Smart Home, Let's discuss
Zot
Mar 17 2018, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Mar 17 2018, 03:10 PM) Flash custom firmware means will connect to different server? If different server, how the smartphone app going to talk to the Sonoff? http://randomnerdtutorials.com/reprogram-s...ith-web-server/
Zot
Mar 19 2018, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 18 2018, 11:46 PM) Nice especially the energy meter. Emailed them see how much .... http://meazon.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/....compressed.pdfI wonder why 25 days record log
Zot
Mar 19 2018, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2018, 10:37 AM) But lucky the sonoff and lifx don't need gateway. Only xiaomi. I think you better concentrate on just xiaomi. It have complete accessory and sensor right ? At least easy troubleshoot with 1 system. I really not into gateway that goes to manufacturer hub. In the beginning the manufacturer is luring customer with what seems to be free service. Once customer base gets bigger, it will become a burden to manufacturer, thus thinking of the way to generate money out of it. Later tern change from: "All private data if for internal use only" To: "All private data if for internal use and partners only"
Zot
Mar 19 2018, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 19 2018, 12:22 PM) gateway or no gateway, you still need their cloud. unless you run your own server lor.... either that or go back to using non-smart mechanical timers.....  Not really. You just need a fixed IP address to be able to access from outside. However, this is more on CCTV, not on lighting You can subscribe to service to provide fixed IP address or get one from TM (at higher cost)  . I feel it is less intrusive to privacy.
Zot
Mar 19 2018, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 19 2018, 02:43 PM) If you using dynamic ip, can use some free DDNS to track your ip. Cons is, every month you need to access the free DNS web. Otherwise will disable your tracking. Or pay for it. (very cheap) Using for many yrs till they no more given free service.  Normally like that. In the beginning freeware. After become famous and when many people depends on it, then comes pro version and feature people need most is removed from free version
Zot
Mar 20 2018, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 19 2018, 09:22 PM) Looks like i can add more than 32 devices to it. I still dont have a conclusive figure. I think it depends on what and how you are adding devices. I was at 33 and I wanted to add a switch to it, it gave me the message (see pic below) that I cant add anymore. So instead of adding switches, I added 2 motion sensors and it accepted it (total figure count now 35). After that I remove a few sensors and proceed to add the switch again. This time it accepted the switch. Then I start adding backing the sensors and it took it all.....lol. Anyway my count now is 34 devices in one hub.  Same like computer. You cannot trust what it says. They just need to give whatever error to make you believe even though the error given is not related
Zot
Mar 20 2018, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 20 2018, 09:00 AM) Overflow liau lar. Pass some to me. How can it accept if limit to 32 ? Either some put in non active mode ? Or hub already update ver to 64bit kua ? On second thought, maybe some has been disconnected and lost in gateway registry.
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 21 2018, 11:05 AM) "somebody stole my door bell" Obviously very dumb
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2018, 01:02 PM) I just looking for the main system without the sensor. The problem with the new system 1) all sensor run on wireless. Which require battery replacement. Troublesome la and pokai with battery. 2) All the sensor is running on wire from the system now. So I don't need any sensor replacement or wireless sensor. Means my house sensor ready. So i just change the main system unit, plug in sensor cable, plug in network cable or wifi to router, done. I don't thing the sensor will work proper on different main unit. Need to check compatibility. Easy just to change to same main unit or at least same brand
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2018, 02:19 PM) I don't mind if the sensor is wired. I mean maybe sensor operates on different signalling or voltage. Incompatible sensor may cause false alarm... something like that. I dunno much because I've never had any alarm system. Been thinking for years
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2018, 02:45 PM) Alarm is my priority in the "What to do list" for new house. Because of the conseal wire, so got to be done it before shift in. Last time where got wireless wan. Maybe I was not clear. I know that your system is wired, but how the does wired sensor work? Wires are connected to main control. The main control board provides voltage and current also, unless your sensor is just plain contact switch
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 21 2018, 03:05 PM) Aiyah those magnetic switch is nothing but just a switch. On off. Two wires. OK ... I see ... just those reed switches. I thought you also have IR and vib sensors
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2018, 02:55 PM) Cannot see.  Panasonic, Omron, fujitsu brand is good relay. Maybe the browser not support. Last time certain format cannot display also.
Zot
Mar 21 2018, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 21 2018, 03:12 PM) I know what you mean. I don’t mind to change the sensor if needed. As long as it can run on wired. Doesn’t cost that much. Those wired alarm system is getting rare I believe. Maybe not popular due to alarm system is installed by owner after the house is ready, but I do prefer wired one
Zot
Mar 22 2018, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(henryj8 @ Mar 21 2018, 11:56 PM) The gateway siren not loud enough to alert the neighbours. Just connect to an amp and a speaker
Zot
Mar 22 2018, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 22 2018, 07:54 AM) I still havent install my fire alarms - reason is sked of the loud noise....hehehe At first I thought can turn off any false alarms via the app but cannot do that so hesitating now.... It is just like car alarm which sound mostly similar car horn blast. From time to time when you heard the car horn, the first thing that comes to mind are: 1) It is false alarm (though it can be real) 2) It is not my car (maybe neighbor car because it sounds quite loud) Then you wait until it stops
Zot
Mar 22 2018, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 22 2018, 09:01 AM) Xiaomi should be reliable kua ? Not suka suka false alarm. It is Honeywell design. Smoke alarm is not that loud. But high pitch sound. The high pitch sound you think is loud. But since it not like siren that put outside, the sound will just contain in the home. probably only heard by your 1 or 2 beside neighbour. I see. That should be just fine. Another modification that you might want to add is like when one window alarm is triggered, a spotlight will shine on that particular window together with alarm sound. That will scare thief away even more
Zot
Mar 22 2018, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 22 2018, 09:39 AM) You think no educated theft can understand meh. You got to broadcast 4 language.  Immediately he will know that voice is from machine. Some more too polite. You need to record your own voice. The word "Hoi" is enough
Zot
Mar 23 2018, 10:07 AM
Anyway for those who has existing good solid wood door, how to change the door handle to new electronics one? Need to change door as well? No I have two leaf door
Zot
Mar 23 2018, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 23 2018, 10:10 AM) Walau, do you need till 3 deadbolt ? As a thief, I won't tackle the lock. Just crowbar the door. Yes. Many people emphasize on door... Dead bolt, Live bolt, Uncuttable padlock, etc. It is actually very easy to hollow steel grill with bolt cutter.  Roof is another easy entrance for those in landed property. My front door doesn't even have grill