129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

myway1985
post Apr 16 2015, 05:33 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(xynnye @ Apr 16 2015, 04:31 PM)
Wanna ask all sifus here on which laptop to buy…currently thinking on changing a new laptop I have no idea to choose 1
My budget is at RM3k
I use my laptop to do some programming(edit GUI and coding), normal gaming(Dota 2 or other normal settings games), watching full HD movies surfing net and others…and I need a nice full HD screen if possible, but the biggest screen I can go for is 15.6 inch I guess...haha
So how all sifus?Thanks in advance! =D
U greedy oso ah... 3k wan full HD... very hard.. unless 4th gen
AthrunIJ
post Apr 16 2015, 06:40 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 08:46 AM)
|MSI GE62 2QE-006MY Apache|Lenovo Y50-70 5943-8437|Illegear Q5|Dell XPS15|
Associate too much with gaming. I just need to get my job done, I don't game that much these days.Build material bad, plastic feeling?Not so familiar with this brand, where does this brand come from? Malaysia? Taiwan?Not sure how this is, but screen is definitely overkill for me. laugh.gif
Then refresh i suppose since you don't game. Then again the CPU might be lower in GHz.

Lenovo (One of the best quality laptop.)
Thinkpad T440P 20AWA1JSMY – 14” / i7-4710MQ / 4GB / 1TB 16GB MSSD / Intel HD4600 / Pre W7+W8.1 Pro : RM3940/-
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/len...g-w8-1-pro.html

Dell
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/del...intel-w8-1.html
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/del...p-notebook.html

Lenovo thinkpad is one of the best in terms of quality and dell one of the best after sale service. Since you dont game on laptops, dont worry much about the heat. But if it feels warmer after using for a long time then open up the laptop to clean the dust off. Also, try to increase the capacity of the RAM to at least 8Gb nod.gif .

Essentially the business grade laptop is good. Latitude, Thinkpad etc. Extra budget you can change HDD to SSD or increase RAM or get another monitor for your coding. nod.gif

My bad. I thought you were gonna game. Was in a hurry last night so my apologies...... doh.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Happy hunting buddy. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 16 2015, 07:05 PM
AthrunIJ
post Apr 16 2015, 06:49 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(xynnye @ Apr 16 2015, 04:31 PM)
Wanna ask all sifus here on which laptop to buy…currently thinking on changing a new laptop I have no idea to choose 1
My budget is at RM3k
I use my laptop to do some programming(edit GUI and coding), normal gaming(Dota 2 or other normal settings games), watching full HD movies surfing net and others…and I need a nice full HD screen if possible, but the biggest screen I can go for is 15.6 inch I guess...haha
So how all sifus?Thanks in advance! =D
Sure but you are limited by your budget and the screen size will be smaller to 14inch.

Acer
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/ace...-840m-w8-1.html

Dell
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/del...p-notebook.html

Lenovo
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/len...-m275-w8-1.html
http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/len...gt840-w8-1.html

Feel free to ask any questions.

AthrunIJ
post Apr 16 2015, 08:11 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(ahhan86 @ Apr 16 2015, 04:14 PM)
Mainly office/browsing use, video/movies.
Not into gaming smile.gif

Need a better battery life one, and maybe better service?
If for both option and seeing how you would use them. Get the Hp better after sales (From my experience). Since you dont game, heat wont be much of an issue. But if it gets warmer after long use just open up the laptop and dust the dust off from the heatsink and fan.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 16 2015, 08:12 PM
wordtalks
post Apr 16 2015, 08:59 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

QUOTE(DragonRiderStar @ Apr 16 2015, 03:42 PM)

ya, from mid end to high end. Wouldnt really want a high end straight.

Could get a mid end then upgrade it. If that way is better.

So the choices left are MSI GE60, MSI GE62, Illegear Q5.
Will look about it.
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 16 2015, 06:40 PM)

The lenovo T440P and dell latitude is only 14". Preferably 15" and above, below 17", considering my laptop bag size is small.

Dell XPS15 is good, but it over budget already, 5K and below only. sad.gif
It offer i5 too, should I stick with i7 since I always complain computers are slow? unsure.gif
myway1985
post Apr 16 2015, 09:13 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 08:59 PM)

Will look about it.

The lenovo T440P and dell latitude is only 14". Preferably 15" and above, below 17", considering my laptop bag size is small.

It offer i5 too, should I stick with i7 since I always complain computers are slow? unsure.gif
I quote u 5k n below wat..
wordtalks
post Apr 16 2015, 09:18 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 16 2015, 09:13 PM)
I quote u 5k n below wat..
How come price so big difference one..

Dell XPS15-2081SG-W8 15.6"
i5-4200H,
1TB,
32GB SSD,
8GB,
W8.1
RM5,283

DELL NEW XPS 15 LAPTOP
4th Gen Intel Core i7-4712HQ Processor(6M,up to
3.3GHz)
Genuine Windows 8.1 Home 64bit
1TB 5400 rpm SATA Hard Drive+32GB mSATA Solid
State Drive
16GB Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz(8GBx2)
No Optical Drive
Integrated Dell 2.0 Speakers with Waves
MaxxAudio 5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB GDDR5
Truelife and QHD+resolution(3200x1800) with
Integrated Widescreen HD Webcam
61 WHr,6-Cell Battery(integrated)
Rm4850

Maybe the website not updated. hmm.gif
But anyway, optical drive is important for me, use it quiet frequently too.

But still thinking of Illegear Q5
myway1985
post Apr 16 2015, 09:22 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 09:18 PM)

i5-4200H,
1TB,
32GB SSD,
8GB,
W8.1
RM5,283

DELL NEW XPS 15 LAPTOP
3.3GHz)
State Drive
No Optical Drive
MaxxAudio 5
Rm4850

Clearance unit....
wordtalks
post Apr 16 2015, 09:30 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 16 2015, 09:22 PM)
Clearance unit....
still hunting, still hunting, not forgetting MSI also. laugh.gif
myway1985
post Apr 16 2015, 09:34 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 09:30 PM)
still hunting, still hunting, not forgetting MSI also. laugh.gif
Lol... wan me poison u wif another touch screen? Inspiron 5548 i7 full HD touch.. I7-5500u, 8GB ram, 1TB hybrid HDD, 15inch touch.. but no optical.. RM2899
wordtalks
post Apr 16 2015, 09:37 PM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 16 2015, 09:34 PM)
Lol... wan me poison u wif another touch screen? Inspiron 5548 i7 full HD touch.. I7-5500u, 8GB ram, 1TB hybrid HDD, 15inch touch.. but no optical.. RM2899
i7, dual core....

but 8GB ram with touch screen seems pretty nice, price also still ok. biggrin.gif

ok, kena poison dy.

Maybe will need to do a new requirement. laugh.gif
myway1985
post Apr 16 2015, 09:52 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 09:37 PM)
i7, dual core....

but 8GB ram with touch screen seems pretty nice, price also still ok. biggrin.gif

ok, kena poison dy.

Maybe will need to do a new requirement.  laugh.gif
1 more I not sure still available.. Inspiron 7746 17'full HD. 16gb ram.. RM3999 got dvd

This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 16 2015, 11:27 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 16 2015, 11:32 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 09:18 PM)

i5-4200H,
1TB,
32GB SSD,
8GB,
W8.1
RM5,283

DELL NEW XPS 15 LAPTOP
3.3GHz)
State Drive
No Optical Drive
MaxxAudio 5
Rm4850

would even not consider this.
gt 750m is too far behind from the gtx 960m offered in the MSI and Illegear.
it would be silly to spend that much for such an inferior spec as the XPS15 is at one of the most awkward spot (not as mobile as XPS13 and not as powerful as other performance laptops despite its weight/size)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Apr 16 2015, 11:34 PM
evofantasy
post Apr 16 2015, 11:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ahhan86 @ Apr 16 2015, 04:14 PM)
Mainly office/browsing use, video/movies.
Not into gaming smile.gif

Need a better battery life one, and maybe better service?
i would get neither.
if you want battery life i would suggest consulting this list
http://blog.laptopmag.com/all-day-strong-l...sting-notebooks

note: the HP Spectre x360 from the current tests have better battery life than the XPS as HP worked closely with Microsoft for really good optimization
evofantasy
post Apr 16 2015, 11:46 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 16 2015, 02:15 PM)
Xps13 wif edge screen... thin till I scare... dunno can tahan or not
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Apr 16 2015, 02:41 PM)
sure.. why not. its aluminium exterior which similar to the MacBook Air in sheen and durability. the only matters is xps 13 doesnt have Ethernet port  sweat.gif but, nowadays, people all using wifi transmitter which will helps a lot.
If ppl have tested it out to be solid (Linus even put it overnight under the rain despite it not being waterproof and it still works), I believe it is totally solid.
Better build than many of the machines that are currently being sold.

@myway
no need to ridicule one of the best laptops of 2015 just because you are not selling it doh.gif
especially your epic claim of Dell's 7000 series having good quality despite the horrible flex just because you sell it.
myway1985
post Apr 17 2015, 12:19 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 16 2015, 11:46 PM)
If ppl have tested it out to be solid (Linus even put it overnight under the rain despite it not being waterproof and it still works), I believe it is totally solid.
Better build than many of the machines that are currently being sold.

@myway
no need to ridicule one of the best laptops of 2015 just because you are not selling it  doh.gif
especially your epic claim of Dell's 7000 series having good quality despite the horrible flex just because you sell it.
U not selling anything u dunno my worries... there r brutal PPL out there...I hv client who break the hinge of the aw17 on the first week... n claim this obvious human error is a pain... not from dell but the PPL who abuse it... unless u tell me xps13 hinge stronger than aw17...
AthrunIJ
post Apr 17 2015, 12:22 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Apr 16 2015, 08:59 PM)

Will look about it.

All right. Seems you have already have some in your mind. Computer slow because of HDD or RAM.

If you have the budget to do so. Swap the HDD to SSD, you'll never go back to HDD (This i can promise tongue.gif ). RAM (for me at least) minimum 8Gb well with the way your using your laptop might as well go for the maximum allowed by the laptop.

For me i would consider MSI GE62 and Illegear. As the older model GE60 doesn't really have a good cooling system.

Now again happy hunting my friend. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Apr 17 2015, 12:25 AM
bearbear
post Apr 17 2015, 12:26 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

Budget 2k mainly for work and web browsing; preference is light weight

Dell Vostro 5480

Any other to recommend?
myway1985
post Apr 17 2015, 12:28 AM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Apr 17 2015, 12:26 AM)
Budget 2k mainly for work and web browsing; preference is light weight

Dell Vostro 5480

Any other to recommend?
Tat the best from dell de... Inspiron new 1 crazy price after gst
evofantasy
post Apr 17 2015, 12:37 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Apr 17 2015, 12:19 AM)
U not selling anything u dunno my worries... there r brutal PPL out there...I hv client who break the hinge of the aw17 on the first week... n claim this obvious human error is a pain... not from dell but the PPL who abuse it... unless u tell me xps13 hinge stronger than aw17...
there is a difference when calling something bad vs comparing it with something which is much bigger, much heavier of a different class (comparing apple with oranges).
once again, it said nothing about XPS13-2015 being a badly built model and also how it is inferior to other machines.
how someone abuse their product != build quality of the product. how you think there is a correlation there is beyond me.
I mentioned Linus as one of the reputable person (any PC enthusiast would know him for his work over the years) who actually test it out to be good.

asking one not to consider/ buy a brilliant product just because of human abuse is plain doh.gif
might as well ask everyone to get a Thinkpad X1 Carbon as it survive a drop test from the ceiling (if you dunno this, google it).

---

since you mentioned I am not selling a product, I am as neutral as possible here without any bias as I am stand to gain/ lose nothing from my comments.

129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:59 PM