Dunlop SP Sport J5, new tyre in the market

leehernandez
post Sep 18 2016, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 17 2016, 06:55 PM)
These tires dont have the date of production stamped on it? blink.gif
its on the other side of the tyre.sure have date for each tyre.
RigerZ
post Sep 18 2016, 03:37 PM

On the way on the way
1,013 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 18 2016, 11:37 AM)
its on the other side of the tyre.sure have date for each tyre.
quite unusual for them to put it on the inside of the tire hmm.gif
leehernandez
post Sep 19 2016, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Sep 18 2016, 03:37 PM)
quite unusual for them to put it on the inside of the tire  hmm.gif
just realised dunlop j5 model have date in the inner side wall.
TSCalebraj
post Sep 20 2016, 10:05 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Sep 19 2016, 01:30 PM)
just realised dunlop j5 model have date in the inner side wall.
Yes, same here when i found out.
But i guess that is the only complain i have on it. )-)-
nuekkacak
post Sep 20 2016, 11:06 PM

109 posts

This j5 can withstands high milage driving like 5000km per month? Currently use xm2.. almost botak for almost 60k run..

This post has been edited by nuekkacak: Sep 20 2016, 11:07 PM
choonyink
post Sep 21 2016, 12:51 AM

456 posts

Had j5 for about 3months hitting 6~7k mileage. Dry performance is good and wet performance is quite good too. Used to get alot skidding with kumho kh17 on wet even with light braking (cheap car no abs). So far on j5 no skid before on wet road.

Got XM2 in some other cars at home, give me similar feedback in dry and wet conditions. But xm2 is generally 10% more expensive than j5 from few shops i asked around pj. So give j5 a try to see if can find an alternative choice for next replacement.

But i think there are some other better choices, i were limited to these cuz of the tyre size, 185/70/14 lol
.:zep:.
post Sep 21 2016, 07:28 AM

1,120 posts

This tyre is very good but little bit floating in fast speed.
stevenng97
post Dec 4 2016, 02:53 PM

1,057 posts

any shop recommend for j5 15 195 55 price
RE57
post Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM

103 posts

previous tyre: dunlop sp sport 300 (mileage ~100,000k, f/c ~20km/l)
condition of tyre just reached the wear indicator, not even botak.

changed recently to :dunlop sp sport J5 (hope to hit another 100k with this tyre, but f/c ~19km/l) much quieter compared to sport 300

overall i still feel good choice. at least Buatan malaysia mah.
amad108
post Jan 29 2017, 07:55 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(RE57 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM)

changed recently to :dunlop sp sport J5 (hope to hit another 100k with this tyre, but f/c ~19km/l) much quieter compared to sport 300

Wow.. last quite long ya
Jeff_lwh
post Feb 1 2017, 09:14 PM

294 posts

Bought 4x Dunlop SP Sport J5 at RM583.00 incl GST, Balancing, Alignment and RM20 for 4x normal wheel valves. Averaged RM142 / piece only. After traded in old tires.

Size: Hyundai i10 1.25... 165/60R14. Make 4116.
Shop: SKC Tyres Shah Alam
Date change: 30 Dec 2016.

Overall: Same feel as Formula D5. Great dry and wet grip, comfortable, silent... Best bang of the bucks.
N33d
post Feb 2 2017, 11:05 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(RE57 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:10 AM)

wow 100k km.. most of the time highway travel?
i do observe short trip and multi storey carpark shorten tires life a lot
halcyon27
post Feb 2 2017, 11:31 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 2 2017, 11:05 AM)
wow 100k km.. most of the time highway travel?
i do observe short trip and multi storey carpark shorten tires life a lot
Multi story car park lots of cornering and some places the compound used in their car park pavement wears our tyre at a higher rate.
CasualMax
post Feb 10 2017, 08:40 AM

117 posts

Just changed from Goodyear Ducaro GA to Dunlop SP Sport J5 at RM 130 each including balancing, allignment and valve. Size: 185/60/14.

Noticed significant noise reduction, better dry grip but yet to test wet grip. Hopefully they can last long

This post has been edited by CasualMax: Feb 10 2017, 09:26 AM
N33d
post Feb 13 2017, 10:13 AM

896 posts

just curious how u guys test wet grip limit of the tire? jamming the brake on wet road? doing hard corner and see whether the car hold?
ktek
post Feb 13 2017, 11:29 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 13 2017, 10:13 AM)
just curious how u guys test wet grip limit of the tire? jamming the brake on wet road? doing hard corner and see whether the car hold?
brake and hard corner only will not know. sendiri syok only.

use speedo meter + common road u pass.

there is a junction i always masuk @ 80kph with plenty random tyre. the car understeer out. i purposely see how bad it go.
so far not yet hit tiang or motor ah pek / pedestrian who not follow the red light

same pattern every day for pass 10yr becos i work there in and out.
so we have rainy day and sunny day.

brake is not easy becos the pad condition will affect. now car has abs will affect how i test. so i dunno.

anyway how do u test?

This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 13 2017, 12:03 PM
N33d
post Feb 14 2017, 10:36 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2017, 11:29 AM)
brake and hard corner only will not know. sendiri syok only.

use speedo meter + common road u pass.

there is a junction i always masuk @ 80kph with plenty random tyre. the car understeer out. i purposely see how bad it go.
so far not yet hit tiang or motor ah pek / pedestrian who not follow the red light

same pattern every day for pass 10yr becos i work there in and out.
so we have rainy day and sunny day.

brake is not easy becos the pad condition will affect. now car has abs will affect how i test. so i dunno.

anyway how do u test?
me find easier to test brake.. jam brake to a certain extend on some quiet wet roads from a certain speed usually around 70kph.. see how much effort i can put into the brake until the brake lock up.. it does not take much to make my iriz oem m5 wheel locked.. but for ps3, so far i have not find a right time to do that

but for cornering part really dont know how to test safely on public road.
ktek
post Feb 14 2017, 05:10 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Feb 14 2017, 10:36 AM)
me find easier to test brake.. jam brake to a certain extend on some quiet wet roads from a certain speed usually around 70kph.. see how much effort i can put into the brake until the brake lock up.. it does not take much to make my iriz oem m5 wheel locked.. but for ps3, so far i have not find a right time to do that

but for cornering part really dont know how to test safely on public road.
i have upgraded brake. so abs sure click click click disturb the test.
wow u got ps3
sharkz07
post Feb 16 2017, 11:15 PM

45 posts

which more better in term of noise & comfort J5 or D05?
leehernandez
post Feb 17 2017, 11:42 AM

QUOTE(sharkz07 @ Feb 16 2017, 11:15 PM)
which more better in term of noise & comfort J5 or D05?
j5

18 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:26 AM