Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V25,, Please follow the format :)

DS_Legacy
post Aug 2 2015, 03:19 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Aug 2 2015, 03:03 PM)
Cool, thanks.

Though if i saw correctly, Vostro usually comes with 1 year warranty while Inspiron comes with 2.  biggrin.gif

Cheapest Inspiron i could find is inspiron-14-5458, it's i3 with 4Gb ram priced at Rm1849.
Ya, you are correct about the warranty. rclxms.gif
Price may vary from shop to shop. So, do some research before buying ya. icon_rolleyes.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 2 2015, 07:21 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Aug 2 2015, 07:02 PM)
My 4 years old HP Pavilion dv6 already reach the end of "his" life..anytime will shutdown if overheat

So now I plan to get a new one, need some suggestions

Budget: 2.8k - 3.5k
Purpose: use to coding (freelance programmer now), normal usage like surf net, youtube or watch movie

Thanks in advance
You can consider the following models:
1. Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074/-
2. Dell Inspiron 14 7447HD-71814G-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4710HQ, 1TB, 8GB, NV GTX850M, DOS) RM2,819/-

Personally, I would prefer the 7447. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 2 2015, 10:27 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 2 2015, 10:06 PM)
Dun say 7447 so good too much.. later zombies come atk.. haha
7447 is very good mar. Sure need to promote a bit. rclxm9.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2015, 06:23 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Aug 3 2015, 01:41 PM)
Thanks for your suggestions.

But if Dell product quality trustable? As I heard from few of my friends, their Dell laptop always spoil once the warranty period end. Although their service is quite good, but I think if the laptop keep have problem is quite annoying.
Of course it is trustable. Most Inspiron has 2 years onsite warranty. And most importantly, you are the one that need to look after your laptop. Do some maintenance regularly. For instance, repaste thermal paste, clear the dust in your laptop and etc. The more maintenance you do, the longer it will last. icon_idea.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2015, 06:27 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(pzhan10 @ Aug 3 2015, 01:45 PM)
Looking for laptop with specs below, please advice.

1. Any brand
2. below 3.2k
3. normal ussage: web browsing, youtube, light gaming (SC2, Dota2..)
4. 14 / 15 inch
5. prefer SSD, light notebook, not easy to heat up

Currently focus on laptop below, is this ok?

1. Asus K401LB- FA003H - 14" / i5-5200U / 4GB / 1TB / GT940 2GB / W8.1
2. Inspiron 7447 7447-21452G-W8 – 14” / I5-4210 / 4GB / 500GB / GTX850M 4GB / W8.1
These two models are one of the best for your current budget. So, nice choices there. You can also look up
Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074/-

You can upgrade them to your SSD. No problem with that I suppose. icon_rolleyes.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2015, 09:03 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(pzhan10 @ Aug 3 2015, 07:36 PM)
Just wonder the heat for this laptop is ok, when on for long hours or during gaming?
The graphic card is powerful enough to run every game in the market. But the settings for every game should be vary. You can go ultra for certain games but medium for others. Depending on the graphic demanding. However, you can always get a good laptop cooler pad. Shouldn't be much problem to go for a long hours gaming. Hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 4 2015, 12:24 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(magicnox @ Aug 3 2015, 11:05 PM)
I went to check a few of these models out and right now I'm leaning more towards the Lenovo U41-70 & G40-80.
Also came across the HP Pavilion 14/15 series when I was surveying and they look pretty okay too, still reconsidering. Any opinions on the HP Pavilion series?

Sorry for asking so many questions  sweat.gif
If you have more budget, opt for the HP Pavilion 14/15 series! They definitely provide much better after sales service compare to Lenovo. And no worries about asking questions. Laptop is ain't cheap. It's wise to do more research before buying one. thumbup.gif

0.0490sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:52 PM