Photography The Official Xiaoyi Sports Camera Thread V1, The GoPro Alternative for Everyone!

theaxia
post Mar 13 2016, 10:03 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(allic @ Mar 13 2016, 07:28 PM)
Planning to buy one as dashcam and travelcam second ..... Will this be better or will the latest yi cam dashcam model be better?
Just use two yi cam, at least you have spares in your car just in case u forgot to bring one.
theaxia
post Apr 9 2016, 05:27 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 9 2016, 05:08 PM)
i there, I use xiaoyi action cam as my dashcam mostly.. I removed the action cam battery due to quite hot if  charge and use..
My setup is,  use power bank 5v/1000mah to connect to xiaoyi action cam.. It works..
My own use PowerBank as well, I lazy to keep connect and reconnect my PowerBank.. So I bought car cigarette adapter 5v/1000 + micro USB cable (that connect power bank to action cam) to replace power bank..
But action cam since beep alot and not operating (I suspect power nor enough)
So I bought another charger with micro USB head.. It still not enough power..
Any solution? What spec of cigarette adapter /charger needed?
Find 2a charger lah
theaxia
post Apr 9 2016, 08:08 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 9 2016, 05:47 PM)
Confirm can ka?
Yes. Also your micro sd card must use fast type, cannot lower than class 10.
theaxia
post Apr 10 2016, 11:12 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 9 2016, 08:39 PM)
Lol I use class 4 like a boss.. PowerBank no issue to supply without battery

i think lower write speed also affect power consumption, no?
theaxia
post Apr 10 2016, 01:21 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 10 2016, 11:51 AM)
Are you replying me? I use loop no issue with memory..
Really? Later I test class 10 then
I read somewhere in fb b4, the processor will use more power to write on the slower card.
theaxia
post May 4 2016, 09:55 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(fwhoam @ May 4 2016, 09:39 PM)
Look nice. drool.gif 
Camere itself is waterproof without casing?hmm.gif
Dont think so
theaxia
post May 22 2016, 04:45 PM

38 posts

Had trouble finding long micro usb charger, i diy daiso micro usb charging cable and extend with speaker wire at mini market.

The yi cam now able to function as dashcam..
Only had to manually turn on and start recording before start driving.

I guess its better than collecting dust at home lol.

theaxia
post May 22 2016, 04:47 PM

38 posts

I use quick release and j hook buckle.
Also the cam is in aluminum housing, not sure can able to combat heat under direct sunlight or not.
theaxia
post May 23 2016, 09:08 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ May 22 2016, 09:43 PM)
just need to expand the heat sink inside to out if you really need to cool down the camera.. The metal housing can help a bit..

as for extending cable length.. there are USB extension cable.  Not so common these days but available..
Bought one usb extension cable. But by the looks of it, i am not confident for charging purposes. For data transfer maybe ok. Plus the joint would be bulky and not suitable to hide behind roof and A pillar panel.

This post has been edited by theaxia: May 23 2016, 09:11 AM
theaxia
post May 23 2016, 11:24 AM

38 posts

Dont adjust the focus too close, otherwise distant object would blur alot..
theaxia
post May 23 2016, 09:08 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ May 23 2016, 12:17 PM)
worst case then goto Pasar Road and get the connectors and cable to fabricate one.. If dont have the technology. Talk to any tv repair or phone repair shop for service charge then get the parts.  It is really not that difficult if you can handle a soldering iron .  good eyesight and steady hands..    blush.gif
Bro, i siap diy already, i cut daiso charging cable. And sambung to a speaker cable rm2 per meter at local mini market.
The joint is much slimmer and the cable is thicker also.. so far no hiccups while recording.. i also solder the connection and then put epoxy to insulate the joint and also provide extra strenght at the connection.

Charger i just use normal cig dual usb port, bought at mr diy for rm6.90.. it comes with metal heatsink around it.. i think it can last long..

Havent tried both port charging yet, not sure whether it can support phone charging plus hd recording..

No need jalan pasar..
theaxia
post May 25 2016, 12:42 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(emjay @ May 25 2016, 10:10 AM)
You can install a script to your sd card that will auto record once camera switched to ON. Look for it here http://nutseynuts.blogspot.my/2015/06/xiao...cripts.html?m=1

Take out the battery if you use the camera for dashcam as the heat can destroy the battery.
Good share.. although it still require the cam to be turn on after 5v supply connected.

I still want to use it for a normal selfie when i go jalan jalan, right now when use as dashcam, i just hang the yi remote at car signal stalk..

theaxia
post May 25 2016, 04:35 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(emjay @ May 25 2016, 02:29 PM)
Buy 2 sd card, one for dashcam and one for normal use. Install the autorec script at the sd card for dashcam use.
Just change sd carf for different purposes.
Isnt the script will embedded to the firmware?
theaxia
post May 29 2016, 01:15 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(limyuyang @ May 29 2016, 11:59 AM)
How do you guys determine whether your camera has focus issue or not ? hmm.gif

I have uploaded a few pictures, could you guys help me to see whether need to fix the focusing problem or not ?

Thanks !  notworthy.gif

On mobile phone here, basically you would want to adjust the shortest distance in-focus at about an arm lenght. Too close, youll lose distant object, too far, youll lose selfie length pic..
theaxia
post Jul 9 2016, 10:28 AM

38 posts

Does any of u here having problems with recent YI Camera APP update on android? cos i do, images are slow to retrieve using wifi, and sometimes got connection trouble..

I thought my sd card corrupt dy, i reformat, still the same..
Then i thought my yi camera rosak, i downgrade to app version 3.1.3, no more problems...

I am using the yi cam green one...

This post has been edited by theaxia: Jul 9 2016, 10:29 AM
theaxia
post Jul 11 2016, 05:03 PM

38 posts

Yi action cam v2 really powderful wan compared to this, alot of youtubers release their longterm secret review dy.. battery life up to 2hr30m for normal 1080p 30fps..
theaxia
post Jul 11 2016, 07:33 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jul 11 2016, 05:16 PM)
got version 2?
you mean 4k version?
nod.gif
theaxia
post Jul 16 2016, 11:16 PM

38 posts

i just finished copy pasting script from yimax movie, combine here and there,
i set it for my dashcam micro sd card.
pecah kepala cos i really dunno programming
-35mbps at 1080p60
-30mbps at 1080p30
-removes water color like and follow yimax pro color settings
-auto record when power on..

theaxia
post Aug 26 2016, 09:41 PM

38 posts

Hm. My camera is 22L series, so dun have ir filter..
Mau tukar, sudah order lens from gopro hero 2/3, not sure whether it comes with ir filter or not, or does the fov change alot gopro lens is 170 degree, while yi is 150 degree..
theaxia
post Aug 26 2016, 09:45 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Aug 24 2016, 08:49 PM)
guys i notice night recording the footage a bit blurry ar

why ar

setting problem?
U sure u download HD, not SD?

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Aug 26 2016, 08:39 PM)
Just bought black one the international version with in mind thinking this could replace  my poor redmi note 3 camera. But apparently its not so good indoor. I could swear that I saw somewhere on youtube that the macro focus on this pretty acceptable but I think its not quite good. Image quality also not what I've been hoping for.

[attachmentid=7401997]

Any takers if I want to let this go. Only used once to capture this and put it back into box again.
U need to take more than arm lenght distance subject..
Any nearer than that require lens focus adjustment

0.0538sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:48 AM