Overvoltage setting for RAM

TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 15 2006, 07:51 AM, updated 20y ago

178 posts

i'm using high performance ram, COrsair TWIN2X2048-6400, i heard that high performance ram need to overvoltage, is that true? I'm using gigabyte dq6 mother board. SO how the overvoltagevalue should be?
stevenlee
post Oct 15 2006, 09:32 AM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

huh where u heard from...probably u need higher voltage when u oc to run at higher speed and tight timing..but if normal u no need to overvolt wan....just run at default as it come will be enuf..
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 15 2006, 10:40 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Oct 15 2006, 09:32 AM)
huh where u heard from...probably u need higher voltage when u oc to run at higher speed and tight timing..but if normal u no need to overvolt wan....just run at default as it come will be enuf..
from other forum, in
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=352170

any idea to solve this problem?
Najmods
post Oct 15 2006, 11:50 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Thats rubbish, even though its a high performance RAM the voltage didnt need to be raised at stock clock, unless you heavily overclock it.

Go to BIOS and try to relaxed the memory timing to 5-5-5-18
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 16 2006, 12:56 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Oct 15 2006, 11:50 AM)
Thats rubbish, even though its a high performance RAM the voltage didnt need to be raised at stock clock, unless you heavily overclock it.

Go to BIOS and try to relaxed the memory timing to 5-5-5-18
what is that mean? i mean 5 5 5 18?
Crazyboyrs
post Oct 16 2006, 01:02 AM

1,112 posts

U onli overvolt when ur ram is unstable, unstable when u tighthen the timings or at high frequency...Of coz, i would suggest u raise ur voltage around 2.8 v b4 overclock.. THis can burn-in ur ram, which able to make ur ram more overclockable, some says itz a myth...

However, any voltage above 3 v is not recommended unless ur ram stated it can run at tat voltage..Also need to note that which chipset ur ram consist, as different chipset has different potential on the overclockabilty with higher voltage
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 16 2006, 08:00 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Crazyboyrs @ Oct 16 2006, 01:02 AM)
U onli overvolt when ur ram is unstable, unstable when u tighthen the timings or at high frequency...Of coz, i would suggest u raise ur voltage around 2.8 v b4 overclock.. THis can burn-in ur ram, which able to make ur ram more overclockable, some says itz a myth...

However, any voltage above 3 v is not recommended unless ur ram stated it can run at tat voltage..Also need to note that which chipset ur ram consist, as different chipset has different potential on the overclockabilty with higher voltage
how to do that, cause the dq6 motherboard didnt show exactly the value, may be i cant see it, any guide?
stevenlee
post Oct 16 2006, 08:08 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

i dun think ur ram undervolt by default.. unless ur hand go touch it..try to load bios optimize by default to see it still happen or not... if let say ur ram having problem..stress ur ram using prime.. set the prime to fully utilize the ram capacity..if the pc restart once u load the prime ..then u need to check 1 by 1 using prime to find out which ram is having problem....if nothing happen it might not be ur ram....it might be other things make ur pc restart...

This post has been edited by stevenlee: Oct 16 2006, 08:09 PM
sniper69
post Oct 16 2006, 08:59 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(daytonatkf @ Oct 15 2006, 07:51 AM)
i'm using high performance ram, COrsair TWIN2X2048-6400, i heard that high performance ram need to overvoltage, is that true? I'm using gigabyte dq6 mother board. SO how the overvoltagevalue should be?
RAM overvoltage depends on the chip itself...some chip requires pretty hi-voltage supplied in order to get the stable speed and maintaining tight timing, or stock voltage at hi-speed but at loose timing...as i said earlier, depends on chip...
keep in mind thou, excessive overvoltage might be resulting instability issue or permanent damage sweat.gif to module
ktek
post Oct 16 2006, 09:45 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Crazyboyrs @ Oct 16 2006, 01:02 AM)
Of coz, i would suggest u raise ur voltage around 2.8 v b4 overclock.. THis can burn-in ur ram, which able to make ur ram more overclockable, some says itz a myth...
he's using DDR2 which maybe the RAM already died in 2.8v sweat.gif
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 17 2006, 12:30 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 16 2006, 09:45 PM)
he's using DDR2 which maybe the RAM already died in 2.8v  sweat.gif
how do i check the current volt for ram in DQ6? is it under DIMM ?
kcnyc
post Oct 17 2006, 02:05 PM

OC Addict!
3,557 posts

QUOTE(daytonatkf @ Oct 16 2006, 12:30 PM)
how do i check the current volt for ram in DQ6? is it under DIMM ?
Your restart problem is probably not caused by voltage you used in your memory. What PSU are you using? ICUTE?

soulfly
post Oct 17 2006, 03:27 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(daytonatkf @ Oct 15 2006, 07:51 AM)
Misconception.

Any kind of RAM has its own rated operating voltage. It should run at the rated voltage or other wise you can consider it to be faulty and you may request for RMA or replacement from the distributor.

Overclockers only overvolt the RAM over its rate specification for overclocking purpose. Higher voltage is required when a higher speed is unstable. However there is always a certain tolerable voltage for each kind of RAM depends on the characteristic of the chips used. Some may not like higher voltage but some may love to feed on it.
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 17 2006, 09:54 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(kcnyc @ Oct 17 2006, 02:05 PM)
Your restart problem is probably not caused by voltage you used in your memory.  What PSU are you using?  ICUTE?
i'm using acbel 550w, why?
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 17 2006, 09:55 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Oct 17 2006, 03:27 PM)
Misconception.

Any kind of RAM has its own rated operating voltage. It should run at the rated voltage or other wise you can consider it to be faulty and you may request for RMA or replacement from the distributor.

Overclockers only overvolt the RAM over its rate specification for overclocking purpose. Higher voltage is required when a higher speed is unstable. However there is always a certain tolerable voltage for each kind of RAM depends on the characteristic of the chips used. Some may not like higher voltage but some may love to feed on it.
how do i check for it and RMA ? any guidelines please .....................
hotchoc
post Oct 17 2006, 10:17 PM

57 posts

some technical terms

vdimm = ram voltage

usually the safe range is around 1.8V~2.2V or perhaps 2.3V

Anymore than that, you risk frying your ram.

kcnyc
post Oct 18 2006, 12:23 AM

OC Addict!
3,557 posts

QUOTE(daytonatkf @ Oct 17 2006, 09:54 AM)
i'm using acbel 550w, why?
Try to borrow your friend's PSU for like 2 days and use like normal. If the problem persists, you know it isn't the PSU. PSU problems is one of the problems people overlook. Is the PSU new or used?

TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 18 2006, 01:09 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(kcnyc @ Oct 18 2006, 12:23 AM)
Try to borrow your friend's PSU for like 2 days and use like normal.  If the problem persists, you know it isn't the PSU.  PSU problems is one of the problems people overlook.  Is the PSU new or used?
is new, the whole system unit is new set
TSdaytonatkf
post Oct 18 2006, 11:20 PM

178 posts

any sofware can use to monitor the hardwares and voltage and all the details information for system unit? where can get it?
soulfly
post Oct 18 2006, 11:28 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

try SpeedFan or MBM5

u can easily find it by searching it on the net

0.0219sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled