Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 03:14 PM

27 posts

hi, sifus

Please help recommend a suitable laptop for me happy.gif

1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : 2k-2.5k included gst
3. Usage : Assignments (words, powerpoint), medium gaming (dota 2 and others), run engineering software (CAD, simulation)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"-15.6"
5. Specs :any as long as can support my usage
Thanks a bunch for your help!!! wink.gif
happy.gif
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 04:33 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 9 2015, 03:23 PM)
Lenovo Y40-80 80FA001PMJ – 14” FHD + I7-5500U + 4GB + Hybrid 500GB + AMD Radeon R9-M275 2GB + DOS : RM2580
Dell Inspiron 7447 (Black, Red) 7447-21452G-W8  14” - + I5-4210+ 4GB + 500GB + GTX850M 4GB + W8.1 : RM2470/-
Dell Inspiron 7447 14” - I7-4710 + 8GB+ 1TB + GTX850M 4GB + DOS : RM2680
sifu, wa..gtx graphic card laptop so cheap only? the price included gst? shocking.gif
among the 3, which is the best? blush.gif
and the DOS is ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chok_FuNG: Apr 9 2015, 04:37 PM
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 04:57 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 9 2015, 04:40 PM)
512ssd already cause you another extra thousand  laugh.gif  well, you can search seller in garage sales..

but so far, i dealing with these 2  seller. trusted seller. bought a lot of things from them.
numbertwo: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2446359
hikari85: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/992181

i believe in this thread also have seller. try to nego with any of them or any seller in garage sales with "trusted seller" tag. do check their transaction history too. if you still have doubt, i advice, you go to the shop yourself.
Dos means, no operating system. u need install by your ownself  laugh.gif  yup.. that is very good budget gtx card.. with GDDR5... not like gtx850/gtx950 with ddr3 type..
sifu, the good budget gtx card u said is gtx860m?
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 05:00 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 9 2015, 04:58 PM)
Well, I would go for the Dell Inspiron 7447 14” - I7-4710 + 8GB+ 1TB + GTX850M 4GB + DOS : RM2680. Better CPU compared to the rest. Top up to get Windows.
hmm.gif ya, as the difference of the price not so big... but then is that big difference of performance between the i5 and this i7? thanks for your concern bro
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 05:09 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 9 2015, 04:59 PM)
Don't think you can get GTX860m with your budget though. AFAIK, GTX860M starts around RM3K and above
haha ya..i know that..

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 9 2015, 05:00 PM)
no3.. i mean.. that gtx850m is quite decent graphic card within ur budget.. 860 abit expensive
nod.gif  true.. unless use jack-sparrow  brows.gif  brows.gif  FOC
but the gtx850m is ddr3 right?

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 9 2015, 05:03 PM)
I don't think you'd honestly feel the difference. Mind you, the i7 might be better for any application that takes advantage of Hyper-Threading, but I reckon the i5 4570 would still be better overall for your purposes.
i5 4570?

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 9 2015, 05:03 PM)
Oh yea, quite a big difference. Though ultimately the price difference is up to you since you are the buyer.

Link : http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-4710...l-Core-i5-4210M
Link : http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i7-4710...l-Core-i5-4210H

Two since don't know which i5 it is.  tongue.gif and again Happy Hunting.  biggrin.gif
ok, i will consider about this... thanks sifus for the suggestion and opinion...sincerely appreciated.

chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 05:12 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 9 2015, 05:05 PM)
Well, as games going now. The extra horse power is good IMHO if he is going to use it for a few years. I reckon getting a better CPU is somehow "future proofing" well at least for a while. Since, the price is not that far  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
ya, sifu you are right, better CPU is somehow "future proofing"... the i7 may not be get outdated very soon compared to i5 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chok_FuNG: Apr 9 2015, 05:14 PM
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 05:17 PM

27 posts

sifu, 1more question... tongue.gif
is there many type of CPU.. as you stated.. MQ/HQ and also U... the dell 7447 is i7-4710hq means that it is better?

This post has been edited by chok_FuNG: Apr 9 2015, 05:21 PM
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 07:26 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 9 2015, 07:11 PM)
Yes... 850/950 is ddr3 type... ops... typo.. hahaha.. anyhow.. its i5 ulv... :nods:
Yes.. it is... but.. if ur graphic user.. go for i7... photoshop, rendering 3D , modelling auto CAD.. get i7... cz it will fully utilized the hyper threading of the core..
laugh.gif no la bro.. later police raid my house.. sweat.gif
but sifu, i check at dell website its cpu is i5-4210h.. so its quite worth at this price... and donknow why the dell website i7 version not available ady.. rclxub.gif
i m not sure whether i m graphic user or not...i do use auto CAD, and i have check the price for both ady.. difference rm500.. not sure whether wan to take which 1... cry.gif
chok_FuNG
post Apr 9 2015, 11:45 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 9 2015, 11:26 PM)
Bro since gst already implement, wait till u know full detail from Ur senior la.. then only decide
ya gst haizzzzzz. cry.gif
btw r u a dell seller?
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 10:49 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Apr 10 2015, 10:35 AM)
Hey bro,

Without more info on what AutoCAD program you're using, i suggest you follow what the sifu's here recommended and take which ever model has the better CPU for your budget.
Certain AutoCAD only requires dual thread on basic use but preferred is CPU with multi thread.

Another thing to consider is more RAM (8GB minimum) and faster storage (Dell should be using 5400rpm, save up and get SSD. hehehe)

Good luck bro and happy shopping!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Ok..thanks bro ..I will try to get the better if I afford to..

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 10 2015, 10:37 AM)
can, why not  laugh.gif  cz its sucks everything.. max the power..  wait the warranty finish.. then can open it
erm, last time, my bro in law ( that time haven become bro in law), he teach how manage the screw and how to dissemble and assemble as well.. every laptop have their own design.. not all have same design and screw position.

can refer the vdeo below. for example.

Sifu, the dell 7447 can add SSD?
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 11:02 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 10 2015, 10:59 AM)
7447 gtx 850m.. enuf for u? coz ppl recommend u gtx 860m....
I think enough, they recommend gtx850m..
For dell 7447 can I add SSD ?
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 11:09 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 10 2015, 11:02 AM)
Should be able to. But SSD now is quite expensive, unless you get a caddy to swap your optical hardrive for SSD (Install OS in it and some Apps for fast response.)
Ok... happy.gif
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 10 2015, 11:05 AM)
if u less use optical disk drive.. i suggest you remove the odd and replace it with SSD but put the ssd in the optical bay. tadaaa... have extra storage.. install ur OS on that ssd  brows.gif  brows.gif
If don wan remove the odd juz add SSD also can right hmm.gif
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 11:12 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 10 2015, 11:07 AM)
can.. when u claim warranty pandai pandai la.. u straight forward tell dell u change ssd sure gg
Oic.. bro if u hav stock rmb quote me the best price happy.gif
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 11:33 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 10 2015, 11:12 AM)
Yes, you can. But you need to clone your HDD stuff to your SSD then unmount your HDD and replace it with the SSD and a rule of thumb for me SSD price is around RM 2 / 1GB so imagine 500 GB SSD. Though liteon SSD is cheaper than the rest, check it out i suppose.
Wow really expensive..

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 10 2015, 11:13 AM)
next week pm u
Okok

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 10 2015, 11:15 AM)
nope.. no slot  laugh.gif  in case u rarely use ODD, also nvm... have cable.. can refer to this seller..

hdd/SSD caddy
Have cable means external 1?
chok_FuNG
post Apr 10 2015, 12:25 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 10 2015, 12:04 PM)
ssd is expensive...  nod.gif

cable helps u to use odd to use externally...
Ohh which means the Ori odd replace with SSD then buy an external odd if I need it?

0.0520sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:03 AM