Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V9, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc

sai86
post May 23 2016, 05:23 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(tyja @ May 23 2016, 03:53 PM)
guys, i'm fancy this watercooling thing. but i'm afraid to do. anyone know who offer watercooling setup service?
QUOTE(pristine @ May 23 2016, 04:02 PM)
KiriKaniathran thumbsup.gif
This I support. Just let him know what color theme you want (budget) and let his creativity flow on your rig. (if you don't have any idea like me - i basically just told him do whatever you want laugh.gif )
He's very friendly and will share his opinion with you to make things even better - of course he respect your decision as paymaster as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: May 23 2016, 05:24 PM
sai86
post May 31 2016, 09:54 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

My new cooling setup -
Credit to KiriKaniathran

sai86
post Nov 12 2016, 12:43 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(ricko99 @ Nov 2 2016, 11:15 AM)
Anyone know where to get decent thermal pad? Have to replace vrm pad for my spare 970 but couldn't find any
you can get it from lyn seller - niclasteoh.
sai86
post Jun 10 2017, 10:35 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

guys, what kind of water is Distilled water that i can purchase easily?
or anyone stay in SG, which pc shop has WC items?
sai86
post Jun 10 2017, 12:56 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(pristine @ Jun 10 2017, 12:47 PM)
Distilled water is easily available. Look out for spritzer light blue label in supermarkets and convenience stores.
okay. kinda confuse about this but now i know what to look for.
urgh, sg is not a nice place to get WC items compare to LYN sad.gif
sai86
post Jun 10 2017, 07:12 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 10 2017, 05:43 PM)
I noticed from checking out Singaporean forums - Most Singaporeans seem to buy WC stuff online. Pretty expensive way to do it!
yeap. deswai quite headache just to find mayhem/ek coolant. yawn.gif
and it will be my first time to dissect/clean/refill it since getting the rig done by KiriKaniathran last year June blush.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 10 2017, 07:18 PM
sai86
post Jun 16 2017, 07:27 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

Any feedback/review on barrow gpu block?
Currently its a heaven place for me to make purchase. 😅
sai86
post Jun 17 2017, 02:49 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

Thanks for the input. Going to weigh whether to get ek or try the barrow as the bling force is strong.
Wanna ask, what brand of silver coil / biocide that is easily available at supermarket..?

Paiseh coz its a PITA to get wc things in sg... 😢
Shopping experience in MY is much better with poslaju... Lol

Below pic is a sign of plasticizer/gunk?
Nvm.... Its the white pastel sisa....

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 17 2017, 03:31 PM
sai86
post Jun 17 2017, 11:14 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

1st time done maintenance after a year.
-Hairline crack on resevoir, now use it terbalik since the other end is still fine.
-clog cpu block, but it's fine after brushing it.
-plasticizer tube, will change it in near future due to eq n skill required.
-need to clean the gpu and pump next maintenance. Water still contaminated with mayhem white pastel.

Overall, due to great setup by kiri, draining the reservoir and coolant is fairly breeze once i get the idea.

Unexpected accident - dropped my CPU from 1 meter height table when i try to delid it but fail..... Pcb chip off at the 3 corner... But luckily still able to boot in window and run a while b4 I shutdown to do leak test.... 😅

sai86
post Jun 18 2017, 05:08 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 18 2017, 11:55 AM)
I dont think PETG/Acrylic tube cannot be easily plasticized, obviously it was the residue from the pastel coolant. I have this experienced before when i'm using Mayhems pastel white, it is terribly clogged my cpu block & inside the radiator, the whole thing screw up further when i mixed with UV dye. i use almost 3liter vinegar to clean up the rad for multiple times. I giveup all type of coolants nowadays only using distilled water alone, already more than half year the block & PETG tube still look clear like new.
yeah, its the residue. now i'm running distilled water alone only, need to get biocide/kill coil.
after done 1st maintenance, i get it now why distilled water is the best biggrin.gif

QUOTE(KiriKaniathran @ Jun 18 2017, 03:05 PM)
Oh damn bro. Sorry you had to go through this.

The white pastel is quite hard to clear especially after a while depending on the temps you run at. PETG reacts to the coolant according to certain temps according to some tests I ran after your PC installation, if you want to proceed with Pastel again, I would recommend the change to Acrylic tubing. You can bend them according to the measurements of the previous PETG tubing.
definitely will keep the current tubing as measurement when i change tube tongue.gif
your skill giler crazy on setting up my rig. it amaze me what you have able to done on such small space rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
a good experience for me and i never regret to WC and finding you to start my journey wub.gif

btw, for PETG tube bending, can it be heat up enough with hair dryer.... blush.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 18 2017, 06:55 PM
sai86
post Jun 19 2017, 03:44 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Jun 19 2017, 12:12 AM)
You already tear down your loop, how there's still residue? Or it is actually stained on the tube wall?
White pastel sisa. Stained/residual. Dont have the proper. Small cleaning brush at the time of. Dismantle, hence leave it there. Water alone to wash it off is impossible.... Need to physically brush it off with cotton bud.... Etc...
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 09:03 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(Zzorro @ Jun 23 2017, 01:01 AM)
Haloooooooo guys..

SELAMAT HARI RAYA 2017

for muslim member..  thumbup.gif

sudah lama x joint uollss..  biggrin.gif
selamat hari raya.

need you guys opinion on 2nd radiator tubing routing.

Casing - Air 240
1st rad - Front side
Res & Pump - Side compartment

2nd rad - TOP (Outside casing) = 120mm or 240mm.
*Inlet/Outlet from back casing.
Reason to go for 2nd rad : Due to small compartment and single 240mm rad to cool down 4770k and R290 (1080ti in 2 weeks time), temp on load for both is 70C+- (CPU around 70C and GPU mostly top at 75C). Temp on BF1 gaming. GPU Load 100%.
*Stock clock for both.

humbly refer to my paint drawing..... blush.gif
did this at office now....

WATERFLOW is from BOTTOM TO TOP.
Round shape is inlet/outlet lubang...

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 23 2017, 09:05 AM
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 11:01 AM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 10:31 AM)
You could get a bigger rad if you mount it outside, which can solve all your problems. Or maybe swap the pump/res combo to a smaller reservoir so you have more radiator space. Oh sorry didn't realise 1 rad is already outside. Maybe mount vertically beside your case? You can use a bigger rad than a 420 rad maybe?

I think the 1080 runs cooler than the R290. The R290 is a hot card!

Also the Air 240 is a very small case man. Can't fit much inside there. Not sure what else you can do besides external radiator...
YEAH,R290 is a hot card. unsure how cool 1080ti is.
2nd rad is what i plan to do - Top of casing, it got already a nice roof cut-out.
then do a square arcylic to increase the height and cover the rad/fan.
prolly go for slim rad so the total height will be lower.

I'm just not sure on how to plan the flow.
Current flow : Pump--->CPU--->GPU--->Rad--->Res.

by logic if add 2nd flow should be. (this is the problem on how my tubing should be bend/connected) sad.gif 
Pump--->CPU--->1st rad--->GPU--->2nd Rad--->Res (BTM TO TOP).
OR
Pump-->GPU--->Top rad--->CPU--->Front rad--->RES.  (Top to Btm)

This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 23 2017, 11:11 AM
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 03:15 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 02:42 PM)

okay, i thought the order play an important role. glad to hear that.

QUOTE(daddygrandson @ Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM)
imho, ditch the 240 rad and get a 480 rad and mount it outside. if u are diy person can easily make a rad stand. if not u can get a AX480 rad by xspc which have a rad stand made for it but u need to buy it.
QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 02:50 PM)
This - This was my initial suggestion. External mount the rad and connect to the loop.
480 rad will be almost 1.5-2 times higher than my small cube laugh.gif
i get what you guys meant. i'll scout some bracket from taobao else, a diy alu bracket or the air 240 top has scew hole as it is meant for 2x120mm fan.

went to the only SHOP in sg that sell watercooling parts.....1 normal fitting cost $19 rclxub.gif
decided to run my cpu on intel stock cooler for 2 weeks until parts arrive from taobao....
SG ain't a watercooling heaven. due to most ppl get it from oversea themselves.
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 03:31 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(daddygrandson @ Jun 23 2017, 03:20 PM)
if ur into aesthetic thna is better to change the case and get new rads.can get good temp and looks nice if ur target is to have better temp and without spending alot,than install a huge rad outside. wont be ungly if u know how to place and pimp it. dont forget too ambient/temperature plays a part. if ur place is hot, idle temp mayb is ard 35c?? just guessing only
i'll compromise and just add 240mm on the top casing. i downgrade my casing for a reason and will stick to it.
you are correct on the idle temp. CPU 36-42C / GPU around 44C currently.
sai86
post Jun 28 2017, 10:30 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 16 2017, 10:13 PM)
I dont have experienced with barrow gpu block, but cpu block yes, sold my EK bought 2 pcs barrow cpu blocks, performance wise almost identical, but for aesthetics the acrylic top u will find some light scratches as well as on the nickel plated plate, but its does not affect the performance. I definitely will try their gpu block for next gpu upgrade since the price is half of EK. I would say if barrow more strict on aesthetic quality control i believe one day it will definitely hit EK in terms of price/performance.
bro, may i know which barrow CPU block you are using/ bought?
sai86
post Jun 29 2017, 08:58 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jun 29 2017, 08:46 PM)
just done new loop  cool2.gif
nice B&W theme. easy to eyes yet nice wub.gif
i'll be adding some green to my new loop soon.....namely green tubing... laugh.gif instead of green pastel/dye...
sai86
post Jun 29 2017, 09:18 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jun 29 2017, 09:11 PM)
colored tubing pair + distilled water + T-virus reservoir is damn nice
this is something new. first time i saw this kind of issue. both also at the same palce?
yeap. now i understand the powah of pure distilled water biggrin.gif

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 29 2017, 09:15 PM)
Yup, same location, i exchanged another tube after the previous one became like that, now happened again  hmm.gif Initially i suspect maybe 'something' from the rad but strangely other tubes don't have this problem so should not be rad issue.
wow....that black mark rclxub.gif
sai86
post Jul 1 2017, 12:29 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

any recommendation for 360mm/25mm rad for 4770k & 1080ti? (+mild OC)
that won't break my bank or too high end. blush.gif
gonna do a complete re-makeup for my air 240.

This post has been edited by sai86: Jul 1 2017, 12:30 PM
sai86
post Jul 1 2017, 12:55 PM

StilL LearninG
4,928 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jul 1 2017, 12:41 PM)
25mm? I guess XPSC EX360
ek-coolstream-se-360-slim-triple hmm.gif
vs
Magicool G2 SLIM 360 Radiator

both different $15 bucks only.
limited shop, limited choice.