CPU Heatsink

Vervain
post Oct 14 2006, 11:52 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

not really. i'm wasn't using thermal paste last time on the stock heat sink. but i do regularly wash the heatsink so my temp is around 35 - 55 celcius. thermal paste can further cool down by 1-2 degrees. but it all depends on the case flow. no air flow no good cooling. even when i changed to ninja temp 32-48 celcius, still i stay away from those cheap thermal paste. cause once the cheap paste gets harden, its hard to remove it unless you warm up the processor for some time. no to mention the paste is messy.

as for threadstarter, i think, you should also consider on workin your case flow
Vervain
post Oct 14 2006, 12:57 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

na.. i didn't mention of not applying thermal paste to the threadstarter. just clarifying my discovery. its up to think about it. i'm not into extreme overclocking. but i'm certainly interested in cheap cooling setups. A poor man will always seeks the cheapest and meanest way of cooling.

thats why i've mention on case flow. sorry to make you laugh. oh well, if you think my previous post is rubbish. then feel free to delete it.

This post has been edited by Vervain: Oct 14 2006, 12:59 PM
Vervain
post Oct 14 2006, 02:55 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

not much. but consider if you tidy up cables, you dun even have to pay a cent right?

well consider everyone is debating the need of thermal paste i guess there's nothing more for me to post here. god bless~

This post has been edited by Vervain: Oct 14 2006, 02:57 PM

0.0146sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:25 PM