What to do in an accident in Malaysia, Everything about m/vehicle insurance

TSloui
post Jun 10 2020, 09:02 AM

791 posts

QUOTE(peja5081 @ Jun 10 2020, 08:56 AM)
That was weird rule. They should state how many days claim can be made by third party for body injure, if no claim than ncd will have to reinstate again.

I guess what people said is true than if you got hit by motorcycle bye2 to your ncd even not your fault
My ejen already said cannot claim ncd..so i think my ncd gone now
Civil law Act dictate, 6 years for injury claim & 3 years if the other side died

mushigen
post Jun 19 2020, 12:16 PM

4,949 posts

loui and others,
Is there any disadvantage/downside to switching insurance company frequently? For example, if you're "loyal", the renewal will be cheaper (for no claim history, or even after you claimed this year).

Asking because my car is due for 3rd renewal, first and second years are insured by different companies.
For this coming 3rd renewal, Allianz is quoting RM100 less premium for the same insured value, and Tokio Marine is quoting RM50 more but for RM3k higher insured value - compared to existing MSIG.
TSloui
post Jun 19 2020, 05:17 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 19 2020, 12:16 PM)
loui and others,
Is there any disadvantage/downside to switching insurance company frequently? For example, if you're "loyal", the renewal will be cheaper (for no claim history, or even after you claimed this year).

Asking because my car is due for 3rd renewal, first and second years are insured by different companies.
For this coming 3rd renewal, Allianz is quoting RM100 less premium for the same insured value, and Tokio Marine is quoting RM50 more but for RM3k higher insured value - compared to existing MSIG.
Nope

Comprehensive is a free market, hence each insurance companies will charge base on their risk assessment

My suggestion when renewing comprehensive policy is to pick those who has strong claims department.

Don't go for small company who might charge lesser, you will feel the pain dealing with the claim department

Aim those bigger insurance companies and check their google review

mushigen
post Jun 19 2020, 05:28 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 19 2020, 05:17 PM)
Nope

Comprehensive is a free market, hence each insurance companies will charge base on their risk assessment

My suggestion when renewing comprehensive policy is to pick those who has strong claims department.

Don't go for small company who might charge lesser, you will feel the pain dealing with the claim department

Aim those bigger insurance companies and check their google review
Thank you for your reply. Been googling but there's not much info.
TSloui
post Jun 19 2020, 05:42 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 19 2020, 05:28 PM)
Thank you for your reply. Been googling but there's not much info.
Top 6

Am General/Kurnia
Allianz
Etiqa
Tokio Marine
Zurich
Berjaya Sompo
ClessRV
post Jun 21 2020, 12:03 PM

702 posts

Hi, want to ask, I have a 12 years old car (Myvi 1.0) that was parked at my house for a long time (6-7 months?) and was not start during that period of time (but the battery is disconnected from the terminal), the last time I try to start (1 month ago), the battery was fine but I think maybe the engine is leaking? I can see some oil coming out of the engine.

here's the question, is it possible to claim any parts from the insurance to repair other than the towing? the insurance is AXA SmartDrive Enhanced I believe. Anyone has any experience before?

Thank you.
TSloui
post Jun 21 2020, 12:34 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(ClessRV @ Jun 21 2020, 12:03 PM)
Hi, want to ask, I have a 12 years old car (Myvi 1.0) that was parked at my house for a long time (6-7 months?) and was not start during that period of time (but the battery is disconnected from the terminal), the last time I try to start (1 month ago), the battery was fine but I think maybe the engine is leaking? I can see some oil coming out of the engine.

here's the question, is it possible to claim any parts from the insurance to repair other than the towing? the insurance is AXA SmartDrive Enhanced I believe. Anyone has any experience before?

Thank you.
Not an accident

Can't claim insurance
ClessRV
post Jun 21 2020, 04:57 PM

702 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 21 2020, 12:34 PM)
Not an accident

Can't claim insurance
alright thanks, but towing still can right? for a broken car
TSloui
post Jun 21 2020, 09:21 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(ClessRV @ Jun 21 2020, 04:57 PM)
alright thanks, but towing still can right? for a broken car
Depend on your policy

Most have free towing for a minimum 40km for comprehensive policy
soohwei
post Jun 23 2020, 10:07 AM

36 posts

Hi, I have a few questions on insurance claim procedure.
Situation: Car drove by third party, but during parking, accidentally scratch the side door towards the wall.. Maybe due to MPV size car, narrow parking and not-so-experienced driver.

1. To repair the scratch, can consider as accident?
2. Police report is needed? When making police report, the third party need to bring the car along?
3. Procedure will be: police report > sent to panel workshop > panel submit documents and repair quotation to insurance company > wait for insurance company review and approval > start repair > insurance pay back to panel workshop
Correct?
4. The claim money will be between workshop and insurance company, is it?
5. Will there be a situation where, insurance company delay payment to workshop, workshop then hold the car until insurance company release the payment. After getting payment, then only give back the car to owner?

Thank you.
ahwai
post Jun 23 2020, 10:34 AM

448 posts

Yes can claim own insurance

2. Police report is needed? When making police report, the third party need to bring the car along?
The driver should make the polis report, no need to bring the car.

3. Procedure will be: police report > sent to panel workshop > panel submit documents and repair quotation to insurance company > wait for insurance company review and approval > start repair > insurance pay back to panel workshop
Correct?
Yes

Yes

5. Will there be a situation where, insurance company delay payment to workshop, workshop then hold the car until insurance company release the payment. After getting payment, then only give back the car to owner?
Once approved, repair will start. The payment from insurance to workshop is not relevant to you.

QUOTE(soohwei @ Jun 23 2020, 10:07 AM)
Hi, I have a few questions on insurance claim procedure.
Situation: Car drove by third party, but during parking, accidentally scratch the side door towards the wall.. Maybe due to MPV size car, narrow parking and not-so-experienced driver. 

Correct?

Thank you.
mushigen
post Jul 1 2020, 01:41 PM

4,949 posts

Sifus,
My insurance expires in August this year. I've just renewed with another company (thanks to loui for clarifying) with 55% ncd factored in.
Wanna ask, if I kena accident and it's my fault (saman by polis), or I self-langgar and claim own insurance, say next week,

1. will the new insurance company forfeit my ncd discount amount in ringgit and ask me to top up the difference for the new policy?

2. If answer is "no" to Q1, what if I renewed with the same insurance company? Will they ask me to top up, since they know I have a claim coming?

TSloui
post Jul 1 2020, 02:53 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 1 2020, 01:41 PM)
Sifus,
My insurance expires in August this year. I've just renewed with another company (thanks to loui for clarifying) with 55% ncd factored in.
Wanna ask, if I kena accident and it's my fault (saman by polis), or I self-langgar and claim own insurance, say next week,

1. will the new insurance company forfeit my ncd discount amount in ringgit and ask me to top up the difference for the new policy?

2. If answer is "no" to Q1, what if I renewed with the same insurance company? Will they ask me to top up, since they know I have a claim coming?
1. Yes, they will send you letter to request to top up.
mushigen
post Jul 1 2020, 03:06 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jul 1 2020, 02:53 PM)
1. Yes, they will send you letter to request to top up.
TQ for clarifying.

1. Another question wrt the same scenario in earlier question: since now I have a claim case pending, will the new policy be more expensive overall or I just need to make up gor the ncd part?

Example of my new policy, basic premium RM1000 before less 55% ncd.
Will the new insurance ask me to top up just the RM550 (and the resultant SST), or my base premium will be adjusted (no longer RM1000) upwards since I'm considered more risky driver?

2. Is there any benefit of renewing policy ASAP, savings wise?
dogbert_chew
post Jul 1 2020, 03:46 PM

1,560 posts

Park
TSloui
post Jul 1 2020, 04:06 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 1 2020, 03:06 PM)
TQ for clarifying.

1. Another question wrt the same scenario in earlier question: since now I have a claim case pending,  will the new policy be more expensive overall or I just need to make up gor the ncd part?

Example of my new policy, basic premium RM1000 before less 55% ncd.
Will the new insurance ask me to top up just the RM550 (and the resultant SST), or my base premium will be adjusted (no longer RM1000) upwards since I'm considered more risky driver?

2. Is there any benefit of renewing policy ASAP, savings wise?
1. Is the same thing. example your NCD 50% and premium without policy is 1000. So when you renew, you only pay RM500. Then before the new policy set it, accident happen, NCD hilang. Insurance company will ask RM500 from you

2. Nope
mushigen
post Jul 1 2020, 04:33 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jul 1 2020, 04:06 PM)
1. Is the same thing. example your NCD 50% and premium without policy is 1000. So when you renew, you only pay RM500. Then before the new policy set it, accident happen, NCD hilang. Insurance company will ask RM500 from you

2. Nope
Thank you for explaining. Much appreciated.
ZOOMI P
post Jul 2 2020, 04:35 PM

Probation

A car crashed into my house few days ago. Nobody was in the house at that time so no one was injured, but nearly half of the house collapsed.

Anyone face this before? For car damage claim, you can just let workshop settle everything, but what about house? rclxub.gif
TSloui
post Jul 3 2020, 01:07 PM

791 posts

QUOTE(ZOOMI @ Jul 2 2020, 04:35 PM)
A car crashed into my house few days ago. Nobody was in the house at that time so no one was injured, but nearly half of the house collapsed.

Anyone face this before? For car damage claim, you can just let workshop settle everything, but what about house?  rclxub.gif
Can claim for third party property damage claim

Call the insurance company of the car to find out how

Basically you need to get a quotation from a contractor to substantiate your claim
mushigen
post Jul 5 2020, 09:53 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(loui @ Jun 10 2020, 09:02 AM)
Civil law Act dictate, 6 years for injury claim & 3 years if the other side died
This is regarding the "open file for possible future claims".
Say the 3rd party has filed injury claim. My ncd drops to zero.

Q1. Is 3rd party allowed to file another new claim within 6 years, since some symptoms only manifest later?

Q2: when will my ncd start to build up again, if it's yes to Q1?

41 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:41 AM