What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance
PowderBug
May 23 2022, 08:54 PM
My car was hit from the rear. The driver and myself have made police report and the police mentioned that he has issued summon to the driver at fault. My question is, my car was towed to a non-panel workshop and the runner/agent requires full documentation - ic, drivers lesen, insurance policy and car registration card to proceed to claim from the driver at fault’s TP insurance provider.
Thought if claim the other driver’s TP insurance I don’t have to provide these documents? I’m just afraid that the non-panel workshop will con me or curi-curi claim against my insurance and cause me to loose my NCD. Then by that time too late oledi
Sifus pls advise.
This post has been edited by PowderBug: May 23 2022, 08:55 PM
PowderBug
May 23 2022, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(loui @ May 23 2022, 09:02 PM) Before I answer anything 1. is your car comprehensive policy? 2. Is the car a taxi or e hailing ? 1. My car is comprehensive 2. The other car is a normal car - checked online and his insurance is TP under Liberty. Not cab or ehailing or ambulance etc
PowderBug
May 23 2022, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(loui @ May 23 2022, 09:56 PM) You better call your own insurance company and find out whether they are able to fix under OD KFK (NCD will not be forfeited) It will be much faster then you making a TPPD claim If can, you might need to pay some money to the current workshop to get your car tow to a panel workshop Thank you for the advise. Can the current workshop start work on my car without any documentations given to them? What if they already start the repair? This post has been edited by PowderBug: May 23 2022, 10:47 PM
PowderBug
May 24 2022, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(loui @ May 24 2022, 07:03 AM) Most likely no They will only repair when they have confirmation that the insurance company will foot the bill They have started work even though I have not given green light. Sigh.. If I am to claim the other party’s insurance, what are the documents to provide to the workshop? Ic, driver’s license should be enough kan? This post has been edited by PowderBug: May 24 2022, 07:55 PM