Smart Home, Let's discuss

Fubar20
post Sep 20 2018, 09:21 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 20 2018, 09:18 AM)
i know....i was thinking why he didnt use the water leak sensor instead but he chose the door sensor
anyway the magnet is not use. he connect the wires directly to the reed switch.
water is enough to close the circuit...
And you ask kedembai to use this while discourage him on using Sonoffs. Nice move. whistling.gif:
idoblu
post Sep 20 2018, 09:33 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 09:21 AM)
And you ask kedembai to use this while discourage him on using Sonoffs. Nice move. whistling.gif:
this one wont kill him ma sweat.gif
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 09:34 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 09:21 AM)
Hahaaha this one more DIY, no prob im still will use sonoff, item on the way, it will be mix sonoff and xiaomi
Fubar20
post Sep 20 2018, 09:43 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 20 2018, 09:33 AM)
this one wont kill him ma  sweat.gif
Sonoff also won't kill him. Unless he installing it when on AC. laugh.gif

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 09:34 AM)
Hahaaha this one more DIY, no prob im still will use sonoff, item on the way, it will be mix sonoff and xiaomi
thumbup.gif
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 09:53 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 09:43 AM)
thumbup.gif
Will take extra pre caution but if i install light switch, no need to off pcb right?
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 09:54 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 09:05 AM)
Like isaid, just use it when necessary, kind of buzzer when you order something and need to wait
This idea ok or not
idoblu
post Sep 20 2018, 10:00 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 09:43 AM)
thumbup.gif
Spliced live wires are always dangerous. You spill water on it how? The wire’s insulation come off how? Poke metal pins inside how? A lot can happen over the years, you never know.
idoblu
post Sep 20 2018, 10:02 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 09:54 AM)
This idea ok orΒ  not
Should be ok but need to try. Who knows other unforeseen problems might surface
Plus i think your clothes wet before it sounds the alarm

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 20 2018, 01:05 PM
Fubar20
post Sep 20 2018, 10:09 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 09:53 AM)
Will take extra pre caution but if i install light switch, no need to off pcb right?
bye.gif to burnt kedembai. It was nice knowing u.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 20 2018, 10:00 AM)
Spliced live wires are always dangerous. You spill water on it how? The wire’s insulation come off how? Poke metal pins inside how? A lot can happen over the years, you never know.
Who asked to install near water? Wire can tie and clip. Put inside water proof box if you are so paranoid.
Zot
post Sep 20 2018, 10:20 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 08:13 AM)
Thank, can be consider and practical but need to have 1 more app
Why not just use this

https://www.itead.cc/smart-socket.html

then plug the extension into the socket. So, you just need to control one for all 4 sockets, unless you want individual
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 11:01 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 20 2018, 10:20 AM)
Why not just use this

https://www.itead.cc/smart-socket.html

then plug the extension into the socket. So, you just need to control one for all 4 sockets, unless you want individual
I want to control invidual, already order 1, to try

This post has been edited by kelembai: Sep 20 2018, 11:02 AM
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 11:05 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 10:09 AM)
bye.gif to burnt kedembai. It was nice knowing u.
Who asked to install near water? Wire can tie and clip. Put inside water proof box if you are so paranoid.
If i woukd like to replace the light switch to smart switch , what the orecaution should i take when playing with the live wire
Fubar20
post Sep 20 2018, 11:18 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 11:05 AM)
If i woukd like to replace the light switch to smart switch , what the orecaution should i take when playing with the live wire
First rule of the Fight Club Sonoff is YOU DO NOT PLAY WITH LIVE WIRE. bruce.gif
Switch off your RCCB or MCB (circuit breaker at the switchbox) before proceeding.
Test with multimeter or test pen on the wires to make sure there is no current.
Disclaimer: I ain't responsible for this advice if you followed it. Get an certified electrician view on this.
kelembai
post Sep 20 2018, 12:16 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Sep 20 2018, 11:18 AM)
First rule of the Fight Club Sonoff is YOU DO NOT PLAY WITH LIVE WIRE.Β  bruce.gif
Switch off your RCCB or MCB (circuit breaker at the switchbox) before proceeding.
Test with multimeter or test pen on the wires to make sure there is no current.
Disclaimer: I ain't responsible for this advice if you followed it. Get an certified electrician view on this.
Ok understood, need to make sure turn off the mcb And test the live using test pen

It not only sonoff right, aqara switch also need ro do that right

This post has been edited by kelembai: Sep 20 2018, 12:18 PM
Fubar20
post Sep 20 2018, 01:24 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 12:16 PM)
Ok understood, need to make sure turn off the mcb And test the live using test pen

It not only sonoff right, aqara switch also need ro do that right
Yup, same principle.
Fubar20
post Sep 21 2018, 08:51 AM

1,187 posts

New Amazon Devices

idoblu
post Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

WTS Echo Dot (2nd Gen)

lol....just kidding.
I dun need better speaker, I want better microphones. 7 far field mics but still cant hear me....πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ

Even the Echo Show got a new edition. No wonder the discount given lately

Im more interested in this -

now those fellas who got autogate can do this -

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 21 2018, 09:39 AM
kelembai
post Sep 21 2018, 10:49 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM)
WTS Echo Dot (2nd Gen)

lol....just kidding.
I dun need better speaker, I want better microphones. 7 far field mics but still cant hear me....πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ

Let them test first, by the way , do you alway utlize alexa for your automations
Fubar20
post Sep 21 2018, 12:19 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 21 2018, 09:09 AM)
WTS Echo Dot (2nd Gen)

lol....just kidding.

Hopefully more cheaper 2nd Gen Echo Dot to be have.
What caught my eye is the Echo Plus which can work in local mode when there is no internet.

Did a car binary sensor which can detect by Home Assistant. Super easy.
Don't have a autogate but I make it to trigger some lights when on and shut some lights when off.

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 21 2018, 10:49 AM)
Let them test first, by the way  , do you alway utlize alexa for your automations
You can use your rain sensor to close the 'bird house' garage following the YT below brows.gif

idoblu
post Sep 21 2018, 12:38 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

oh no! Greek videos again πŸ˜†

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 21 2018, 04:41 PM

656 Pages « < 197 198 199 200 201 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:56 PM