plug.. now can use it.. might getting other zigbee stuff as well since already got the coordinator/hub  brows.gif
I like it better to be on Zigbee signal. Cleaner for the DHCP server after all.

But if zigbee hub goes down, wheeew, major problem to reregister. I read official documentation that the Tuya/Smart Life can migrate ALL devices off faulty hub to a new replacement hub, but have not tried and did not intend to, so cannot comment the survival rate of the procedure.
Oltromen Ripot
post Sep 29 2022, 10:17 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Sep 29 2022, 07:05 PM)
thanks i just bought this, not sure if it can be done pairing?

https://shopee.com.my/-Smart-Life-App-Tuya-...179.11677918451
why not multi-mode gateways that covers both bluetooth and zigbee? one device to rule 'em all.
i boight this pne, price difference additional ~RM10 direct from CN.
https://shopee.com.my/product/704516459/1661750877

i don't have bluetooth device to add, so no need to show empty list.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 6 2022, 04:54 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(brain_cyo @ Oct 5 2022, 02:38 PM)
hi folks,
need help with aircond smart switch

plan to use aqara for my home
for aircond , may i use the 1gang with neutral smart switch?
For Aqara?

I'm not sure if this 30A is compatible. I bought this (for Wifi, not Zigbee) and install right before water heater in 2 bathrooms. The wall switch remain as-is "low-tech" for now. (hint: sold out, go aliexpress for EXACT same model that I bought)

https://shopee.com.my/product/94184605/1308...57-1665045100.9.

if you want the wall switch version, unfortunately, there is no 30A one. only 16A or 20A. a lot of seller selling wall switch for water heater and aircond, you won't have problem finding one -
BUT, read the label on the picture, read description. those 16A fortunately all somehow standardised to 3600W. BUT some 20A rated for 4000W, some 20A rated for 4400W. description says 16A, title and picture show 20A; same goes for wattage. it's like a con-py-&-paste job for everyone.

Malaysia plug for 15A is round 3-pin. I have not found 1 seller that sells 16A or 20A wall socket for round 3-pin. So far only managed to find 1 seller that sells 16A socket with usual 3-pin.

WiFi Tuya Smart Wall Socket Glass Panel Outlet Power Monitor Touch Plug Relay Status Light Mode Adjustable Smart Life
https://shopee.com.my/product/372243380/136...57-1665046346.9

3-pin socket and extension picture here is for size comparison of the 30A wifi smart switch.

Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 6 2022, 05:09 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Oct 6 2022, 05:05 PM)
Is there anything I need to take note of before purchase smart gadgets and before renovate my house?

Is Tuya good choice for android user?
I'm not commenting on "good" part.

I previously asked in here what was difference between "Tuya" app and "Smart Life" app. Answer was along the line "they are the same."

Well, they are not.

"Tuya" is for use inside Mainland China.
"Smart Life" is for use outside Mainland China.

Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 8 2022, 03:23 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Oct 8 2022, 12:48 PM)
but there is alot ppl recommend me Tuya than other brand like Xiaomi n others. other reason is Tuya cost is much lower than other brand rite?
Tuya - hardware.

The app part, they issued 1 version using 2 different names - "Tuya" (for use in Mainland) and "SmartLife" (for global).

I'm OCD about history of downloaded apps - because once I download, there will be historical record of it and I am very concerned freak about downloading apps that I cannot use nor have use, so I am very particular on downloading the right app on first try. It's not about illicit app, but rather, keeping a list of the exact apps I use, no more. The last thing I like to see is a messed 1000-apps downloaded. So when I download "Tuya" app and after chatting with support only know that "Tuya" not usable outside Mainland, that I should have used "SmartLife", I really feel flip table want to slap people.

(hide โ‰  delete. whoever it was that decided one cannot delete app download history in App Store and Play Store - f*** you.)
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 8 2022, 10:26 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(SIEWBAO @ Oct 8 2022, 12:42 PM)
TQ for the advice!
By the way, I thought neutral wire is a must on wall socket? Live, Earth, Neutral? Is there wall socket without neutral wire?
Smart glass in nice but i think its expensive rite? lol
For 3-pin sockets, yes, all 3 wires.

But for light and fan switches, there is only (L)ive fed into switches, then another wire for it to go above ceiling to appliance.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 9 2022, 10:19 AM

4,034 posts

Is there a way to infer that a power outage has occured without using smart whatever at the fusebox?

i.e. just by condition of smart wall switches and sockets.
because if there is sudden outage, i assume the switches will have no time to report itself. then it's up to the management server to report of it being offline 30minutes later.

fibre and mesh is UPS-backed, so network uptime to an 1hr is possible, though not tested to max.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 9 2022, 10:20 AM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 9 2022, 12:14 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Oct 9 2022, 10:58 AM)
1. becomes part of the wall fixture, screw it. power comes from wires inside wall.

2. standalone unit; you can double-side tape onto wall or any surface otherwise you can't screw into, or leave on coffee table, ... i imagine it will need battery.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 9 2022, 12:14 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 12 2022, 01:57 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 12 2022, 01:48 PM)
How do you reset the Maxis router from MyMaxis App? Sorry bro, just learnt about this now. I didnt know you could do that in the app. can share?
i cannot show you exactly, for obvious reason ๐Ÿ˜…

AND, recently I disabled TR-069 inside the router, so Maxis (and MyMaxis app) can no longer access the router from remote. The "Manage Home Wifi" is not useful to me any longer.

As replacement, I had the BTU and router on a smart socket gang, the smart socket is on the other hand connected to wireless Huawei B618 on Digi network, to make sure I can still control on/off of the fibre set. And this is better, because TR-069 still at the mercy of LOS and fibre downtime.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 12 2022, 02:04 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 12 2022, 03:33 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 12 2022, 02:04 PM)
Thats good that you have an LTE connected router, that you can reboot the Maxis one. I cant.. cos if i turn off the smart switch which is connected to a router, theres no way to turn it back on. However, iโ€™ve read on reddit that there are some smart plugs that can turn on after being turned off.

I think it can also be done on HA, but iโ€™m on homebridge and Homekit.. HA is abit too complicated for me.
I would love to have a socket that can return to "on" after a timer, then I don't need to run a separate LTE router just for a smart socket.

Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 12 2022, 03:40 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 12 2022, 02:04 PM)
Oh thats weird. My Maxis Wifi6 router is configured stock, never touched it since they installed it. But when i clicked on manage home wifi it just says โ€œWe are not able to test your Wifi at the moment, Click contact us for assistance (mma).โ€ Im guessing remote access is not available to me ?

Button also available through your fibre line.

I had that "contact for assistance" when (i) router not reachable (not powered, LOS, etc), and (ii) after I disable TR-069.

Additionally, it could be (iii) TR-069 in Maxis's record mismatches what is actually inside your router. I did try to flip it on again after testing when it is disabled, and MyMaxis app can regain access the router again.
My router and mesh is Huawei LG8245X6-10.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 12 2022, 03:41 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 12 2022, 04:05 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Oct 12 2022, 03:58 PM)
Most smart socket have that ON after power cut.
Its in Power On State option : ON , OFF , Last State.
Ah, the "relay" state.

But no, this is not about power cut.

This is about resetting internet modem/router by powering off, then on again.

If the smart socket itself is connected through the internet router that you are about to switch off....
If the socket has built-in timer to switch on again after lapse, then good lah. But the ones i've seen so far does not. So after switch off, then "owh! duh! shit!".

That's why I added the smart socket for my fibre-related through LTE connection,
while the smart socket for my LTE-related is added through fibre connection. They are independent of each other, as long as i didn't do the stupid thing of resetting them all at once.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 12 2022, 04:06 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 14 2022, 03:16 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 14 2022, 02:20 PM)
Thanks for the reply bro. I managed to call Maxis, they will give me a troubleshooting when i am home tonight. If they cant fix it they will send a technician to check the router settings.

By the way, I have a Maxis Huawei Wifi 6 router, the model is OptiXstar LG8245X6-10. Is there a way to remotely reboot this router? I checked in the configurations but doesnt seem to be a simple reboot/restart option. There is a restart option under maintenance, but doesnt seem like its that straightforward, cos it seems to be a scheduled restart setting. Anyone know how?
Lets take this to Maxis FTTH thread

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=105449874
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 26 2022, 01:14 PM

4,034 posts

@anyone,

with reference picture.

i have a lot of these switch pairs inside my home.
which i have already ascertained that each multi-gang switches and each 20A switches are connected to different circuit breakers. so in the reference picture alone, there are 2 breakers involved.
all the multi-gang switches does not have their own neutral. only 20A switches do.
(all 20A switches have their own not-shared exclusive breaker, for avoidance of doubt.)

question:
is it possible for me to buy multi-gang tuya wifi SMART switches WITH its neutral line connected to the 20A's neutral line instead?

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Oct 26 2022, 01:16 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 26 2022, 08:41 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Oct 26 2022, 07:37 PM)
Oh wait, different breakers, not sure about this time
๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ๐Ÿ‘

QUOTE(shykull @ Oct 26 2022, 07:58 PM)
Yes. All neutral lines are common at the main breaker box. However, some contractors may not follow standards and loop the neutral lines.

i suspect the same. but without visual confirmation it is so, then i guess i just have to test it out (and hope not a random breaker gets tripped).

Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 27 2022, 01:34 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(shykull @ Oct 26 2022, 09:50 PM)
will not trip. unless got short to earth then will trip.

Also be careful, if the neutral wire was looped then even if you turn off the breaker, the active load from another breaker can shock you
for my own safety precaution and to calm anxiety, what is "loop" in the current context?
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 27 2022, 01:58 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 27 2022, 01:52 PM)
I think, you can consider to install the non-neutral multigang switches that use the zigbee 3.0 protocol, and they are cheaper when you go with brands under the TUYA OEM umbrella. They can be wired up without neutral, do not require capacitor (so far no issue with mine) and just required a zigbee hub to pair to.
i am still looking for 4-gang zigbee wall switches.
1/2/3 are common. 4 are mostly wifi.
if possible i want a rocker-type switch which will be intuitive enough, but most on the market for 4-gang are wifi +glass touch.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 27 2022, 03:55 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 27 2022, 02:01 PM)
Exactly, i dont want the touch switches and i dont want anything thats not zigbee. There arent any zigbee 4 gangs out there yet. If i understand, you want the rocker style switches that are toggles right? It doesnt rock up and down like a conventional switch.

Yeah, still looking, waiting for TUYA or Aqara to make some of those.
just the ones that appear like the usual press top to switch off, press bottom to switch on.
but all so far only maxed at 3 gangs.

when i replaced 16A 3-pin socket with a touch glass smart one, my wife already like "eh, how to switch on?", so you can imagine the confusion if i replace light sockets with flat top glass touch ones. i am also guessing that the backlight to denote off/on state is not really visible under normal room lighting.
Oltromen Ripot
post Oct 27 2022, 06:54 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(epicure @ Oct 27 2022, 04:26 PM)
Yup, i know your pain. Home ministerโ€™s approval must be sought.

So far, i find aqara and moes switches are alright. Aqara better in quality, less hollow when you depress it.
i don't like being locked into the mi environment.
plus i'm OCD against the elements of excessive "chinese"-ness, and aqara/mi packaging/products/documentation/app is considered excessive to my eternal disliking.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.3473sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:19 PM