QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 2 2018, 09:57 PM)
Smart Home, Let's discuss
Oct 2 2018, 10:41 PM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Oct 3 2018, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(y4ng @ Oct 3 2018, 10:27 AM) Dear all sifus, Any reason for using tank water heater? I would suggest instant one, one for each bathroom. Tank will used up more power and excess heated water will cool down wasted between period. Furthermore, if the unit is down, none of the bathroom will get hot water i have been a silent reader for this forum, learning a lot here. Just want to get opinion for a refurbished single storey house (new wiring, external conduit), industrial style. So far only wet works done, sewage done. Now pending grilles, external copper piping (DIY) and electric wiring. 1. Lighting - Planning to use stupid switch, with smart bulbs. Total 10 bulbs hall, 2 bulb per room (total 6), 2 per toilet (total 4), backyard 2, front 2. Total 26. logical? cos wanna have the yellow light / white light changing features. If opt for switches, erm...I need about 8-10 units. Which is better for new home? 2. Xiaomi Aqara Air Conditioning Companion, only 1HP A/C and below? Saw someone said 16A can be bought from China (https://item.jd.com/10781985686.html). Worth it to have this? Total 4 A/C, 3 rooms, 1 Hall. And a Air Curtain. 3. Smart sockets. I am planning to use a tank water heater, roughly 30-45L, so wanna do some schedule for it to on and off. OK ar? 4. Getting Xiaomi's AI thinge, to learn mandarin and have some companionship lol. Anyone using this? fun ar? 6. So many devices, my router...I haven't research. Need to get a proper one? |
Oct 3 2018, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 3 2018, 11:18 AM) Who says will cool down? Yes will cool down but can tahan few days. Don’t tell me you don’t shower and turn on the heater everyday. It cools down a bit even from morning to evening. My body has sensitive temp sensor So, normally I just turn it on when showering. It still can heat up quite fast in a minute or two, but if you leave it on 24 hrs just like hot water pot, the bill significantly rises up, means heat retention is not that good. I'm the only one using the heater. So, I can feel how significant. Yes, I don't use it daily but I shower everyday |
Oct 3 2018, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 3 2018, 11:33 AM) No lah. It is like that since beginning I installed it. Joven brand. Of course has to mix cold and hot or you scald your skin.After about 9~10 years, the heater got shorted. When ask for heater replacement, they said no one replace heater but change new tank The tank is on ceiling. Nothing can damage it. So, I bought the heater. Just around RM100 but not easy to DIY because no proper tool. Pay one plumbing uncle. He even make his own tool for convenience. I just help him whenever necessary. Now it is good for another 10 years This post has been edited by Zot: Oct 3 2018, 11:47 AM |
Oct 3 2018, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 3 2018, 02:20 PM) Never use those stock provided router before. Get an affordable router to your budget. First step is to order what you want No need step by step guide lah. Just get the wifi bulb you can afford for dimming purpose. Don't think you will install a wifi controllable dimmer switch. Door sensor is just a reed switch paired with a magnet. Get those Xiaomi, China brand, that will trigger your phone when in open or close state. Is router that significant? I think these devices will not jammed the network since packets sent are very small and occasional only. |
Oct 3 2018, 03:16 PM
Oct 3 2018, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 3 2018, 04:35 PM) Hahaha, my wife dont like the room so dark, so im looking something that can give a room leas dark. Now she open the toilet door in order to get light from toilet. Gone my automation already. In order to bring back my automation, need to find alternative for the night lamp You can buy LED night light that plug into wall socket. This is common. Just buy the smart socket to work with itThe one that you propose look good but i already have the downlight, do not want to replace the down light |
Oct 4 2018, 08:03 AM
Oct 4 2018, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 4 2018, 08:25 AM) I placed my AC Companion on my TV bench since its opposite side of my Aircon I think my Panasonic also, even with original remote control, need to aim direct to the unit If it is lying flat, the IR remote wont work cause the aircon is high up and my AC Companion is on a low TV console. It's led emitters are placed at the sides (see pic - black part) which doesnt help. So I got to tilt the AC Companion a bit, then only my AC can get the signal Mine is a Panasonic aircon. I tried with its remote and you really got to point it at the aircon. Cant get any reflected signals I'm not sure what is the exclusive reason for the use of air-con companion. On-Off at specific time - can be set on remote Monitoring power usage - well, monitor or not, you on the air-con when you need it |
Oct 4 2018, 10:22 AM
Oct 5 2018, 11:50 AM
Oct 8 2018, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(zero721 @ Oct 7 2018, 11:49 PM) Anyone bought aqara switch at malaysia here? Previously bought from taobao. Tested and it's nice so wanna buy more. Wondering any store or online store at malaysia selling? You air-con is not using any 3-pin plug? Maybe can use something like thisAnd anyone know if we need to buy the one with neutral line or not? Mine previously is no neutral line. But heard that if those 20A switch like aircond switch need to use aqara switch which got neutral line. Is it true? https://www.lelong.com.my/tp-link-wifi-ener...7-01-Sale-I.htm |
Oct 16 2018, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Oct 15 2018, 10:05 PM) guys this switch is for my water heater. it uses 10 AMP and want to know which sonoff switch is suitable since this only have 2 live wires and 1 neutral? Looks like this power point is just an add-on installation by someone probably self educated technician. He is using the switch with pilot light, which I believe a 20A switch but tap to share power from another line. Normally, house developer will spare a dedicated line for the heater and isolate both L and N wires. This person tap L and N from other lines.[attachmentid=10070364] Do you know where the neutral comes from? Was that a 3-pin socket next tot he switch? If your heater spec is 3kW (normally for instant water heater), then a 10A switch will not be adequate. |
Oct 16 2018, 09:35 AM
Oct 16 2018, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2018, 09:38 AM) You see the connector, space and the pcb copper strip is already quite risky to run on high amp. Probably they use general 1oz copper Sonoff need to reinforce more on the design to convince the people it can run on high amp. Trace can be as thin as 5mm if they use 2oz copper to handle 20A |
Oct 16 2018, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 10:57 AM) I came across feedback in other forums (not Malaysia). It was quite some times, I forgot where already Well, the rating of current on wire, switch, etc. are measured at 25C normally. At higher ambient temperature like us, the rating is not really valid. Many article suggest rating at about 75% of the rating on switch. So, for 16A, it would be 0.75 x 16 = 12A. Note that some newer switch has two rating on switch like 20A/16AX. the 16AX means the switch only rated 16A of reactive load such as device with motor like air-cond, fan, etc. |
Oct 16 2018, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Fubar20 @ Oct 16 2018, 11:18 AM) Fan also same as air con? In what way? The 75% is a general guide given by many articles. If you want to stretch the limit, it is okay but just aware that you are running appliance at higher risk of fire. Well, it does not mean at 75% your are totally safe either |
Oct 16 2018, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(h11g @ Oct 16 2018, 11:32 AM) im running on solar heater, this switch is to turn on and off the heating for solar i think. Since this switch is running for short period and the load is also on/off, I guess not much risk even if you use Sonoff POW. normally we only use the heater between 6pm-12pm, so just thought of automating this instead of having to turn on and off everyday. i am currently on solar heater, this switch is to turn on and off the heating. during hot days dont have to turn on this switch, but rainy days need to turn it on for hot shower. solar system auto on when shower? |
Oct 16 2018, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(kelembai @ Oct 16 2018, 12:20 PM) I guess anywhere you like.If the heater is on ceiling like tank heater, I would not want to put the switch on the ceiling either Well, hard to access and it is hot up there and degrade the performance of electronics and reduce power rating. Maybe fix it on the wall just under ceiling near the heater location. Easier to access if any troubleshooting needed. Maybe encase it in small plastic box if you like. I dunno. |
Oct 16 2018, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 16 2018, 12:45 PM) yup. I really don't trust what they claim to be able run on 16A. The article on its website sometimes mentioned max current 16A and sometimes 15A The relay is able to run on 16A. But what about the copper strip and connector? Can you push a 4mm wire into the connector ? Anyway, this was a test done on website: |
| Change to: | 0.3473sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:26 PM |