Your practice routine, On guitar

ReeveX.com
post Oct 17 2006, 08:22 PM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

hmm....for practising....juz pickup my guitar....run scales lo....most basic....then slurs...after that tremolo....then use my finger to run on the strings....to improve speed.....after that start playing different pieces lo....

me personally a classical player....but will be branching out to take up fingerstyle on acoustic...guitar is da best musical instrument... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Bassix
post Oct 17 2006, 09:23 PM

-----
1,171 posts

classical guitar owns thumbup.gif so does fingerstyle acoustic. Speaking of which, i wonder how Roger Wang is making it in the local scene. Oops...off topic. tongue.gif
ReeveX.com
post Oct 18 2006, 12:31 AM

Music Fanatic "but" NooB
840 posts

QUOTE(Bassix @ Oct 17 2006, 09:23 PM)
classical guitar owns  thumbup.gif so does fingerstyle acoustic. Speaking of which, i wonder how Roger Wang is making it in the local scene. Oops...off topic.  tongue.gif
Roger Wang i think he's da best fingerstyle acoustic guitarist in Malaysia....haha....got 4 albums liao i think...
changhao
post Oct 23 2006, 12:16 AM

142 posts

On an ideal practice session:

1st 1/2 hr: Stretching exercises. "Pumping Nylon" by Scott Tenant has got tonnes of really challenging exercises to practice stretching with.

2nd 1/2 hr: Scales at abt 120bpm, maj., min. & chromatic scales mostly.

Next 1hr or so: Depends. Chords & rhythm/accompaniments to music I wanna learn (if it's rock pieces). Otherwise, I can spend up to 2hrs or so on a single classical piece.

And anyone wishing to pick up fingerstyle, I'd recommend taking a crash course in classical guitars and play the studies of Fernando Sor. Matteo Carcassi also has several studies really useful for right-hand finger dexterity.

This post has been edited by changhao: Oct 23 2006, 03:29 AM
aaron_lwm
post Oct 24 2006, 10:03 PM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

My routine:
30 minutes of acoustic practice (rhythm and plucking) - I like the challenge of catching the chords by ear and all

30 minutes of electric practice (fill in and lead) - I'm still new to the electric, so i just play around with the chords, do some leads and fill ins.

0.0136sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:39 PM