Xbox Live Vision Camera, Eyetoy killer!

TSsquiggles
post Oct 15 2006, 02:26 AM, updated 20y ago

42 posts

Been playing Totemball with this powerful tiny camera, it's fun and sometimes can be tiring too sweat.gif And the water effect on the Dashboard is simply awesome. Btw, you can use this camera as a Web Cam by using Windows Live Messenger through PC. FYI, some ppl having trouble installing the driver for Windows XP, so to make things easier, this is how you install it;
1. This camera will not work with a USB 1.1 port. It just won't. Don't even try. You either need a USB 2.0 add-in card, or a new machine. I have an older computer that has a USB 2.0 add in card.

2. I hooked it up, it found new hardware, but did not recognize it. Hmm..

3.Go to Start-> Control Panel -> System -> Hardware -> Device Manager

4.Expand the Universal Serial Bus Adapter section

5.See if the first or second entry either "Unrecognised Hardware" or "Xbox 360 Vison Camera".. if so, it is installed incorrectly...

6. Right Click on it and unistall it

7. Go back to Control Panel -> Add New Hardware

8. Let it scan your computer

9. When it doesn't find it,  click You have already added it

8. Pick USB device, or HID Compliant Device. <It should say there is a USB camera attached>

It should install the camera now. It will find the right drivers, install the Microsoft Security 3.0 ... Watch your device manager window and 2 new items should pop up. You should see a Yellow question mark beside them and you will see the question mark dissapear beside both while your machine installs the device. It will be listed as USB Video Camera under Scanners and Cameras. Restart your PC.

Once you you logged in,  the USB Video Camera you should be set to go. MSN will find it now and you can use it to make video calls.

*Taken from xbox.com forum
If you would like to see the review, watch this video;
http://youtube.com/watch?v=FM7qoISgm8s

This camera works fine with both of my 360 & PC, and soon i'm gonna change my own gamer picture biggrin.gif so far only me and bro Xeno using this camera (gonna get his soon). If some of you guys planning to get this too, let us know about it so we all able to try communicate through video chat & play those "Live Vision enabled" games together thumbup.gif
Microsoft's answer to Sony's EyeToy camera, the affordable Xbox Live Vision Camera for Xbox 360 may not yet be a must-have Xbox 360 accessory, but i suspect that as Microsoft upgrades Xbox Live to include more Vision features, it will be

Cheers

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 15 2006, 02:54 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 15 2006, 03:10 PM

42 posts

The camera, 1 Headset & the codes for 1 month free Gold member subscription together with codes for Full version of UNO Live Arcade game
TSsquiggles
post Oct 15 2006, 03:50 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 15 2006, 03:27 PM)
the free headset same as our original msoft 360 heatset?
yeah, the it's the same headset. btw, can you guys have a look at my gamer profile through your dashboard? cuz i just wanna make sure if my custom gamerpic is working. i put my cat's face on it tongue.gif can somebody check for me, thx smile.gif

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 15 2006, 03:51 PM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 15 2006, 07:13 PM

42 posts

i noticed Privatejohn has this camera too
TSsquiggles
post Oct 16 2006, 11:29 AM

42 posts

yea, more ppl using Live Vision smile.gif hey miniacs, if there is time maybe we should try the video chat, and i'm curious about the 'rumble' thingy.

@CerebralRogue, recently the Asian just release. you can grab one from Playasia.com
TSsquiggles
post Oct 16 2006, 11:30 AM

42 posts

ups, double post

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 16 2006, 11:48 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 16 2006, 11:45 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(miniacs @ Oct 16 2006, 11:31 AM)
will try later when i get home, and plug it to my powerbookG4. will let u know later tonite.
im not so sure about this, but what i've heard this camera works for Mac user too. but most of ppl still having problems installing it, have a look at their conversation at this forum; http://forums.xbox.com/6953486/ShowPost.aspx

QUOTE(CerebralRogue @ Oct 16 2006, 11:36 AM)
Oh so the USD 40 vision on play asia is the asian version?
yea, that should be it.
TSsquiggles
post Oct 16 2006, 06:43 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 16 2006, 03:04 PM)
Hi .

Hows the quality of the image? reasonable?. Since u said can be use on pc.. prob its a good idea for me to get one also cause i dotn have one.
QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 16 2006, 03:11 PM)
another thing, how about the voice/sound?.. does it have a built in mic? on the camera itself?
heheh Digitalpixel, where have you been?? anyway, this camera is just 1.3MP, and IMHO it does pretty well, considering the affordable price and what you can do with it. And NO it doesn't have mic on it.
TSsquiggles
post Oct 17 2006, 03:03 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Oct 17 2006, 02:33 AM)
one more thing.... how is the image quality? what i am interested to know is how much light does it need to operate? the philips web cam im using now can work with no lights on (the monitor output shining off ur face is enough)
hmm.. I dont know the quality of your philips webcam. But if you ask me personaly, i've been using live vision through msn live messenger via webcam with my friend, and i can tell you Live vision resolution & quality is much clearer, but overall not the best. The ring of light on the camera doesn't shine your face like any other webcam. As long you have enough light in your room, you wont have any problem with it, in fact even in a low light room, it'll automatically adjust the lighting, of course you'll start to notice noises/grains (not so obvious). The bottom line, i'm still impressed by this camera without any regrets biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 17 2006, 09:03 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 17 2006, 10:09 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 17 2006, 09:40 AM)
hmm and yet we still need a seperate mic.. darn..
need mic for pc? i'd say go for headphone+mic by Logitech, or go with Sonic Gear for cuz it's slightly cheaper

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 17 2006, 10:10 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 18 2006, 11:47 AM

42 posts

hehe, finaly smile.gif
TSsquiggles
post Oct 18 2006, 03:21 PM

42 posts

singleguy, i know you want it. buy buy buy.. hahaha
TSsquiggles
post Oct 18 2006, 05:33 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 18 2006, 05:28 PM)
is the live server down today?.. its seems i cant connect last night? Im connecting to spore server btw.
ermm.. didn't you know? xbox live is under maintenance. read more at Major Nelson's blog, http://www.majornelson.com/Default.aspx
TSsquiggles
post Oct 19 2006, 01:20 AM

42 posts

just now i was video chatting with singleguy (s'porean), it was fun and in fact the connection was good and it didn't lag at all. I pressed LT on the controller and he felt the rumble from me, haha neat feature! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 19 2006, 01:21 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 19 2006, 01:47 AM

42 posts

Hehehe, i didn't mean to poison you alkt. im just telling the fact that Live vision is fun smile.gif about totemball, i like the game cuz it's damn simple, easy and tiring too sweat.gif but the idea using hand gesture to contol the game is pretty cool. sooner or later you'll see more live arcade games integrated with live vision, maybe even the full game like Rainbow Six Vegas. And that is just the begining of what Live Vision can do for 360 user. At the end, the choise is yours smile.gif ups, sorry someone invited me video chat again.. i told you it's fun biggrin.gif
TSsquiggles
post Oct 19 2006, 10:27 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 19 2006, 10:00 AM)
singleguy... working in singapore only!.. Hati malaysia almost BOLEH!!.. still malaysian.. kekeke..

Yeah , the vibrating feature is cool, .. hmm wonder what its for??  icon_idea.gif
hheh sorry. eversince you showed me your s'pore driving license yesterday i thought you are s'porean, heheh.. my bad sweat.gif about the rumble? just use it wisely biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 19 2006, 10:28 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 19 2006, 10:32 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Oct 19 2006, 08:21 AM)
got pretty girls to video chat or not hehehe
haha, i'll definitely look for it. there are lots of hot 360 gamer chix out there tongue.gif

This post has been edited by squiggles: Oct 19 2006, 10:32 AM
TSsquiggles
post Oct 20 2006, 09:13 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(i12bsuperman @ Oct 20 2006, 09:09 AM)
wah so many xboxers got this cam dy?
yup, aren't you getting it too?
TSsquiggles
post Oct 20 2006, 09:29 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Oct 20 2006, 09:17 AM)
no need. he can use mine.. he's just beside my room
Ah, i see heheh biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Oct 20 2006, 09:21 AM)
wanna try some video uno with guys, hopefully later tonite, ima uno noob, dun bully me ya tongue.gif im adding u guys to my list biggrin.gif
hey, i'm UNO beginners too tongue.gif see you on tonight's game. btw, bro yoroi sorry about last night cuz my connection was quite laggy
TSsquiggles
post Oct 20 2006, 12:09 PM

42 posts

yea sure. my flight is tomorrow morning, kinda feel homesick too tongue.gif hehe. anyway, any new Live Vision user here?

0.0156sec    1.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:49 AM