First Page! and First Time!
Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V36, celebrating 35th anniversary!
Mar 23 2015, 09:59 PM
19 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
First Page! and First Time!
Mar 30 2015, 12:30 PM
Gamers Arena was running out of decals last week I went.
Time Square has 3 places. 7th Floor Gamers Arena. 2nd Floor, Time Machine and Tamashi Nation. Lowyat has Fantasy Toys Sri Petaling has Glory System Enterprise. Inside Endah Parade. Place with most selection is Gamers Arena. I think. Hope this helps. |
Mar 30 2015, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(rthm93 @ Mar 30 2015, 06:49 PM) i think that GSE in endah parade is closed, went there on their stated operation hours... they are not opened... I just went there yesterday and bought my MG Wing EW Ver. But auntie keep telling me to call her first before going, maybe their operation hours are random now. |
Apr 14 2015, 05:19 PM
Sharing my work!
Straight Build with a little detailing:) Shining Gundam! ![]() ![]() I used MR Hobby Glossy Top Coat this time, but somehow I just feel like it is the same with the original plastic, not really Shiny and Glossy. |
May 13 2015, 08:01 PM
Hi Guys, it has been awhile since I ask you sifus something.
I am beginning to take interest into spraying paint on my Gunpla, because of budget issue, I cannot afford MR Hobby / Tamiya Spray Paint, also because of my environment Airbrush is also out of question. I found a Malaysian Brand though, DPI Anchor Lacquer spray can, I am actually quite satisfy with the color, for this brand is ALOT cheaper than MR Hobby / Tamiya. However, I find the surface of the paint is quite rough comparing to MR Hobby / Tamiya spray paint. As in, you can actually spot the difference of the paints with naked eye. MR Hobby silver - more smooth and more natural on the plastic. DPI Anchor decorative chrome - You can actually see the unevenness with your eyes if you look closely. My question is, can I fix the smoothness or at least improve it? or this is an foundation issue caused by ingredients? Or is there any cheaper alternative spray can you would suggest? Short version: How to fix the rough surfaces of the DPI Anchor Spray Paint? Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by skeithskeith: May 13 2015, 08:02 PM |
May 13 2015, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(nazrul90 @ May 13 2015, 08:09 PM) wait what? what kind of environment? It's more hazardous to use spray can? Wow I really dint know that.if at flat house/apartment using spray can is way hazardous than airbrush and there is no way to adjust the surface of spray can, its all about the distance for parts and paint, and the thickness of paint itself go buy cheap airbrush set, dont afford to buy paint? go buy those hardware spray can and strip the content out into a bottle and use it for airbrush airbrush can adjust the air pressure thus make it easier to get the wanted finish The problem because I do not use airbrush is because my family has different sleeping time, and Airbrush emits sound. Which airbrush set would you recommend and where can I find it? Also, I don't mind paying more for airbrush set, but I need it to be silent. If I am using airbrush would it be cheaper than Mr hobby / Tamiya Spray? |
May 13 2015, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ May 13 2015, 08:17 PM) i don't know about chrome but normal spray cans you need to: I still use MR top coat for finishing, but I just want to use cheaper alternative for coloring 1.Shake very well 2.Spray in hot sunny dry days (late morning - early afternoon best). 3.Put in warm bucket of water for 5 minutes 4.Spray at a distance minimum 30cm 5.Short Burst Spray not full throttle. 6.Wait for it to dry (5-10mins) & respray more layers. Best if you go ACE hardware buy that plastic spray can gun throttle around rm25. If you looking for cheap Flat finish Mr.DIY Clear #1 with mist spray works pretty well for rm5.90. But if you overspray it becomes uneven glossy. If you looking for cheap Glossy finish, Future Floor works wonders 1 bottle rm5x.00 can use very long time and can be brushed/cotton ragged. Anyway Lacquer & Enamel paint are more hazardous than Acrylic, you might wanna buy a 3M respirator & use plastic bag to wrap your hands, i assume you know the satay stick + blutac trick. BTW SILVER is different from CHROME, SILVER overspray less noticeable than Chrome. Will try your method if the sun comes out this weekend! If it is hazardous I might need to stop using them though, expecting a baby |
May 13 2015, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ May 13 2015, 09:04 PM) Not Airbrush making sound, Compressor making sound, if you got money can buy Canned Compressed Air they aren't cheap but are silent. But you need many cans so many it's not worth it unless you can DIY refill yourself. So there is no silent compressor for airbrush?Anyway if you are spraying at night it's a bad timing: 1.Cold temperature higher humidity means more uneven surface paint. 2.Cold temperature higher humidity means paint takes longer time to dry. 3.Night time can't see as well as day time. 4.You end up sleeping very late since once you're done still have to housecleaning, wash hand/bath. I do my stuff in the day, its just some of family sleep in the day |
May 13 2015, 11:06 PM
May 13 2015, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ May 13 2015, 11:09 PM) just get something like Sparmax What compressor and airbrush are you using now?http://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10239028 don't buy those China no-name cheap airbrush, i had one, the throttle spring broke after few uses, the result is ok but the quality is... |
Jun 9 2015, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Jun 9 2015, 04:21 PM) unless u stay at those country or u hunting for rare stuff that otherwise unavailable locally, buying from cn/jp/hk makes no different then buying locally. Wait, I bought 2 kits (Around RM 190-200 total) from HLJ last week, do I have to pay kastam or tax? If yes, how do i pay? Damn, I thought I was saving money.factor in the time, the hassle, the kastam, the tax, the postage, u end up paying more or less the same as u buy from local so why bother? Sure some local seller jack up prices, so dont buy from them then. Search around n u can find plenty that sells at fair n affordable prices. |
Jun 9 2015, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Jun 9 2015, 05:10 PM) if the packaging is small n not too expensive, u may not need to pay. its luck really, if the officer beh song that day then small small item also kena. just keep this mentality in mind, everytime u buy something from overseas prepare to pay the tax, if u manage to avoid it then consider it as bonus. as for how to pay: when u go collect ur stuff from kastam the officer will tell u how much. Yes u heard me right, u nid go collect it urself (unless u appoint runner which is a separate cost all together). Now u c the hassle? All the time wasted going there dealing with them. QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jun 9 2015, 05:00 PM) Thanks for the info, you guys are always helpful. Will share my experience when my stuffs arrive. |
Jun 12 2015, 05:50 PM
Just back from Litt Tak warehouse sales.
Got HG Nu Gundam for RM 65.00 HG Turn A for RM 50.00. |
Jul 22 2015, 05:53 PM
Jul 22 2015, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jul 22 2015, 06:00 PM) I remember seeing this in various pharmacy like Caring or Watson, or places like Daiso also selling it Thanks man, I will go search later but make sure u check the tips, some tend to have a lot of "hair" which u definitely dun favor it since it sometime stick to ur gunpla or decals |
| Change to: | 0.0408sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:17 PM |