THE SCHNAUZER THREAD, all you need to know about schnauzers..

[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 10:24 AM

236 posts

THE SCHNAUZER THREAD

[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 10:39 AM

236 posts

The Miniature Schnauzer is a small, squarely-proportioned dog with a long head, bushy beard, mustache and eyebrows. The thick, prominent eyebrows and long mustache are often trimmed to accentuate the dog's square cut shape. The front legs are very straight. The tail is usually docked. The oval eyes are dark colored, and the v-shaped ears fold forward when left natural or are cropped to a point and stand erect. It has a long head, strong muzzle, a well-developed black nose and a scissors bite. Coat colors include salt & pepper, black, white or a harsh black & silver outer coat with a soft undercoat. The white Miniature Schnauzer is a bit controversial. It is not recognized by the AKC. Some claim the white Schnauzer is a form of albinism, while others beg to differ.

Temperament

Very perky and bright-eyed. Loving and intelligent. Energetic, affectionate, and obedient. Playful, happy and alert, they like children. The Miniature Schnauzer demands time and companionship from its owner. It can be feisty and fairly dog-aggressive - putting on a show of superiority without necessarily intending to fight. This can be fairly dangerous for the Miniature Schnauzer, who will challenge even large dogs, sometimes bringing more trouble on himself than he really wanted. Socialize this breed well with other dogs when it is still a puppy. If properly introduced, the Miniature Schnauzer will get along with another dog, but will not accept every dog that comes its way. Since the temperament of this breed can be quite variable, select a puppy from parents whose temperament you enjoy. They make good companions and family pets. Schnauzers tend to bark a lot, but it does not have a yappy bark and is not as annoying as one may think. Most of the time the dog's bark sounds like it is talking to you in a low carried-out voice. They make good guard dogs and mouse catchers. They are excellent watchdogs and are great to travel with. Some can be reserved with strangers, but most love everyone.

Height, Weight

Height: 12-14 inches (30-36cm.)
Weight: 10-15 pounds (5-7kg)

Health Problems
This is usually a healthy breed. Although some are prone to suffer from kidney stones, liver disease, skin disorders, von Willebrand's disease, diabetes, liver ailments and cysts. Also hereditary eye problems. Eyes of breeding stock should be checked for this. Do not overfeed the Schnauzer, for he tends to gain weight easily.

Living Conditions
The Miniature Schnauzer is a good dog for apartment life. It is fairly active indoors and will do okay without a yard.

Exercise
These energetic little dogs enjoy long, brisk, daily walks, and love play sessions off the leash.

Life Expectancy
About 15 years. It shows no signs of age until quite late in life.

Grooming
The wiry coat is reasonably easy to look after, but unless it is combed or brushed daily with a short wire brush, it will become matted. Clip out any knots. The animal should be clipped all over to an even length twice a year, in spring and fall, but this is a job best left to an expert. Trim around the eyes and ears with blunt-nosed scissors and clean the whiskers after meals. On pet dogs the coat is usually clipped short on the upper body and left somewhat longer on the under-parts, legs and head. Show dogs require trimming and hand stripping instead of clipping. This breed sheds little to no hair and is a good dog for allergy sufferers.

Origin
The Miniature Schnauzer is reportedly a result of crosses between the Standard Schnauzer, the Affenpinscher and perhaps the Poodle. He is originally a German breed, named after the German word for muzzle, "Schnauze." The Miniature Schnauzer excels at killing rats, but today it is mostly a popular and esteemed companion. Some of the Schnauzer's talents include: hunting, tracking, watchdogging, competitive obedience, and performing tricks.

Group

Terrier, AKC Terrier

This post has been edited by [E]velyn: Oct 18 2006, 10:55 AM
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 10:54 AM

236 posts

Head

Eyes - Small, dark brown and deep-set. They are oval in appearance and keen in expression. Faults - Eyes light and/or large and prominent in appearance. Ears - When cropped, the ears are identical in shape and length, with pointed tips. They are in balance with the head and not exaggerated in length. They are set high on the skull and carried perpendicularly at the inner edges, with as little bell as possible along the outer edges. When uncropped, the ears are small and V-shaped, folding close to the skull.

Head strong and rectangular, its width diminishing slightly from ears to eyes, and again to the tip of the nose. The forehead is unwrinkled. The topskull is flat and fairly long. The foreface is parallel to the topskull, with a slight stop, and it is at least as long as the topskull. The muzzle is strong in proportion to the skull; it ends in a moderately blunt manner, with thick whiskers which accentuate the rectangular shape of the head. Faults - Head coarse and cheeky. The teeth meet in a scissors bite. That is, the upper front teeth overlap the lower front teeth in such a manner that the inner surface of the upper incisors barely touches the outer surface of the lower incisors when the mouth is closed. Faults - Bite - Undershot or overshot jaw. Level bite.

Neck, Topline, Body
Neck - strong and well arched, blending into the shoulders, and with the skin fitting tightly at the throat. Body short and deep, with the brisket extending at least to the elbows. Ribs are well sprung and deep, extending well back to a short loin. The underbody does not present a tucked up appearance at the flank. The backline is straight; it declines slightly from the withers to the base of the tail. The withers form the highest point of the body. The overall length from chest to buttocks appears to equal the height at the withers. Faults - Chest too broad or shallow in brisket. Hollow or roach back.

Tail set high and carried erect. It is docked only long enough to be clearly visible over the backline of the body when the dog is in proper length of coat. Fault - Tail set too low.

Forequarters

Forelegs are straight and parallel when viewed from all sides. They have strong pasterns and good bone. They are separated by a fairly deep brisket which precludes a pinched front. The elbows are close, and the ribs spread gradually from the first rib so as to allow space for the elbows to move close to the body. Fault - Loose elbows.

The sloping shoulders are muscled, yet flat and clean. They are well laid back, so that from the side the tips of the shoulder blades are in a nearly vertical line above the elbow. The tips of the blades are placed closely together. They slope forward and downward at an angulation which permits the maximum forward extension of the forelegs without binding or effort. Both the shoulder blades and upper arms are long, permitting depth of chest at the brisket.

Feet short and round (cat feet) with thick, black pads. The toes are arched and compact.

Hindquarters

The hindquarters have strong-muscled, slanting thighs. They are well bent at the stifles. There is sufficient angulation so that, in stance, the hocks extend beyond the tail. The hindquarters never appear overbuilt or higher than the shoulders. The rear pasterns are short and, in stance, perpendicular to the ground and, when viewed from the rear, are parallel to each other. Faults - Sickle hocks, cow hocks, open hocks or bowed hindquarters.

Coat
Double, with hard, wiry, outer coat and close undercoat. The head, neck, ears, chest, tail, and body coat must be plucked. When in show condition, the body coat should be of sufficient length to determine texture. Close covering on neck, ears and skull. Furnishings are fairly thick but not silky. Faults - Coat too soft or too smooth and slick in appearance.

[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 11:01 AM

236 posts

PICTURES OF SCHNAUZERS

MORE SOON...

This post has been edited by [E]velyn: Oct 18 2006, 11:03 AM
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 11:10 AM

236 posts

MORE PICTURES..

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 11:11 AM

236 posts

My Schnauzers

Sydney

Peanut

This post has been edited by [E]velyn: Oct 18 2006, 11:44 AM
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 11:45 AM

236 posts

I'll try to find some for you..
but it wont be easy though.
schnauzers arent easy to get sweat.gif

This post has been edited by [E]velyn: Oct 18 2006, 11:46 AM
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 11:59 AM

236 posts

Found some..
cheap but not free lor..

http://free.com.my/showproduct.php?product=4157

http://free.com.my/showproduct.php?product=4156

http://free.com.my/showproduct.php?product=3906 (quite cheap, dont know if still available though..)
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 01:09 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(shinjo @ Oct 18 2006, 01:00 PM)
ic, thanks.. but not really able to afford paying them lum sum thou...... need to keep those cash more to feed them. but do you have it urself?? do you have any to give away or sale at cheap? I'm really lookin forward to have 1, and would really hope by the kind  consideration to let me pay by installment.
sorry.. dont have an extra.. would give one to you if i had one.. icon_idea.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 03:49 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(shinjo @ Oct 18 2006, 02:03 PM)
Thanks... and bless all schnauzer...  if got then let me know la.
Sure thumbup.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 09:39 PM

236 posts

Depends on the type of schnauzer you'll be having.
Miniature Schnauzer are suitable for condos.Miniature schnauzers are quite active. They can live in condo's but they need thier regular walks. If your looking for a playmate its best to have a schnauzer pup. The adults tend to get tired easily & sleep alot. Schnauzers do not bark frequently unless something is wrong...

[E]velyn
post Oct 18 2006, 10:03 PM

236 posts

More useful info

Trainability
Good with a consistent trainer who can keep it interesting

With Children

Very good

With Animals

Good with other pets

Climate

Tolerates cold fairly well

Indoor / Outdoor
Either; if indoors, needs plenty of exercise

Exercise Reqd

High; needs to play

Grooming Reqd
Daily brushing, occasional professional clipping, regular trimming on face. Beard needs to be kept clean after eating.
[E]velyn
post Oct 20 2006, 02:10 PM

236 posts

One thing about Schnauzers are that they are very intelligent. They somehow understand when you scold them. My MS pup now toilet trained rclxm9.gif. it does its "business" in the toilet! thumbup.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 20 2006, 05:53 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(kennyguy @ Oct 20 2006, 02:47 PM)
I'm still got problem on toilet train although she is 7 mths now. Most of the time she pee/poo in the cage only i let her out, so not much big problem. But she will still pee/poo outside and won't go automatically to the cage when doing her business.
I want to toilet train too, but my toilet is WET all the time. Can share your experience how to toilet train?
WET toilet cannot lor.. If you were the dog, would you prefer a wet or dry place to do your "business"? of course dry right.. Like my pup, he's only three months old but with a lot of patients and training he did it.

How to "toilet" train it.
My pup loved to pee/poo on the small rugs. So we got rid of all the rugs but left one in the toilet. after a few days of him doing it on the rug in the toilet. we got rid of the rug and he continued doing his stuff without realising that the rug was gone already laugh.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 20 2006, 06:43 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(kennyguy @ Oct 20 2006, 06:35 PM)
Good idea.
Now my other question is, how to make her LOVE to pee/poo on the small rugs?OR make her stay?
Whenever I see her going to do business and bring her to dedicated place, she will run away and not going her business anymore. I plan to make her pee/poo on a small tray.
Just leave the rug where she likes doing her "business". icon_rolleyes.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 20 2006, 06:55 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(kennyguy @ Oct 20 2006, 06:45 PM)
THanks, BUT she likes doing everywhere.  rclxub.gif
I also can't define which place she LIKES to do her business.
Faint.
Best is to scold her and show her that she shouldnt do it there. Using a loud voice should scare her a little and she will try to run away. do it everytime she does it in the wrong place. She will eventually go and do her "business" somewhere else. If it still doesnt work. Lock her up in the toilet after her breakfast/lunch/dinner until she does her "business" then let her out. icon_rolleyes.gif
[E]velyn
post Oct 21 2006, 10:05 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(kennyguy @ Oct 20 2006, 10:37 PM)
I tried that before, problem is, her poo time hard to predict, normally after morning meal, she will poo in 2 hrs ++ ( lock her for 2 hrs? ) or less than 1 hrs. See, the range so huge.
Then at evening meal(feed her at 7pm), she wont poo at all till morning OR poo after many many hours, near 11pm something. Is it normal? I can't say lock her whole night in the toilet right?

I also don't know how to make her poo by schedule. Already 1 month plus.
shakehead.gif
Wah.. no choice lor like that.. you've got to let her be then.. unless you get a dog trainer to train her to pee/poo at specific timing laugh.gif

QUOTE(Enferno @ Oct 20 2006, 10:54 PM)
hehe.. my snauzer very blurr sum time...
like to eat.. attracted by food...
let him stay outside..he will poo on the grass-field and that is the only spot he like.. jus need to clean up the mess every morning.. i think this should be ok for me..

He is a very good barker.. barker even when a mouse ran across the lawn..
Schauzer is a very brave breed.. they were used as medic dog during WWII.. My MoMo is very very brave.. happened few months back.. he challenged a Rotweiler.. hehe.. very ganas..

I like him... Schnauzer ROCKS
blink.gif what is a rat doing on your lawn?
[E]velyn
post Oct 21 2006, 10:21 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Oct 21 2006, 08:16 PM)
first time i have seen pics of MS..very pretty though
they look thier best when they're groomed.
handsome oooh.. thumbup.gif look like an old man with long jangut laugh.gif
I will post some of my lil peanut's pictures before & after groomming
[E]velyn
post Oct 21 2006, 10:27 PM

236 posts

Peanut ( Before Gromming )

[E]velyn
post Oct 21 2006, 10:28 PM