Photography The Official Xiaoyi Sports Camera Thread V1, The GoPro Alternative for Everyone!

MjMax15
post Mar 3 2016, 10:30 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

got mine for green color unit lol...too fancy color haha
tested for a while, i can say very good image/video quality
need to practice how to shoot without assisting with phone lol
mostly will use it on trail with my mtb. hope the battery is good for 2 hrs at least
MjMax15
post Mar 19 2016, 04:13 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Mar 18 2016, 10:13 PM)
Hi fellow sifu. Just shot my first video shooting while I am riding the motorcycle ( my bro holding xiaoyi ). I shot in 1080p 60fps. It turned out the image quite pixelated, and has a lot of bokeh ( the street lights ).

My xiaoyi is covered with the kingma waterproof case, it has another layer covering the actual lens that why the quality kinda pixelated? Or I should shoot with no case covering the lens, baring the whole body and lens and shoot it so that I can get the best image, shall I? And I didn't tweak any setting since the first day I received my xiaoyi.

And one thing that I have encountered is that the video is spilt into 2. I have no idea why is that. Can anyone enlighten me? Any comments will be appreciated smile.gif
maybe u choose preview file for video
the original video size are larger

QUOTE(dzie25 @ Mar 19 2016, 03:46 PM)
Hi I;m new to this YI camera, i realized only able to capture 5mins for non stop video, is there any setting can be done? i tried few but still cant figure out,

try disable loop mode for recording
MjMax15
post Apr 8 2016, 06:58 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 8 2016, 03:39 PM)
just received this camera today, but looks like for Android M user, there is connectivity issue when connecting the camera with the app. I was unable to connect at all to the phone app unless I close my cellular data, anyone that is using Android has this kind of problem?

https://yicamera.wordpress.com/2015/11/14/t...-via-android-m/

this is their official statement
no problem
im lolipop user
i pressed connect from apps, my phone automatically find yi cam wifi and connect

just an issue with sudden dc when transferring video files
i prefer direct sd card to pc transfer
MjMax15
post Apr 8 2016, 08:38 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 8 2016, 08:02 PM)
yea, if you are Android L user, should be not problem, apparently the bug only exist in Android M for now

edit: by the way, is it possible to access the sd card photos that is in the camera and then use usb cable and connect to windows? I can't seem to browse the sd card this way, it is not detected in my computer
lol i misread ur post doh.gif
connect usb from camera to windows = nope. so far not working
must insert direct to car reader for fast transfer
so far with wifi, max can transfer 1.4mbps
MjMax15
post Apr 9 2016, 08:40 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Apr 8 2016, 10:05 PM)
ah, I see, I am going to go travel in another 2 weeks, my SD card is only 16GB, dont think so I should buy another SD card because I want to save money, i was wondering how do I export the videos. I am not bringing my laptop, only my phone, if use wifi transfer, it seems kind of slow, I tried to use OTG and connect to camera with phone, no luck as well, do you know how to read the sd card from the phone? ps: my phone has no sd card slot  sweat.gif
use OTG card reader
MjMax15
post May 20 2016, 07:35 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 20 2016, 02:07 PM)
anyone here in KL can help me to fix my yi cam focusing problem?
saw the tutorial in youtube but i didnt dare to do it myself.
its quite easy actually
just the hotglue quite stubborn to remove
need slice it with small cutter
if can connect hdmi more easier can adjust realtime
MjMax15
post May 23 2016, 09:17 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ May 23 2016, 08:41 AM)
didnt dare to do it la bro

MjMax15
post Jun 1 2016, 11:39 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

whoa nice shot
MjMax15
post Jul 11 2016, 10:59 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Jul 5 2016, 03:45 AM)
can anybody explain the different LED status?
you mean the little dot?
if no light = photo mode
static red light = video mode, will blink when start recording

the rounded one at power button,
purple 100-90% battery
blue = good
red = be prepared spare batt
(usually on my usage, estimated 1hr 30min+ constant recording 1080, 30fps)

QUOTE(theaxia @ Jul 9 2016, 10:28 AM)
Does any of u here having problems with recent YI Camera APP update on android? cos i do, images are slow to retrieve using wifi, and sometimes got connection trouble..

I thought my sd card corrupt dy, i reformat, still the same..
Then i thought my yi camera rosak, i downgrade to app version 3.1.3, no more problems...

I am using the yi cam green one...
yesterday transferred my 400mb video to my hp
looked at speed, average 800kbps - 2mbps
but very unstable, sometimes 0kb for a few seconds and resumed
hmm.gif
MjMax15
post Jul 11 2016, 04:06 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jul 11 2016, 02:19 PM)
mine is blue color battery at 100%~50%,
purple is below 50%
red is low battery maybe at 20%

btw, my camera always auto off, many time occur, when i on it, it will off within sec, sometimes u manage take few pic n auto off again, is nt the auto off timer, is like having issue.

any idea how to fix it?
oh, maybe im wrong and terbalik one lol
for ur prob, check at device setting menu, make sure auto off is disabled
MjMax15
post Jul 11 2016, 05:16 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(theaxia @ Jul 11 2016, 05:03 PM)
Yi action cam v2 really powderful wan compared to this, alot of youtubers release their longterm secret review dy.. battery life up to 2hr30m for normal 1080p 30fps..
got version 2?
you mean 4k version?
MjMax15
post Sep 29 2016, 04:24 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

nope
MjMax15
post Oct 8 2016, 09:04 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

pc, VLC
android MX player
MjMax15
post Jan 9 2017, 11:18 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Jan 8 2017, 09:23 PM)
bro what u use to adjust the lens?

hdmi cable?

i want adjust mine but cable dam expensive
can connect to phone via wifi but not clear as big screen monitor/tv
MjMax15
post Mar 9 2017, 08:45 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

hey guys
just now got problem...
why my yi cam got 3 long beep at startup?

MjMax15
post Jun 15 2017, 09:29 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jun 15 2017, 05:19 PM)
normally u guys charge xiaoyi, need to on o nt? mine seems like battery issue, need on then can charge, after full charge didnt use for few days it cant on anymore, and battery drain very fast, less than 30min i think
just connect the usb
the led on camera button will lit red color
MjMax15
post Jun 19 2017, 08:48 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jun 19 2017, 12:29 AM)
strange, mine no shw red color, utill u go and on it
i suggest go buy a new battery
cheap2 only biggrin.gif
MjMax15
post Jun 24 2017, 09:25 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jun 23 2017, 02:23 PM)
hw bout kingma x2 battery with charger? ok o nt, previous i experience auto off when taking pic, when on there is stil many battery left
i bought kingma batt with dual charger as backup
so far no problem while riding my mtb in rough trail
kingma battery seems last longer abit from ori
MjMax15
post Sep 19 2017, 08:35 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(sinchan88 @ Sep 18 2017, 04:02 PM)
how much did you buy?
about rm20+
1 kingma batt + dual charger
MjMax15
post Mar 17 2018, 08:50 AM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

seldom
but still use tongue.gif