WinXP SP2 TCPIP patching.., Pls take a look how much value is safe?

TSjiant
post Oct 12 2006, 08:20 PM, updated 20y ago

1,785 posts

what the TCPIP value for WinXP and XP SP1 as i know SP2 is 10.
what the range of TCPIP value is safe and better?
if the value to high...will the pc hack by trojan horse and spyware and etc?
xen0
post Oct 12 2006, 08:32 PM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

open more tcpip is good for p2p such as p2p tv...
its help increase ur connection speed..
i increased from 10 to 50...so far its ok..
ibu1980
post Oct 12 2006, 08:47 PM

Senior Citizen
598 posts

i set as 100 wink.gif
Skylinestar
post Oct 12 2006, 08:55 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

where to change this setting?
samurai1337
post Oct 12 2006, 08:58 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 12 2006, 08:55 PM)
where to change this setting?
Use this software to hack the TCP
http://www.lvllord.de/

I think setting is to 50 is OKAY, as long as you've full awareness of what you're doing and your network is properly firewalled
fariz
post Oct 12 2006, 09:13 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Oct 12 2006, 08:20 PM)
what the TCPIP value for WinXP and XP SP1 as i know SP2 is 10.
what the range of TCPIP value is safe and better?
if the value to high...will the pc hack by trojan horse and spyware and etc?
for SP1 is unlimited

QUOTE(xen0 @ Oct 12 2006, 08:32 PM)
open more tcpip is good for p2p such as p2p tv...
its help increase ur connection speed..
i increased from 10 to 50...so far its ok..
It is a misconception that installing this "Patch" will speed up any type of internet connection. This patch DID NOT change the amount of connections you can have open at once, only the amount of INCOMPLETE connections that can be attempted per second.

QUOTE(Microsoft)
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/maintain/sp2netwk.mspx

Limited number of simultaneous incomplete outbound TCP connection attempts
Detailed description

The TCP/IP stack now limits the number of simultaneous incomplete outbound TCP connection attempts. After the limit has been reached, subsequent connection attempts are put in a queue and will be resolved at a fixed rate. Under normal operation, when applications are connecting to available hosts at valid IP addresses, no connection rate-limiting will occur. When it does occur, a new event, with ID 4226, appears in the system's event log.

Why is this change important? What threats does it help mitigate?

This change helps to limit the speed at which malicious programs, such as viruses and worms, spread to uninfected computers. Malicious programs often attempt to reach uninfected computers by opening simultaneous connections to random IP addresses. Most of these random addresses result in a failed connection, so a burst of such activity on a computer is a signal that it may have been infected by a malicious program.

What works differently?

This change may cause certain security tools, such as port scanners [NOT Bittorrent Clients], to run more slowly.

This post has been edited by fariz: Oct 12 2006, 09:14 PM
TSjiant
post Oct 12 2006, 09:57 PM

1,785 posts

will it cause pc to by hack it seeting too high?
eg 256?
or ecffect by trojan horse spyware and etc milicious?

also may i know which antivirus and firewall u all use?any body use zone alarm pro?how to set?

my pc is ecffect by trojan horse spyware before and the latest is etc milicious that i non know? i just format my pc and reinstall winxp pro..need some body help.
zenix
post Oct 13 2006, 11:14 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

more open connections = more open ports = more options for a hacker to hack/send trojans over BUT REALLY no hacker is going to spend time to hack YOUR system.

its more likely automated scripts from p0rn and warez website doh.gif
TSjiant
post Oct 13 2006, 08:59 PM

1,785 posts

no the hacker but many trojan horse, spyware, ad-ware,and some milicious files is come into my pc...so any one know which value is better and safety?

can some body post up the higher value that u all set wif not problem?
any body try 256 or 512?any problem?
fariz
post Oct 13 2006, 09:01 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

50-100 is enough.. no need to use higher values.
TSjiant
post Oct 13 2006, 11:54 PM

1,785 posts

but some p2p software like pplive need 256 or 512.
fariz
post Oct 14 2006, 12:35 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

I think you're confused between connection speed (512 kbps) and no. of tcp connection
yelsew
post Oct 14 2006, 09:43 AM

277 posts

I encoutered a download manager tat recommend to set higher, but it's really unnecessary... at 100 should be sufficient alraedy smile.gif
zenix
post Oct 15 2006, 10:37 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Oct 13 2006, 08:59 PM)
no the hacker but many trojan horse, spyware, ad-ware,and some milicious files is come into my pc...so any one know which value is better and safety?

can some body post up the higher value that u all set wif not problem?
any body try 256 or 512?any problem?
automated scripts sent by infected computers and servers is the most likely source.
doesn't matter if you have 1-n as long as you have a connection to the internet there is always the possibility of infection.

virus = program design to harm either s/w or h/w of its host computer.

malware = worm, password miner, etc. basically any s/w that takes control of your computer for malicious reasons, i.e. using it as a base for mass email, stealing your passwords, etc. will not harm your computer will make it slower by using its resources to send out mass email spam for example.

spyware = ad-ware, tracking cookies, tracking programs, etc. basically datamining software that will search its host computer and stay in memory to know the users internet habits and preferences then send this data back its server. usually categorized as harmless but invading privacy and slowing your computer down.

as you can see there are more new malware and spyware than viruses nowadays. virus don't help make money where else selling data mined from users computer can sweat.gif
natakaasd
post Oct 15 2006, 12:59 PM

2,188 posts

Nice explanation from zenix. Yeah, it doesn't care how many connections you have, as long as there is connection, they will still attempt to go in. So, just try to limit the chances by having a smaller amount of connections (100 is quite adequate). Cheers
Ultima
post Oct 15 2006, 03:39 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

em if im playing online games, does it matter to change the value?

yelsew
post Oct 15 2006, 03:49 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Oct 15 2006, 03:39 PM)
em if im playing online games, does it matter to change the value?
nope, don't think so. So far only when comes to p2p then only it's mentioned.
zenix
post Oct 16 2006, 02:55 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

you can open up a million connections but it won't speed anything up beyond what streamyx provides, there is a fine line between default and optimized.

e.g. a highway got 2 lane and 4 lanes, if a car travelling at 80kmh in a 2 lane highway, does it need 4 lanes to go faster?

so lets say streamyx works best with 4lanes and 10 cars taking into accounts like bottlenecks between pc->router->local exchange (CVX)->data center->internet.

you put 8 lanes your 10 cars are still going to go at the same speed. but since there is more lanes, things are smoother and applications that can make use of the extra connections, make use of it. the rest is wasted. if applications like p2p, more cars but speed still the same at certain points like local exchange where their allocation for you is 4 lanes, then you trying to squeeze 8 lanes and 20 cars into something that can only fit 4 lanes and 10 cars, sure jam....bottleneck.

also with more lanes there will be more chances of accidents (data packet clashing and need to resend because of bottleneck/etc.) and cars going in reverse (incoming spyware/virus/etc.)

car = bandwidth& data packets
car speed = connection speed
lane = connections

0.0131sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:32 AM