Photography Is there customs duty when buying cameras on eBay?

TSdoctorpopcorn
post Apr 17 2015, 03:10 PM, updated 11y ago

169 posts

I just bought a camera on eBay and it got shipped from Japan. I got a letter from Pos Malaysia to either appoint them as customs agent or I can go to the customs office to collect my camera.

Has anyone had experience like this before? Will my camera be taxed? Any kind of info will be helpful before I go to the customs office tomorrow. I don't want to kena tipu by the customs officer.

Thanks!
tenux73
post Apr 17 2015, 03:15 PM

108 posts

Normally don't but not sure coz I never been charged anything. Maybe because:-
1. I only buy used item
2. Less than RM3000 (but heard anything above RM1000 sure kena)
LeonOni
post Apr 17 2015, 03:17 PM

201 posts

You can try call your place custom that detain your item.
yes, will kena.. last timer is 10% don't know now is 6% or not.. hmm.gif
Crazee187
post Apr 17 2015, 03:23 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(tenux73 @ Apr 17 2015, 03:15 PM)
Normally don't but not sure coz I never been charged anything. Maybe because:-
1. I only buy used item
2. Less than RM3000 (but heard anything above RM1000 sure kena)
I don't thing RM 1000, my brother say RM 500
last year my borther buy gunpla models and other stuff from japan total price more than RM 500 got tax..
kayFX
post Apr 17 2015, 06:12 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

This depend on luck mostly.. If the seller under declare the value usually can go through.. But in TS case got letter from poslaju so already got detain and waiting for the recipient pay for the tax.. Better appoint poslaju to be agent or else you have to go all the way to KLIA poslaju hub to pay the tax over there if I'm not mistaken.. In my case I never got taxed and my luck I bought RC parts from Japan slightly over 1k and not under value declare.. Reason because I think of the small packaging..
TSdoctorpopcorn
post Apr 17 2015, 09:20 PM

169 posts

Ok thanks all. I'm going to KLIA tomorrow because I can't wait until Monday. tongue.gif

Wish me luck!
syawalx
post Apr 17 2015, 09:29 PM

133 posts

Anything more than 500 sure kena. But i think for camera dont have tax
TSdoctorpopcorn
post Apr 17 2015, 10:02 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(syawalx @ Apr 17 2015, 09:29 PM)
Anything more than 500 sure kena. But i think for camera dont have tax
Customs website says camera tariff = nil. However my camera value is above RM1k so I don't know what will apply...
alpha001
post Apr 17 2015, 11:07 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Apr 17 2015, 11:02 PM)
Customs website says camera tariff = nil. However my camera value is above RM1k so I don't know what will apply...
would you mind to give the customs website, i'm going to buy some stuffs from germany.
TSdoctorpopcorn
post Apr 17 2015, 11:38 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Apr 17 2015, 11:07 PM)
would you mind to give the customs website, i'm going to buy some stuffs from germany.
http://tariff.customs.gov.my/

here ya go.
LegendLee
post Apr 18 2015, 06:17 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

There are no camera tariff.
However, I'm sure you'll need to pay the GST
TSdoctorpopcorn
post Apr 18 2015, 06:35 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Apr 18 2015, 06:17 PM)
There are no camera tariff.
However, I'm sure you'll need to pay the GST
Correct. Just went today. No duty fees. Just kena GST.

0.0179sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:49 PM