Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

No Drives found when installing OS on SSD - Solved, Need help please

views

TSStussy77
post Mar 31 2015, 04:55 PM, updated 9y ago

45 posts

Hi All Expert,
I’m kind of new in PC set-up, I’m trying to replace my HDD to SSD, so it can be SSD for start up (Primary), and normal HDD will be my secondary drive.

My PC info.
Processor: i7 CPU 965 @ 3.2GHz
Memory: 12280MB
Bios Version: 2101
MB : Rampage II Extreme with latest bios version

I’m unfamiliar with the MB stuff, but looking at the manual item #9 and #10? What is the correct port I should plug in? The below step, I plug my SSD at port item #10 (Black Sata).
I suspect is something to this? But unsure what…
user posted image

user posted image

What I have done:
-Format SSD – no help
-Reinstall/ update Bios– no help
-Try put my SSD in one of the red Sata port(Sata 1-Sata6). However when start up it doesn’t show the drive.
“JMicron Technology Corp.. PCI Express to SATA1 HOST Controller ROM v1.02
Copyright © 2005-2010. JMicron Technology Corp..
Detecting drives; Done, No Drives Found.”
But my SSD show in the red Sata port (Any port which I plug in). Again, when install OS, it shown no drive. – no help
user posted image

Here are my problem:
When I plug in SSD in black sata, Startup able to detect my SSD.
user posted image

However, when enter bios setup, it can’t detect in SATA. I’m not sure why, perhaps this is normal or perhaps I lack of computer knowledge. See picture. As you can see, it only can detect my CD-ROM.
user posted image

Then, as usual set boot device Priority to CD-ROM, once everything in place. When trying to install Window 7, it show “ No drives were found. Click Load Driver to provide a mass storage driver for installation”. I can’t find my SSD drive. See pic.
user posted image

When click “Drive Options (advance) It show got folder C:New Volume, which I believe is my SSD drive. But it not allows me to click OK.
user posted image