Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)
myway1985
Apr 3 2015, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 3 2015, 10:00 PM) https://support.office.com/en-nz/article/Ex...27-269d656771c3i rest my case. any1 who ever handled large data, what more MNCs would know to never ever use Excel (no IT solutions in their sane mind would ever recommend it). no point arguing with someone who do not even know the existence of a hard cap in excel  I dunno he know or not... out of my reach... but u dun expect a 50+ uncle to know wat u know.. later he say eat salt more than u eat rice... I never use Excel in my working life so I really dunno hard cap...
myway1985
Apr 3 2015, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Apr 3 2015, 10:22 PM) file IO uses the disc much more than the processor (close to 0 processor usage), so there is ur answer. in excel, the processor only comes in during calculations. So the noob 5400rpm does kacau la... my core 2 duo back in hometown almost hang when my mum do excel.. now it explained... her sifu in excel dunno y it like tat too
myway1985
Apr 3 2015, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(ValityMental @ Apr 3 2015, 10:46 PM) 1. Preferred Brand : MSI / Acer 2. Budget : 3.5K - 4K 3. Usage : Gaming , assignment 4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Not very sure to choose MSI GE60 / Acer V Nitro ? 15.6 Get illegear s5... MSI low end better use to book omelette
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(BLjack @ Apr 4 2015, 12:40 AM) How much is s5? How is the price of s5 consider low end for MSI?  Msi u nees get GT series n above.. however.. MSI r more OP than dell coz their after sales no.1 in Malaysia... from the bottom...
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(ValityMental @ Apr 4 2015, 08:55 AM) Do you guys mean z5?  Is it good?  Got z5 n s5.... I dunno good or not... aw fan n seller here This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 4 2015, 11:21 AM
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 4 2015, 11:28 AM) Ikr, this is the first time I heard cpu affect excel.  Well there do have company who is still using excel file to have their data stored and accessed. Even oil and gas company is using it. One of the reason they choose to do this is because it is cheaper compared to business solution like CMS. Most complete CMS in the market cost quite some money, which they find it not necessary. Even some of MIMOS data is using excel to do it, including semantic web data. My friend intern at there, his first job is to do data cleaning, damn sad  Of course they did it in a good way, with normalization and splitting of data into different file and not dumping everything in one file  Disk speed and amount of RAM affect it. The slower your HDD, the slower you load in your data, so you see a hang or lag when you open the file. RAM also affect, when your data is so big, you just got 4gb of ram, there is not enough ram to keep hold of your data, so you will face the same things again. So next time check first before assuming the thing like extreme cpu is needed.  different case... the hang is mine not my client... wat I mean for the extreme processor is multipurpose laptop... not only gaming N our Fren there rich kid.. everything must get the best... haha This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 4 2015, 11:54 AM
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(miong93 @ Apr 4 2015, 12:52 PM) That's the point. What you intend to do with extreme processor. A normal 4720HQ will do the job just fine. You quite of contradict yourself. Everything want to get the best, but why not GPU ? haha just check from e_mc_square... gtx 980m add rm2300.. total Rm8300.. cheaper than new aw n this wif mxm.. haha... should i change the gpu,.....
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(uekov @ Apr 4 2015, 01:15 PM) just bought hp pavillion laptop cost me RM1699. i5 spec, 4gb ram, 500hdd, and radeoun graphic. preloaded with win8.1. is it worth it? Wif gst de?
myway1985
Apr 4 2015, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(jackrolenzo @ Apr 4 2015, 01:06 PM) Hey guys I am looking for a laptop for college use. Some of my criteria are: 1. Preferred brand - any 2. Budget - RM2500 - 3000 3. College use 4. Screen size - 13 - 14 inches or maybe 15' i will to have some casual gaming and for general use Inspiron 7447, Lenovo yoga, ASUS a550
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 02:34 AM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 4 2015, 10:44 PM) Seems fine to me if you doing basic stuff (Surfing web, watching movies and light gaming.) EDIT : My only concern is how did you get it at such a low price.  , being a HP and i5 4th gen I5 kia
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(pandi @ Apr 5 2015, 02:38 AM) 1. Preferred Brand-Asus,Lenovo 2. Budget-3.5k 3. Usage-College , Dota 2 4. Preferred laptop/screen size- 13-15 looking at lightweight laptops with i7 , 8gb ram with ssd. on lenovo came down to Y40-80 , Z50-70. Asus still need recommendation . Lenovo tat 1 wif tn panel or IPS? If tn panel better take ASUS
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:27 PM) this is the part where I wish that I am rich and just buy the new XPS 13 is Pentium M enough? that is the question  To be honest y dun choose 7447.. quad core n full HD.... I think vostro only 1 ram slot... so far hvnt see dual channel... anybody got it? 1.6 n 2.4kg not alot different le... carry 17 inch Baru painful... but performance different la This post has been edited by myway1985: Apr 5 2015, 12:36 PM
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 12:35 PM) 2.4kg.. it won't kill u...
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:35 PM) Weight is the problem for him. Max is 1.6 KG. He is interested in the DELL Vostro 5480. I know.. but vostro 5480 almost cannot upgrade.. n I can tell u the heat will make it slow... does it even hv a fan in tat thin casing...
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:37 PM) It is around 2.3 KG for 7447. I don't think Core M performance is good for your multi tasking work load looking at benchmarks. So i suggest the DELL. u n y series worst in multitasking... m is better.. but core m is slow..
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:42 PM) If i'm not mistaken. He can upgrade the HDD to SSD and the RAM to max 8GB. Should be sufficient but not quite sure since the amount of tabs he is opening at once. If he don't mind some increase in weight to around 2KG then he has alot more option to consider. If not mistaken again the Vostro is using the ULV proc. So the heat management should be OK but looking at how thin it is, it might get hot abit but not to the extreme. ram max 1 x 8GB kua... dell not working todaY. Can't ask them.. but I always against vostro... wif tat price tag I rather take latitude.. more tahan.. 2800RM.. I can get latitude i7 de
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:43 PM) I always thought Atom < M < i3 < i5 < i7.  Tat is speed rite...clock speed of coz I5 better... But ULV known bad for multitasking... tat y I say m better for "multitasking" only... but speed slow...
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:51 PM) Post the latitude model and spec with budget of RM3000. Looks interesting. Yes latitude is better from what I have read. I wish.. but my inventory only got 2 x aw17, 3 x xps15, 2 x Inspiron 7447, 2 x Alienware x51 Latitude e7440 I was selling RM3200 max... e6540 / 6440 wif ati oso 3k only
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Apr 5 2015, 12:55 PM) I don't think it is about the clock speed. You can find benchmarks for i5 and i7 with same clock speed but i7 performs better. Well... we not expert in tat rite... but I oso suggest PPL take i7 most of the time if their budget allows... i5 is lukewarm... not fastest nor slow... tat wat I dun like
myway1985
Apr 5 2015, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(adix4 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:15 PM) machiam tak jual dekat Malaysia? Huh.. all hv wat... next week stock arrive for 7447