Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 08:57 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 14 2018, 08:45 AM)
Mostly I think for fun only.

I don't see any automation there.

More step to execute on the phone than by the remote.
I could not agree more. When you are younger, you want to do this and that. After all things are done, you never really play with it anymore as you imagined you would. At the end, you want something simpler.

For me, automation is when you require to do nothing. Most of automation require localized auto devices only. The only things that require remote access is your security camera and alarm, but then once you have remote access why not also have remote everything like electrical appliances, this and that, though you would probably unlikely to access them remotely. biggrin.gif

Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 11:34 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 14 2018, 11:26 AM)
but if have that GPS thing where it detects your car coming home then okay
i think somebody has that here, forgot who....think Kiding
The service is not cheap. Subaru comes free for a year service. Each year fee about RM450 but can only renew for 2 years min. So, around RM900 for 2 years.

You can set on apps, like send you alert if car is driven outside set perimeter (like you let your kid to drive nearby). Check battery, engine status and many other things.
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 12:16 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 14 2018, 12:03 PM)
For gate better use remote since it always put together with car key or house key, use phones take longer time.

If have both better, mean you know when the gates is open and you get the notification
You open the gate 1 km away to need notification? biggrin.gif
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 02:19 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Sep 14 2018, 01:29 PM)
Yes, It's me  tongue.gif

smartthings has geo fencing feature, so when I arrive at home, the autogate is already open, I don't even need to push a button  brows.gif

My security guard said my autogate remote is so powerful, he said the remote can open the gate far far away, I just smile to him  devil.gif
Mind to brief me on the operation?
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 02:39 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 14 2018, 02:32 PM)
In case someone broke your gate
I wasn't thinking about it. Anyway, if someone forced open the gate, it will not trigger the switch and the triggering is initiated by the remote. You probably need the sensor to physically sense the door even if opened slightly.

Simpler solution would be the area security sensor to trigger if someone at the gate.
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 03:32 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 14 2018, 03:19 PM)
How about the coverage, can it be connect via wifi if i put near to the gate
I don't have such system. Just remote gate only biggrin.gif

I think what will happen is that when you use your apps to open the gate, Sonoff or whatever switch you use will trigger to send out notification to indicate the door is open. If the door is manually opened, there is nothing triggered to send notification because it is not operated through smart switch, thus you will not know if someone is opening the gate. This is my assumption.

Well, if someone is breaching your house parameter, like jumping over the fence, having a sensor to detect gate open will not help. So, I would say the better solution is to have a sensor to detect human presence within your house parameter. This way it will serve the security purpose regardless whether your gate is opened or not. smile.gif
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 04:25 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kokwei @ Sep 14 2018, 04:19 PM)
In my case, it isn't really because it is for fun. Like a clear use case yesterday night, I left my gate open, and my auto gate remotes are in both of my cars. I live in a 3-storey house, and I do not have a remote to the gate where I sleep on the 3rd floor hence it triggered me if I could leverage on the RM Pro to control the gate since I have Alexa integration and Home Assistant web access already for it - instead of getting another remote and place it on the 3rd floor.

Looks like I need to go for the additional remote then, after reading all these comments here. Cheers.
I think what you need it auto closing if detected no activity around the gate. That is automation in case you forget biggrin.gif
Zot
post Sep 14 2018, 04:53 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kokwei @ Sep 14 2018, 04:43 PM)
I am quite cautious of this, as accidental closing can badly dent the car. Maybe really smart rules around this one, i.e. after 12am, etc.

But then I read the postings on having a sonoff attached to the autogate board, etc ... I chicken out already. I'm an IT guy, dare not go so deep on electronics smile.gif
A good autogate should not dent the car. However, scared too because it stopped when the gate is actually touch car body. You can put sensor across the gate to sense any obstruction. smile.gif
Zot
post Sep 20 2018, 08:49 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 20 2018, 08:19 AM)
i dunno how long it can tahan our hot Sun and whether the zigbee signal can reach your hub
i suggest you to use a long wire and connect the leak sensor to this. put the sensor inside the house and this sensor pad outdoors - https://www.gearbest.com/other-accessories/...tml?wid=1433363
That thing is just tinned copper I guess. When wet, the water sorted the +ve and -ve side and trigger.

The problem is:

It is raining. The sensor triggered and relay the signal through zigbee. Your gateway send notification to your phone but you are in office 20km away laugh.gif Yea.. yea ok. You closed window before go office smile.gif

Why not make the window auto closed since you are now in toilet doing big business biggrin.gif

My house when rain comes, the awning produce noise loud enough to trigger me to run and get my laundry outside laugh.gif
Zot
post Sep 20 2018, 09:06 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 20 2018, 08:53 AM)
go ask kelembai - its not me wanting this rain sensor  laugh.gif

talking about "windows auto close" - i was looking at one. Then I saw my downstairs neighbor pun pasang one....
I wonder how much it cost?  hmm.gif

This is China made I think.

http://www.olideautodoor.com/automatic-windows-opener/

Price not that steep

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Automatic-Electric...kYAAOSwPzhaCUyJ
Zot
post Sep 20 2018, 10:20 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 20 2018, 08:13 AM)
Thank, can be consider and practical but need to have 1 more app
Why not just use this

https://www.itead.cc/smart-socket.html

then plug the extension into the socket. So, you just need to control one for all 4 sockets, unless you want individual
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 08:18 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 22 2018, 11:19 PM)
Today make 1 more achievement, install sonoff t1 3 gang by myself by doing looping the neutral wire from A/C switch and link to google home.

The only thing that i want to ask is to go with google home or amazon echo for long term. Pls advice
This one you are lucky to have N wire nearby. Later you will find that there are many other places you have no N wire. Why don't you try other brand that require no N wire but still WiFi capable?

I never try one though smile.gif

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/2-...iceBeautifyAB=0
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 09:00 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 24 2018, 08:20 AM)
this one also requires Neutral  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 24 2018, 08:27 AM)
Hahaha is it?
Damn doh.gif I thought I finally found one with no N bangwall.gif

Maybe the wireless is up to zigbee, perhaps. I think there is solution on installing the switch that require N wire in place where you have no N hmm.gif
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 10:07 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 24 2018, 09:07 AM)
i think you will never find a wifi smart switch that dont require Neutral
Wifi needs lots of power to run, unlike Zigbee

i stand corrected - check this out - https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-Gang-2-Way-Wifi-...e-/152675777715
https://www.ebay.com/itm/EU-Standard-Dimmer...P0AAOSwtEBbcpzL
I think the title is not correct. It is wireless remotely controlled, but not WiFi. The spec talked about 433MHz. Misleading ads wink.gif
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 01:18 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(marcus_bread @ Sep 24 2018, 10:49 AM)
may i know ur A/C and the 3 gang switch are from same NCB power?
if diff NCB can i do the loop and get the sonoff touch to work?
NCB? You mean MCB?

Nowadays more and more house is using RCCB (RCD) instead of ELCB. If the house has 3-phase wiring, the N is separated. So, you have 3 separate N wire. You cannot use N from other phase to return because it will trip RCCB. There would be 3 phase RCCB.

If 1 phase system, no problem.
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 03:53 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 24 2018, 03:50 PM)
what a bunch of bull

OK you are the expert. Explain la since I only bull.
Zot
post Sep 24 2018, 07:58 PM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 24 2018, 10:29 AM)
What are the solution, use xiaomi ?
No. Adding capacitor to leak power from N side. Found this on Internet but never try though. Not sure where I save the document laugh.gif
Zot
post Sep 25 2018, 07:57 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 24 2018, 08:08 PM)
isnt the capacitor for fixing light flickering? and cap must be connected between L and N which means cap is connected at the light end not switch side
Yes. I'm aware on that capacitor to be used when low power LED light is used (like 5W or below).
Zot
post Sep 25 2018, 08:01 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 24 2018, 08:18 PM)
I found Senzo when was looking for momentary touch switch but it comes dual with normal switch. No standalone. Furthermore, Senzo is expensive for same function as cheap China one and not look that nice either laugh.gif

However, I did not check the WiFi side whether need N or not smile.gif
Zot
post Sep 25 2018, 09:37 AM

7,937 posts

QUOTE(kelembai @ Sep 24 2018, 09:59 PM)
sifu, now I would lik to know how to control ceiling fan, the switch I can control but how to control the speed, any advice and ways to do it.

now im using Panasonic. or do you how to make sure the speed is at 2 when I switch on the switch. now it alway go direct to level 3.
I have Panasonic fan too. It has remote to on/off and control speed, but if you off power at main switch or during power trip, the fan will spin at high speed when power is back. That was the reason I switch the main switch to touch button where it defaulted to OFF when power is back.

I believe the default speed it fix in the the fan control board. Never try to study that biggrin.gif

Maybe you can buy the wireless switch that can control the speed at the main switch.

46 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:04 PM