QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 12:38 PM)
Grow up, little bro. I don't say nothing bout Xiaomi, Smartthings or other smart application except for the facts.
Smart Home, Let's discuss
Sep 21 2018, 12:50 PM
1,187 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Nowhere |
Sep 21 2018, 12:56 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Sep 21 2018, 01:02 PM
Sep 21 2018, 04:10 PM
611 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Kota Damansara > Technology Park |
Sep 21 2018, 04:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
357 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Sep 21 2018, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 21 2018, 12:19 PM) Hopefully more cheaper 2nd Gen Echo Dot to be have. Huhu need to ask my kid to learn thisWhat caught my eye is the Echo Plus which can work in local mode when there is no internet. Did a car binary sensor which can detect by Home Assistant. Super easy. Don't have a autogate but I make it to trigger some lights when on and shut some lights when off. You can use your rain sensor to close the 'bird house' garage following the YT below |
Sep 21 2018, 04:19 PM
Sep 21 2018, 04:22 PM
Sep 21 2018, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(cipan2001 @ Sep 21 2018, 04:22 PM) All items from Shopee. Which selleer, can share the link?So far didn't have idea, as this my first time.. Still blur2 How actually you guys hide this thing ? Hmm where to hide, may be other sifu can tell you since they hve many experience. For me, i will hide the sonoff basic in the ceiling to to control the downlight. |
Sep 21 2018, 05:03 PM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM) WTS Echo Dot (2nd Gen) Holy crap, already 2nd gen & bunch of other alexa deviceslol....just kidding. I dun need better speaker, I want better microphones. 7 far field mics but still cant hear me....π€¦π»ββοΈ Even the Echo Show got a new edition. No wonder the discount given lately Im more interested in this - now those fellas who got autogate can do this - That microwave though π€ |
Sep 21 2018, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(cipan2001 @ Sep 21 2018, 04:10 PM) Interested in Home Automation.. All the items received today. Any advise from Sifu here for the precaution or tip before playing with the items QUOTE(cipan2001 @ Sep 21 2018, 04:22 PM) All items from Shopee. Hey, if you don't have an idea you canSo far didn't have idea, as this my first time.. Still blur2 How actually you guys hide this thing ? a) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « or b) Putting the cart before the horse You're thinking of getting into home automation, so you've gone and bought a bunch of smart devices. Now you're looking for help in doing something with it all. Sound familiar? How many posts in forums, reddit, chat rooms, etc does this sound like? Home automation is a hot topic, there's adverts on TV and in magazines. You can pick up smart devices at DIY and hobby stores. It's no longer an online only thing, it's everywhere. Sadly that means that non-technical people are exposed to it, and the adverts that imply if you just buy their product, it'll be easy. These people dive in to automation, without thinking about why or how or even what they're going to automate. They've got their cart, or at least a bunch of things that look like they should make a cart, are are now wondering what to do next. The Seven Ps Whether the original British Army version, or one of the more polite alternatives, it's relevant here. Do some research, think a bit about what you want to achieve first. If that pretty voice control hub doesn't help you achieve your goal, maybe skip it for now. Not sure where to begin? There's a number of ways of approaching that, you could look at the things that would help you (knowing if your train or bus is on time for your commute), the things that annoy you (having to turn off the extractor fan in the bathroom), or just the things you do too often (turning on and off the lights). Once you've got that list, you can start your research to see what's needed to make it happen. Some things will require various pieces of hardware, some may require little more than a Raspberry Pi and a working Internet connection. Some may even be simpler done with dumb commodity hardware than automation. Original Sos This post has been edited by Fubar20: Sep 21 2018, 07:44 PM |
Sep 21 2018, 10:04 PM
4,816 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi all! I'm currently working on my new home renovation project and I had decided few months back that I'll go with Xiaomi's ecosystem. Most of it are pretty straightforward (smart lights, gateway, sensors connected to gateway etc.) but I'm very confused with this two switches, hopefully they someone can shred some lights for me
https://www.aqara.com/en/wireless_mini_swit...v20180919142632 https://www.aqara.com/en/86plug.html?v20180919142632 Am not sure if I understood the items correctly, but both can connect to Mi Home via Gateway, And with that, does it mean that both switches can be programmed directly in Mi Home to set up rules such as - single press / double press / long press - to turn on / off any smart devices connected in Mi Home - to play sound or doorbell in gateway - to enable security alarm mode - etc. |
Sep 21 2018, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 21 2018, 10:04 PM) Hi all! I'm currently working on my new home renovation project and I had decided few months back that I'll go with Xiaomi's ecosystem. Most of it are pretty straightforward (smart lights, gateway, sensors connected to gateway etc.) but I'm very confused with this two switches, hopefully they someone can shred some lights for me Mostly yes to your questions https://www.aqara.com/en/wireless_mini_swit...v20180919142632 https://www.aqara.com/en/86plug.html?v20180919142632 Am not sure if I understood the items correctly, but both can connect to Mi Home via Gateway, And with that, does it mean that both switches can be programmed directly in Mi Home to set up rules such as - single press / double press / long press - to turn on / off any smart devices connected in Mi Home - to play sound or doorbell in gateway - to enable security alarm mode - etc. Btw there is a new mini switch that can do more now besides single press/long/double |
Sep 21 2018, 10:19 PM
4,816 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 10:13 PM) Mostly yes to your questions Thanks for your reply. Are you using both this switches? I was puzzled by the aqara support (taobao) and they kept saying the 2nd link can't program stuff... Btw there is a new mini switch that can do more now besides single press/long/double Which model is that new mini switch? Was it the one in my first link? |
Sep 21 2018, 10:29 PM
Sep 21 2018, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Sep 21 2018, 10:19 PM) Thanks for your reply. Are you using both this switches? I was puzzled by the aqara support (taobao) and they kept saying the 2nd link can't program stuff... The first one in your link is WXKG11LM - only two functions single click and double clickWhich model is that new mini switch? Was it the one in my first link? The new one is WXKG12LM They both look the same but new has two extra function - long press and shake The second wireless wall switch - I just noticed the site says it can react to single press, double press long press etc but mine canβt do that. Tomorrow I will have to look into this. I think these new functions only available if you use Aqara app or Aqara gateway This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 21 2018, 10:56 PM |
Sep 22 2018, 12:07 AM
No worries.. already slowly start my journey.
Got question with Wall Swich, not sure is something wrong the items or my home wiring. My room light always flicker.. continuesly on off even without switching ON. Any idea sifu ? |
Sep 22 2018, 12:17 AM
626 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Sep 22 2018, 12:21 AM
626 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(cipan2001 @ Sep 22 2018, 12:07 AM) No worries.. already slowly start my journey. The wall switch without neutral line, the light connected to the switch circuit require at least 3w and above if not mistake. I once experience my led strip flicker when connect with TC2, but now all my wall switch changed to aqaraGot question with Wall Swich, not sure is something wrong the items or my home wiring. My room light always flicker.. continuesly on off even without switching ON. Any idea sifu ? |
Sep 22 2018, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 22 2018, 12:21 AM) The wall switch without neutral line, the light connected to the switch circuit require at least 3w and above if not mistake. I once experience my led strip flicker when connect with TC2, but now all my wall switch changed to aqara Yes.. I am using LED light for my bedroom.So, the solutions are either change to Aqara or use non LED light ? |
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:07 AM |