Extremly Noobish BF 2142 Question Here, You have been warned

TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 09:34 PM, updated 20y ago

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

So, this is my first time getting a copy of BF game. Cough cough
I install it, its runnning and i get to play single player through the BF 2142.

So how do i rank up?
How do i get new things?
Do i play single to do that or Multiplayer?
When i sign into multiplayer, there is no server at all... Any particular reason?

Helps, insight and advice is much appreciated. Flames are not.
Shooterz
post Oct 17 2006, 09:35 PM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

Ranks n unlocks only available for multiplayer smile.gif
Manock Colock
post Oct 17 2006, 09:39 PM

24 posts

The geniuses at EA thought "Hmm.. how bout we patch up all the servers first before the game comes out? And we release the client patch say, 3 days after the game is out? *squints, puts right pinkie finger on lips,evil sneer*" and voila! The game is out but we can't play online yet coz the servers are all 1.2 and we are not.

They say that our patch will come out on the 20th
TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 09:40 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Ouch, ok.

So i go multiplayer, but i cant seem to get any server online. Whats the gist?

Furthermore i dont get titan mode in single player?
Recon_Yoshuka.(INA)
post Oct 17 2006, 09:40 PM

50 posts

u have to rank up in order to unlocks abbilities, new gun, and new equipments. everytime u rank up, u will get unlock points, which can be used.

Why no server? lets just say Singapore and Australia server not yet up at the moment. u can try search the following words (EA SG, PAGN, Fragnetics, Gamearena, Starhub, JP, HK, TH, KOR) those are the keywords.

i hope u have all the luck u need to find a server for today tongue.gif if not try again tomorrow. should be up within this week.
TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 09:42 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

So can i assume that there is no server available yet?
Everdying
post Oct 17 2006, 10:18 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

you can play on unranked servers if you can find and able to login.
so far from what i heard only ranked servers will be patched.
slickz
post Oct 17 2006, 10:22 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

well I for one didnt find any unranked servers as well. You didnt have problems connecting to EA Master Server? I do. hardly one minute into the game I get kicked out to the main screen. bah. I'm off to play BF2
Recon_Yoshuka.(INA)
post Oct 17 2006, 10:28 PM

50 posts

My advice..

1. Just wait till patch is out on the 19th.
2. Visit this section more often to get updates tongue.gif

U can tell that some of us dying to get into 2142 Ranked server, including me tongue.gif
TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 10:35 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

Well, i didnt get kicked. I can log in. I can play single player.
But when i log into Multiplayer, there is nothing there. No server nothing.
Everdying
post Oct 17 2006, 10:36 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

someone i know found two unpatched ranked servers, he got ranked up but has no record of kills or deaths.
so i guess thats what is being patched.
pretty nice work EA is doing.
Recon_Yoshuka.(INA)
post Oct 17 2006, 10:37 PM

50 posts

u tried the key words? the one that i already mentioned above? if still dun have then i think they are waiting for the patch to come out.
TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 10:38 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

How do i try the key word? I have no spot to type it in sad.gif
Either that or i am blind
Recon_Yoshuka.(INA)
post Oct 17 2006, 10:40 PM

50 posts

under multiplayer should have "advance" tab where u can search server by "server name", "ping", "amount of player", and "map name". i'm not sure whether the interface the same as DEMO version or not, but i'm pretty sure its under multiplayer.
khsj
post Oct 17 2006, 10:44 PM

Smiley
1,085 posts

oh goodie...how clever of EA to patch things up..will wait for my 2142 to be sent by postmen
TSreveur
post Oct 17 2006, 10:46 PM

Assuredly Mature
1,035 posts

"Bang head on table"

Yeah i saw it now.
Searched for EA, wrong version, Gamearena, same result.
SG dont have

Recon_Yoshuka.(INA)
post Oct 17 2006, 10:56 PM

50 posts

k.. see the one that i thick with green colour marker, those are ranked server, but again i'm not sure whether all the server still using the current patch or not. the server name red on my screen coz, i'm searching with my demo version.

but if u (with FULL game) still find this server in red name, meaning they already patch the server to the upcoming patch, which will be out on the 19th.

A... just got news from xavier, there is a patch for now u can download it using EA downloader.

EA downloader link:
http://downloader.ea.com

This post has been edited by Recon_Yoshuka.(INA): Oct 17 2006, 11:53 PM
Xtreamist
post Oct 18 2006, 06:01 PM

hey ppl, i managed to get into an unranked server.. but dint get to play coz the game crash and just went back to the desktop..
does any 1 encounter this problem ????

(praying 4 malaysia ranked server notworthy.gif )
Agent717
post Oct 18 2006, 06:10 PM

209 posts

Turn off VoIP and EAX in your sound setting.
It happens to me too...
slickz
post Oct 18 2006, 06:15 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

another question, but perhaps not so noobish.

edit: found my answer already. The game is only officially released TODAY. 10PM EST or something. so in about a couple of hours the ranked servers will start counting the marks.

This post has been edited by slickz: Oct 18 2006, 06:26 PM

0.0212sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:50 PM