What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance

Noryume
post May 23 2022, 10:18 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ May 23 2022, 07:56 AM)
I saw the car from a far using the mirror on the wall at the parking lot. I was there first since she hit my left side front door as you mentioned. I thought I was in the right of way since I stopped to checked the mirror for on coming cars before i can turn safely.
Refer below
Refer below

Yes, @degraw19 & @loui, the investigating officer has issued a compound to me. I felt unfair as i suspect the other driver was speeding and playing with the phone even in the parking lot while driving straight to the exit.

Reason is that the damage to my car was quite heavy for an indoor parking lot? and there was no horn from the other party that also indicates that the driver did not pay attention? (normally a reasonable action is to jam the break and sound the horn right?)

According to the other party, i asked why you drove fast? she replied tak sempat brake..

The white car is mine and the black car is the other party.

I told the investigating officer that it was unfair for me since I stopped and checked for safety before turning. and if the other party was speeding in a PARKING LOT and without paying attention, how is that my fault?

Shouldnt the other party be responsible?

In the end, the investigating officer got offended even though i spoke politely and she loudly say that I tak puas hati, then you tanya officer lain in the accident department. All the officers there laughed at me and say I dont know the law. I told them it was just unfair on my part it seems.

You stop, you saw the car, you go out the junction. She hit you at side. Your fault. Your judgement is wrong. You said it yourself, you suspect her speeding because of the damage. What is her speed? Can you proof it? You saw her mean she is there first to proceed. She hit your car side mean you are not safe to exit because you can't complete your exit before she arrived. It might be a different story if she hit your backside.

Noryume
post May 23 2022, 10:51 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ May 23 2022, 10:36 AM)
Dear LYN forumers, thank you for the clear insight and sharing of your opinions on this matter. I will man up as my fault and take the summon.

Just fyi, i did some researching and investigation, max speed limit in any mall, parking lot, housing area is 15 km/h.

Thank you all for the comments! thumbup.gif
For something like this, speed will be ignored most of the time. Except she is speeding dangerously with evidences. Even if she is proven speeding the cop can just compound both of you because you are still at fault. Just be careful next time. If you can't complete the turn it is not safe at all. May your day be brighter after this accident.
Noryume
post May 23 2022, 10:56 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ May 23 2022, 10:50 AM)
This measurement is how whenever we kena accident with motorbike... they will claim personal injuries and we lose our NCD... even if its 95% their fault...
For motobike is different story, I think this is mostly insurance policy problem. Headache if dealing with motor. If he hit you how to claim their insurance is very unclear. They even pay for insurance also. Why can't we claim for damage from them? By cc, weight etc motor insurance is much higher than car. I own both vehicle. I also hate the system.
Noryume
post Jul 5 2022, 11:27 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(cipollll @ Jul 5 2022, 10:49 PM)
Hi. Minor accident happened today, a preve stopped in one way road. I, a motorcycle, want to pass on the right and suddenly she opened door and i hit the door and fell to side. Her car door looked scratchless because i literally hit it at the edge/side of the door but my motorcycle coverset and radiator is damaged.

Wanted to settle tepi but makcik said she is not at fault and after few minute hearing me babling, she just drove away. I made police report with all the evidence i had, want to claim insurance. but reading through some of the issues/post here, it is not possible to claim insurance unless the preve also went on report. Any advice?
I think have to wait investigation report first. Be in contact with the officer handling the investigation. After that only you can proceed with insurance claim.

0.0148sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:35 PM