Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Lowyat.Net Watercooling Club V9, Your WCed rigs, discussions, ideas & etc

sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 11:01 AM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 10:31 AM)
You could get a bigger rad if you mount it outside, which can solve all your problems. Or maybe swap the pump/res combo to a smaller reservoir so you have more radiator space. Oh sorry didn't realise 1 rad is already outside. Maybe mount vertically beside your case? You can use a bigger rad than a 420 rad maybe?

I think the 1080 runs cooler than the R290. The R290 is a hot card!

Also the Air 240 is a very small case man. Can't fit much inside there. Not sure what else you can do besides external radiator...
*
YEAH,R290 is a hot card. unsure how cool 1080ti is.
2nd rad is what i plan to do - Top of casing, it got already a nice roof cut-out.
then do a square arcylic to increase the height and cover the rad/fan.
prolly go for slim rad so the total height will be lower.

I'm just not sure on how to plan the flow.
Current flow : Pump--->CPU--->GPU--->Rad--->Res.

QUOTE
by logic if add 2nd flow should be. (this is the problem on how my tubing should be bend/connected) sad.gif 
Pump--->CPU--->1st rad--->GPU--->2nd Rad--->Res (BTM TO TOP).
OR
Pump-->GPU--->Top rad--->CPU--->Front rad--->RES.  (Top to Btm)


This post has been edited by sai86: Jun 23 2017, 11:11 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anj
post Jun 23 2017, 02:42 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 36

Joined: Mar 2010
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 23 2017, 11:01 AM)
YEAH,R290 is a hot card. unsure how cool 1080ti is.
2nd rad is what i plan to do - Top of casing, it got already a nice roof cut-out.
then do a square arcylic to increase the height and cover the rad/fan.
prolly go for slim rad so the total height will be lower.

I'm just not sure on how to plan the flow.
Current flow : Pump--->CPU--->GPU--->Rad--->Res.
*
Eventually the order of the loop won't matter after the system is up and running since the temps will equalize. I doubt you will see a really significant difference in temps by changing it. As long as you have your rez before the pump, that's all that matters. What matters most for your temps is just how much radiator real estate you have, from what I've read. If you really want some heavy duty cooling have you considered 2x240 Radiator on top of the case? I think its big enough to fit 2! You'll need to measure the width of the rads compared to your case. 2 top mounter 240s and you'll have more than enough cooling.

1080 from what I've read maxes at 80C if you push it hard. You're not overclocking so I think you'll be ok. Definitely cooler than that mini toaster oven R290!

This post has been edited by Anj: Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daddygrandson
post Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM
New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 2

Joined: Jun 2017
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 23 2017, 09:03 AM)
selamat hari raya.

need you guys opinion on 2nd radiator tubing routing.

Casing - Air 240
1st rad - Front side
Res & Pump - Side compartment

2nd rad - TOP (Outside casing) = 120mm or 240mm.
*Inlet/Outlet from back casing.
Reason to go for 2nd rad : Due to small compartment and single 240mm rad to cool down 4770k and R290 (1080ti in 2 weeks time), temp on load for both is 70C+- (CPU around 70C and GPU mostly top at 75C). Temp on BF1 gaming. GPU Load 100%.
*Stock clock for both.

humbly refer to my paint drawing..... blush.gif
did this at office now....
[attachmentid=8919590]

WATERFLOW is from BOTTOM TO TOP.
Round shape is inlet/outlet lubang...
*
imho, ditch the 240 rad and get a 480 rad and mount it outside. if u are diy person can easily make a rad stand. if not u can get a AX480 rad by xspc which have a rad stand made for it but u need to buy it.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anj
post Jun 23 2017, 02:50 PM
New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 36

Joined: Mar 2010
QUOTE(daddygrandson @ Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM)
imho, ditch the 240 rad and get a 480 rad and mount it outside. if u are diy person can easily make a rad stand. if not u can get a AX480 rad by xspc which have a rad stand made for it but u need to buy it.
*
This - This was my initial suggestion. External mount the rad and connect to the loop.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 03:15 PM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 02:42 PM)
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «

*
okay, i thought the order play an important role. glad to hear that.

QUOTE(daddygrandson @ Jun 23 2017, 02:49 PM)
imho, ditch the 240 rad and get a 480 rad and mount it outside. if u are diy person can easily make a rad stand. if not u can get a AX480 rad by xspc which have a rad stand made for it but u need to buy it.
*
QUOTE(Anj @ Jun 23 2017, 02:50 PM)
This - This was my initial suggestion. External mount the rad and connect to the loop.
*
480 rad will be almost 1.5-2 times higher than my small cube laugh.gif
i get what you guys meant. i'll scout some bracket from taobao else, a diy alu bracket or the air 240 top has scew hole as it is meant for 2x120mm fan.

went to the only SHOP in sg that sell watercooling parts.....1 normal fitting cost $19 rclxub.gif
decided to run my cpu on intel stock cooler for 2 weeks until parts arrive from taobao....
SG ain't a watercooling heaven. due to most ppl get it from oversea themselves.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
daddygrandson
post Jun 23 2017, 03:20 PM
New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 2

Joined: Jun 2017
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 23 2017, 03:15 PM)
okay, i thought the order play an important role. glad to hear that.
480 rad will be almost 1.5-2 times higher than my small cube  laugh.gif
i get what you guys meant. i'll scout some bracket from taobao else, a diy alu bracket or the air 240 top has scew hole as it is meant for 2x120mm fan.

went to the only SHOP in sg that sell watercooling parts.....1 normal fitting cost $19  rclxub.gif
decided to run my cpu on intel stock cooler for 2 weeks until parts arrive from taobao....
SG ain't a watercooling heaven. due to most ppl get it from oversea themselves.
*
if ur into aesthetic thna is better to change the case and get new rads.can get good temp and looks nice if ur target is to have better temp and without spending alot,than install a huge rad outside. wont be ungly if u know how to place and pimp it. dont forget too ambient/temperature plays a part. if ur place is hot, idle temp mayb is ard 35c?? just guessing only

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sai86
post Jun 23 2017, 03:31 PM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(daddygrandson @ Jun 23 2017, 03:20 PM)
if ur into aesthetic thna is better to change the case and get new rads.can get good temp and looks nice if ur target is to have better temp and without spending alot,than install a huge rad outside. wont be ungly if u know how to place and pimp it. dont forget too ambient/temperature plays a part. if ur place is hot, idle temp mayb is ard 35c?? just guessing only
*
i'll compromise and just add 240mm on the top casing. i downgrade my casing for a reason and will stick to it.
you are correct on the idle temp. CPU 36-42C / GPU around 44C currently.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ethaniel
post Jun 24 2017, 12:41 PM
Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 74

Joined: Dec 2004


anyone using Corsair H100i GTX? I found it quite noisy when full load. Any alternative replacement?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
KiriKaniathran
post Jun 25 2017, 12:38 PM
Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 70

Joined: Dec 2014
From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia





user posted image

Selamat Hari Raya
Maaf Zahir dan Batin.

Giving you an idea where to spend your duit Raya wink.gif

Holiday: 25/6/2017 - 27/6/2017

Back to work and PC's ready for collection/delivery on Wednesday, 28/6/2017
We hope to serve you in the next quarter with some improvements on our end.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sai86
post Jun 28 2017, 10:30 PM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(llk @ Jun 16 2017, 10:13 PM)
I dont have experienced with barrow gpu block, but cpu block yes, sold my EK bought 2 pcs barrow cpu blocks, performance wise almost identical, but for aesthetics the acrylic top u will find some light scratches as well as on the nickel plated plate, but its does not affect the performance. I definitely will try their gpu block for next gpu upgrade since the price is half of EK. I would say if barrow more strict on aesthetic quality control i believe one day it will definitely hit EK in terms of price/performance.
*
bro, may i know which barrow CPU block you are using/ bought?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
llk
post Jun 28 2017, 11:21 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,081

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 28 2017, 10:30 PM)
bro, may i know which barrow CPU block you are using/ bought?
*
I bought these 2


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unequalteck
post Yesterday, 08:46 PM
Custom member title
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,545

Joined: Dec 2008
From: Kota Kinabalu Current: Wangsa Maju


just done new loop cool2.gif
user posted image

This post has been edited by unequalteck: Yesterday, 08:50 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sai86
post Yesterday, 08:58 PM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jun 29 2017, 08:46 PM)
just done new loop  cool2.gif
user posted image
*
nice B&W theme. easy to eyes yet nice wub.gif
i'll be adding some green to my new loop soon.....namely green tubing... laugh.gif instead of green pastel/dye...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
llk
post Yesterday, 09:07 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,081

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
Hope someone here can help to figure out what happened to one of my petg tube. The inner of this particular tube become black color, but the rest of the tubes normal. I'm only using distilled water alone for my loop. This was second time after 2months it happened again.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
unequalteck
post Yesterday, 09:11 PM
Custom member title
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,545

Joined: Dec 2008
From: Kota Kinabalu Current: Wangsa Maju


QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 29 2017, 08:58 PM)
nice B&W theme. easy to eyes yet nice wub.gif
i'll be adding some green to my new loop soon.....namely green tubing...  laugh.gif  instead of green pastel/dye...
*
colored tubing pair + distilled water + T-virus reservoir is damn nice

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 29 2017, 09:07 PM)
Hope someone here can help to figure out what happened to one of my petg tube. The inner of this particular tube become black color, but the rest of the tubes normal. I'm only using distilled water alone for my loop. This was second time after 2months it happened again.
*
this is something new. first time i saw this kind of issue. both also at the same palce?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
llk
post Yesterday, 09:15 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,081

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jun 29 2017, 09:11 PM)
colored tubing pair + distilled water + T-virus reservoir is damn nice
this is something new. first time i saw this kind of issue. both also at the same palce?
*
Yup, same location, i exchanged another tube after the previous one became like that, now happened again hmm.gif Initially i suspect maybe 'something' from the rad but strangely other tubes don't have this problem so should not be rad issue.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sai86
post Yesterday, 09:18 PM
StilL LearninG
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,461

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Setapak


QUOTE(unequalteck @ Jun 29 2017, 09:11 PM)
colored tubing pair + distilled water + T-virus reservoir is damn nice
this is something new. first time i saw this kind of issue. both also at the same palce?
*
yeap. now i understand the powah of pure distilled water biggrin.gif

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 29 2017, 09:15 PM)
Yup, same location, i exchanged another tube after the previous one became like that, now happened again  hmm.gif Initially i suspect maybe 'something' from the rad but strangely other tubes don't have this problem so should not be rad issue.
*
wow....that black mark rclxub.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
llk
post Yesterday, 09:21 PM
Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,081

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
QUOTE(sai86 @ Jun 29 2017, 09:18 PM)
yeap. now i understand the powah of pure distilled water  biggrin.gif
wow....that black mark  rclxub.gif
*
I also get shocked when saw this doh.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

43 Pages « < 41 42 43Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0651sec    5.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th June 2017 - 12:02 AM