Western Digital, How is Western Digital

silverwave
post Nov 18 2008, 08:50 PM

4,082 posts

Hi, I got a call today for the Graduate Leadership Programme which will commence in January 2009. Anyone been for that interview in the past?
silverwave
post Nov 18 2008, 10:19 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Nov 18 2008, 09:46 PM)
What is Graduate Leadership Programme  ?
Candidates will be rotated within all the dept's for 6 months before being absorbed into one of the dept's.

Added on November 18, 2008, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2008, 10:18 PM)
Some sort of management trainee programme I guess.
Can't be. I sent my resume for Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

This post has been edited by silverwave: Nov 18 2008, 10:21 PM
silverwave
post Nov 20 2008, 12:19 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2008, 10:23 PM)
Management trainee is a general term. Other company could fashion with other term like probation, graduate traine (for Intel), Team Blue (for IBM) and etc.
I guess you are right. I have a question here. I just got a job offer from ENSR, an environmental engineering company yesterday. I have an interview with WD on monday for the graduate leadership program. If i were to get WD offer too, which would be a better choice if i were to compare both in terms of career advancement?

ENSR- Environmental Engineer, travelling a lot
WD- graduate leadership program, got classroom sessions and exams too.
silverwave
post Nov 20 2008, 03:10 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Nov 20 2008, 10:14 AM)
wow, u getting offers every where, me still waiting, u must have a really good cgpa for fresh grad
I only got second class upper. Nothing special tongue.gif

I've been waiting for a job since June but there was no reply. Now suddenly so many coming at the same time rclxub.gif
silverwave
post Nov 20 2008, 04:02 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(kamal007 @ Nov 20 2008, 03:45 PM)
to silverware, i guess go for the enviromental work.

im a fresh grad, same as u but started working few months ago. working in the office doesnt suit me really well and i cant wait to get out.

plus management trainee program sucks as well. but to teach his own. if i were you, ill go to both and decide but im leaning towards the environmental thing
Yes, i'm leaning towards the environmental thing too due to:

-S/c industry is doing badly in US. It hasn't really hit Malaysia fully.
-Environmental is still quite new here but it is doing very well overseas.
-ENSR i have the chance to travel around.

After all, both are US based companies and ENSR is doing much better than WD. I also checked Forbes website and it seems that WD stocks are dropping while ENSR is rising. biggrin.gif

Well, i will go for the interview in WD anyway. Just have a look at what it's all about. smile.gif

silverwave
post Nov 21 2008, 11:46 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(danscsa @ Nov 21 2008, 09:59 AM)
hmmm how did u apply for this jobs or through what medium?
I applied for some other position actually but i got called for this. I don't even know whether it is a good program.

Added on November 21, 2008, 11:47 am
QUOTE(hauhan842001 @ Nov 21 2008, 11:40 AM)
freeze hiring for WD now.
You mean at the moment they are not hiring anymore?

This post has been edited by silverwave: Nov 21 2008, 11:47 AM
silverwave
post Nov 21 2008, 12:53 PM

4,082 posts

Just came back from the interview. The Graduate Leadership program seems to be not bad too. 6 months training in various depts, remaining 6 mths in a particular dept. Results will be known by Friday. They are picking 15 out of 60-70 candidates. Hard choice for me to decide between ENSR and WD if i get WD offer. sad.gif

This post has been edited by silverwave: Nov 24 2008, 01:19 PM
silverwave
post Dec 3 2008, 09:49 PM

4,082 posts

Don't think so. There are plenty of vacancies in their website.

Btw, i just signed the offer letter for Graduate Leadership Program today. biggrin.gif
silverwave
post Dec 7 2008, 01:33 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Dec 7 2008, 12:34 AM)
not really totally freeze all the vacancy. depends on d department.
btw, tis GLP not really a good pragram. somemore hav to bond 1 year rite. actually is 1 an half year included d 6 month traning. smile.gif
Nope, 1 year including the 6 months training. Some say good, some say not good. Why you say not good? hmm.gif

One reason i heard it's boring.

Added on December 9, 2008, 1:46 pmHow many here are WD staffs? I need some advise on attire, whether have to wear a tie daily and the parking on the opposite site of the road is for WD staffs too?

This post has been edited by silverwave: Dec 9 2008, 01:46 PM
silverwave
post Dec 18 2008, 10:54 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Dec 18 2008, 01:55 AM)
Guess u guys knew the latest news huh?

Sarawak plant closed

http://losangeles.bizjournals.com/losangel....html?ana=yfcpc
The link did not say which plant exactly is closing. How do you know it's Sarawak? I knew it the 2 weeks holiday in December had smtg to do with the economic problem.
silverwave
post Dec 18 2008, 02:24 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(MCDC @ Dec 18 2008, 12:56 PM)
So good.. rclxms.gif
I applied that Graduate Leadership Program too...but...no news  sweat.gif
Guess what? I just got a damn bad news. GLP program has to be put on hold to may be July. It's due to the link kucingfight shared here. They told i can leave if i get a better offer although i've signed the contract because the company is in a bad state. The 7 selected for GLP are on waiting list now. Employments are halt and VSS are already offered to many staffs.

Just great, i turned down another offer to accept GLP. I'm back to square 1 now. cry.gif
silverwave
post Dec 18 2008, 03:06 PM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(MCDC @ Dec 18 2008, 02:30 PM)
Really PK...
even jobstreet not much new job oso...
I can't stay at home for another 6 months anymore. I need to find some other job before GLP resumes. It's a good program but only thing the timing is bad.
silverwave
post Dec 20 2008, 02:35 PM

4,082 posts

[quote=chong1984,Dec 20 2008, 02:04 PM]
[quote=silverwave,Dec 18 2008, 03:06 PM]
I can't stay at home for another 6 months anymore. I need to find some other job before GLP resumes. It's a good program but only thing the timing is bad.

[/quote
it's not really a good program...

[/quote]

May i know why u say it's not a good program?

Added on December 20, 2008, 2:38 pm[quote=MCDC,Dec 18 2008, 03:49 PM]
u r right...i'm oso looking for a job all tis while...i believe there will b a better choice out there other than WD... rolleyes.gif
lets try harder flex.gif

[/quote]

Yea but it's very hard to get one now sad.gif

This post has been edited by silverwave: Dec 20 2008, 02:38 PM

0.0161sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:50 AM