Perfumes for Guys v4, Discussion anything about fragrance

spyduh
post Dec 30 2015, 05:50 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 30 2015, 05:01 PM)
If I had to choose one, it'd be Bleu. I owned and gave both away. 212 men has been watered down. Make sure you sample first before buying. It's not worth gamble on it based on other's opinions alone. Both are available at major department stores for which you can try.

I had to stress that because there's been a case recently where a guy went ahead and blind bought a fragrance based on our suggestions and regretted later.
basicly in my rotation is

1) theirry muggler Amen
2) fahrenheit
3) one million
4) ck red

now i cant decide on what my next should be.... bvlgari aqva is also not too bad
t0n3
post Dec 30 2015, 07:30 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(spyduh @ Dec 30 2015, 05:50 PM)
basicly in my rotation is
1) theirry muggler Amen
2) fahrenheit
3) one million
4) ck red
now i cant decide on what my next should be.... bvlgari aqva is also not too bad
Ah, I see you have quite a number of bottles there. Amen and Fahrenheit are classics.

Can't decide which one to buy? Easy, if you love them all, get all of them but get the one you can afford first to keep you busy for a while.
marver
post Dec 30 2015, 07:34 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 30 2015, 04:37 PM)
Will share if I do make the purchase next year. The future is uncertain for us Malaysians. In fact, I did place a fragrance order just before xmas. Just couldn't resist the offer. Stay tuned for my last fragrance haul of 2015 next month.

My scent of window shopping today was Dior Homme. Still on my year end leave.

Nice shot bro... Great SOTD take on Dior Homme...

marver
post Dec 30 2015, 07:38 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(spyduh @ Dec 30 2015, 04:30 PM)
anyone know if i should get 212 men or chanel de blue?

im looking for a strong smelling fresh smell kinda like soap/after shower
My vote will go for BDC.. It has a masculine tangerine opening scent. A classy scent.
While 212 are burst of potent lavender.. Somehow i feel the lavender sting my nose badly..
I got a bottle of BDC(EDP) version, Which i enjoy it very much on formal attire ( Office,Meeting Client & Wedding Dinner ).

t0n3
post Dec 30 2015, 07:54 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Dec 30 2015, 07:34 PM)
Nice shot bro... Great SOTD take on Dior Homme...
Thanks! I took the inspiration from you biggrin.gif

Side track a bit. I see you guys are talking about watches wish list but mine is just simple. I only have 3 watches for different occasions. Casual (the one in the picture), formal and outdoor/diving (though I don't scuba dive nowadays). Having said that, as a tech geek, I'm interested in Moto 360 but I think it wouldn't be practical if I have to worry about the battery life all the time.
marver
post Dec 30 2015, 08:28 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 30 2015, 07:54 PM)
Thanks! I took the inspiration from you  biggrin.gif

Side track a bit. I see you guys are talking about watches wish list but mine is just simple. I only have 3 watches for different occasions. Casual (the one in the picture), formal and outdoor/diving (though I don't scuba dive nowadays). Having said that, as a tech geek, I'm interested in Moto 360 but I think it wouldn't be practical if I have to worry about the battery life all the time.
Lolz... Bro should stick to your previous shooting style. It has your own style.. Remember how bro shoot your CK Escape,Tauer Cdm & Breath of God.
Yet my picture shooting just tofu class. Point & shoot. Bro camera skill are far way better than me.. rclxms.gif
Bro as a tech geek,Can consider getting Samsung Gear 2 or Apple Watch to go with your hp. Easily to pair and sync the important date,data or other nice function nod.gif

t0n3
post Dec 30 2015, 09:24 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Dec 30 2015, 08:28 PM)
Lolz... Bro should stick to your previous shooting style. It has your own style.. Remember how bro shoot your CK Escape,Tauer Cdm & Breath of God.
Yet my picture shooting just tofu class. Point & shoot.  Bro camera skill are far way better than me..  rclxms.gif
Bro as a tech geek,Can consider getting Samsung Gear 2 or Apple Watch to go with your hp. Easily to pair and sync the important date,data or other nice function  nod.gif

Haha, not in the mood of shooting anything like that now.

Thanks for the smart watch suggestions. I prefer the more traditional rounded watch, which I believe only Motorola has it in the market right now. I think we should stop now before this thread turns into rojak.

spyduh
post Dec 31 2015, 10:32 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Dec 30 2015, 07:38 PM)
My vote will go for BDC.. It has a masculine tangerine opening scent. A classy scent.
While 212 are burst of potent lavender.. Somehow i feel the lavender sting my nose badly..
I got a bottle of BDC(EDP) version, Which i enjoy it very much on formal attire ( Office,Meeting Client & Wedding Dinner ).
does it smell good? like really strong?
izam7
post Dec 31 2015, 12:01 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 30 2015, 09:24 PM)

Thanks for the smart watch suggestions. I prefer the more traditional rounded watch, which I believe only Motorola has it in the market right now. I think we should stop now before this thread turns into rojak.

WOW...
Now this thread slowly becoming 'WATCH FOR GUYS' thread .... lol tongue.gif
hahaha.. just joking...

Me now just stick with my Aviator Traveller Collection.. thumbup.gif
Use to have the legendary Tag Heuer F1....

Maybe next year aiming for SEVEN FRIDAY P series rclxms.gif
edwardleong
post Dec 31 2015, 12:21 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 30 2015, 09:24 PM)

Haha just like perfume, watches are now part of essential men accessories already. to tell time is the most least important of a watch now. rather it is a piece of statement. small yet significant effect similar to perfume finishes up a person;s confidence hehe

Even im a tech junkie, a smartwatch is never a no go on any given business functions unless you are 007 under special mision to save the world lol. and it remind me of detective conan in a way lol lol lol

this is just my view la as i prefer simple, minimalist and elegance timeless.

QUOTE(spyduh @ Dec 31 2015, 10:32 AM)
does it smell good? like really strong?
my friend, spend a day at sephora to sniff eveything out and find the one truely like hehe coz one man's meat may be another's poison

QUOTE(izam7 @ Dec 31 2015, 12:01 PM)
WOW...
Now this thread slowly becoming 'WATCH FOR GUYS' thread .... lol  tongue.gif
hahaha.. just joking...

Me now just stick with my Aviator Traveller Collection..  thumbup.gif

Maybe next year aiming for SEVEN FRIDAY P series  rclxms.gif
haha not bad le bang. no la cannot fight the watch thread in lyn la, sume Panerai la B&R la IWC la Rolex la

t0n3
post Dec 31 2015, 12:25 PM

1,528 posts

With 2016 is just less than 12 hours away from now, it's time to sit down and ponder what we have achieved this year, fragrance-wise of course. Looking at myself back in 2011 when I first started my fragrance journey, I was very much an aquatic person. That year has seen me purchasing Cool Water Summer Dive by Davidoff, Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani, L'Eau D'Issey by Issey Miyake, etc.

In 2012, it continued the trend of aquatics and with introduction of some heavier fragrances like Black by Mandarina Duck, Platinum Egoiste by Chanel, Le Male by JPG, etc. but one fragrance forever changed the way I looked at fragrances and paved the path of what my taste is today and that is Prada Amber Pour Homme. It was nothing I had smelt before and quite unique even to this day. I fell head over heels for it and even bought the shower gel to complement the wearing. It had become my favorite that year.

2013 had been a year of heavy fragrances for me with purchases of Narciso Rodriguez For Him Musc Collection, Encre Noire by Lalique, A*Men, LIDGE, etc. During that year, one fragrance got me into amber and that is Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens. Purchase of amber fragrances continued with Opus VI by Amouage and 24 Gold by ScentStory. Ambre Sultan had become my favorite that year and still is my holy grail of amber even though I have tried all the amber fragrances I could get my hands on.

In 2014, it expanded beyond amber and into other resins particularly incense, frankincense, myrrh and oppononax. I guess some of you may know that 2014 had been a Tauer year for me together with Churchy incense. That same year also marked the beginning of animalic year that was to come with purchases of Labdanum 18 by Le Labo and Musc Ravageur by Frederic Malle.

Finally, 2015. My taste has grown to a whole new level this year with even more animalic fragrance purchases plus some classics and vintages. I foresee my interest for this genre will continue on to the new year and years to come. That said, what better way to wrap up my 2015 than to wear my most favorite animalic fragrance in my collection - Musc Tonkin by PdE. I have not smelt the real deer musk but some say this is close to the real thing. Happy new year to all my fellow fragheads.

marver
post Dec 31 2015, 12:27 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(izam7 @ Dec 31 2015, 12:01 PM)
WOW...
Now this thread slowly becoming 'WATCH FOR GUYS' thread .... lol  tongue.gif
hahaha.. just joking...

Me now just stick with my Aviator Traveller Collection..  thumbup.gif

Maybe next year aiming for SEVEN FRIDAY P series  rclxms.gif
Hahaha... all started with bro edward poison. He's capable of putting poison.
Let's back to our Thred topic.. Anyone sharing new year 2016 perfume hunt? hmm.gif
izam7
post Dec 31 2015, 01:57 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 31 2015, 12:25 PM)
With 2016 is just less than 12 hours away from now, it's time to sit down and ponder what we have achieved this year, fragrance-wise of course. Looking at myself back in 2011 when I first started my fragrance journey, I was very much an aquatic person. That year has seen me purchasing Cool Water Summer Dive by Davidoff, Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani, L'Eau D'Issey by Issey Miyake, etc.

In 2012, it continued the trend of aquatics and with introduction of some heavier fragrances like Black by Mandarina Duck, Platinum Egoiste by Chanel, Le Male by JPG, etc. but one fragrance forever changed the way I looked at fragrances and paved the path of what my taste is today and that is Prada Amber Pour Homme. It was nothing I had smelt before and quite unique even to this day. I fell head over heels for it and even bought the shower gel to complement the wearing. It had become my favorite that year.

2013 had been a year of heavy fragrances for me with purchases of Narciso Rodriguez For Him Musc Collection, Encre Noire by Lalique, A*Men, LIDGE, etc. During that year, one fragrance got me into amber and that is Ambre Sultan by Serge Lutens. Purchase of amber fragrances continued with Opus VI by Amouage and 24 Gold by ScentStory. Ambre Sultan had become my favorite that year and still is my holy grail of amber even though I have tried all the amber fragrances I could get my hands on.

In 2014, it expanded beyond amber and into other resins particularly incense, frankincense, myrrh and oppononax. I guess some of you may know that 2014 had been a Tauer year for me together with Churchy incense. That same year also marked the beginning of animalic year that was to come with purchases of Labdanum 18 by Le Labo and Musc Ravageur by Frederic Malle.

Finally, 2015. My taste has grown to a whole new level this year with even more animalic fragrance purchases plus some classics and vintages. I foresee my interest for this genre will continue on to the new year and years to come. That said, what better way to wrap up my 2015 than to wear my most favorite animalic fragrance in my collection - Musc Tonkin by PdE. I have not smelt the real deer musk but some say this is close to the real thing. Happy new year to all my fellow fragheads.

I'm totally agreed on your above evolution tongue.gif
From the safe fragrances your taste slowly went into the darker, stronger, incense and animalic one... thumbup.gif

Underhill
post Dec 31 2015, 02:35 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

I went to smell a few fragrances from Jovoy and Xerjoff yesterday. Hopefully I can get my hand on Mamluk. There were no one at the counter to entertain me yesterday.

SOTD: Oud Jaune Intense by Fragrance Du Bois (sample).

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Dec 31 2015, 12:25 PM)
I love incense, myrrh, and frankincense. Amouage is my favorite house, and easily accessible (KLCC). I'd love to check out Nishane, and Tauer as you mentioned. But I hate (blind) buying online. I'm also looking to check-out Arabian Oud.

This post has been edited by Underhill: Dec 31 2015, 02:36 PM
marver
post Dec 31 2015, 03:51 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

Awesome Fragrance adventure everyone... smile.gif
It was really fun and excited as a passion fragrance-head.. Is like addicted to try out all of the fragrance..

For me started out as all of perfume fans here,From designer range to above-average level such as ; Giorgio Armani,Dior & Chanel etc..
Slowly and exploring alternative scent for 'Niche' class and into 'Niche' fragrance..

As for New year haul,I hope to add in more bottled in my collection series.
Don't really like to change fragrance-house collection,But happy to try out new scent from diff house.

Trying out new fragrance today by Terry De Gunzburg ; Bleu Paradise
Looking and discover her take on Rose fragrance...

~ A mysterious blue rose envelops the essence with warm cedar and reveals a sensual musky dry-down. ~

SOTD : Terry de Gunzburg ; Bleu Paradise

edwardleong
post Dec 31 2015, 09:03 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Dec 31 2015, 03:51 PM)
Awesome Fragrance adventure everyone...  smile.gif
It was really fun and excited as a passion fragrance-head.. Is like addicted to try out all of the fragrance..

For me started out as all of perfume fans here,From designer range to above-average level such as ; Giorgio Armani,Dior & Chanel etc..
Slowly and exploring alternative scent for 'Niche' class and into 'Niche' fragrance..

As for New year haul,I hope to add in more  bottled in my collection series.
Don't really like to change fragrance-house collection,But happy to try out new scent from diff house.
Trying out new fragrance today by Terry De Gunzburg ; Bleu Paradise
Looking and discover her take on Rose fragrance...

~ A mysterious blue rose envelops the essence with warm cedar and reveals a sensual musky dry-down. ~

SOTD : Terry de Gunzburg ; Bleu Paradise

Haha my journey all start before my finance minister before she become my finance minister, she complimented that I smell nice that time I was wearing RL polo blue tongue.gif

Then continue to look for romance silver as she love that smell and voila that's how I came across this thread and that time still early v2 I think lol...

And since then spark my interest on men smelling nice, and those GQ and Esquire also not helping at all lol then fragrantica study ang moh reviews and kena kaw kaw blind buy and hate it and start hunting for niche alternative back then.

Game changer for me was my first blind buy of Serge Luten Chergui and start realise f those alternative then my first Amouage epic man tester from ayden git from marver have further strengthen my urge for niches. Well after got my nose trained by niches I know there are quality designers waiting for us to appreciate ie Burberry London, Polo double black, Cartier declaration d'un soir Hermes bel ami etc

My nose continue to develop and found one of my three most favourite notes - rose. It is portrait of a lady that kick started it followed by noir de noir and here comes Oud ie kilian rose Oud and Armani rose d'arabie

Haha slowly i try more n more niche such as roja, Clive Christian, etc and My tolerance for fragrance quality become thinner as no compromises when come to scent. Then I love the note of bergamots and neroli.

Haha my sotd is a party one - 6 sprays of Tom ford black orchid
izam7
post Dec 31 2015, 09:33 PM

219 posts

hahahaha...
now every one started to tell their own journey...
it's thanks to bro Ton3 smile.gif

how about me?
erm...right now don't have any idea yet on how to write
a good adventure one....hihihi...

maybe next time will write one....
but 1 thing I can say that my journey is still evolving
all due to all of you guys....

Thanks a lot wink.gif
t0n3
post Jan 1 2016, 10:22 AM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Dec 31 2015, 02:35 PM)
I went to smell a few fragrances from Jovoy and Xerjoff yesterday. Hopefully I can get my hand on Mamluk. There were no one at the counter to entertain me yesterday.

SOTD: Oud Jaune Intense by Fragrance Du Bois (sample).
I love incense, myrrh, and frankincense. Amouage is my favorite house, and easily accessible (KLCC). I'd love to check out Nishane, and Tauer as you mentioned. But I hate (blind) buying online. I'm also looking to check-out Arabian Oud.
Looking forward to your next haul. Amouage is king when it comes to incense. Tried most of their mainstream line and library collection, my favorite are Jubilation, Interlude, Gold and Opus VI. Most people I know of tend to shy away from those resins rich scents.

Tauer has discovery set you can choose and buy. Ships to Malaysia.
- http://www.tauerperfumes.com/discovery-set.html

QUOTE(izam7 @ Dec 31 2015, 09:33 PM)
hahahaha...
now every one started to tell their own journey...
it's thanks to bro Ton3 smile.gif

how about me?
erm...right now don't have any idea yet on how to write
a good adventure one....hihihi...

maybe next time will write one....
but 1 thing I can say that my journey is still evolving
all due to all of you guys....

Thanks a lot wink.gif
No worries bro. No need to stress yourself. Just relax and enjoy this long weekends.

My scent on the first day of 2016 is the little brother of Musc Ravageur - Labdanum 18. Le Labo is notorious for its inappropriate naming, which often doesn't smell as the name suggests. That's because, the name is taken based on ingredient with highest concentration used. The number denotes number of notes. Happy 2016 everyone and have a fragrant year ahead!

edwardleong
post Jan 1 2016, 12:43 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Jan 1 2016, 10:22 AM)
Looking forward to your next haul. Amouage is king when it comes to incense. Tried most of their mainstream line and library collection, my favorite are Jubilation, Interlude, Gold and Opus VI. Most people I know of tend to shy away from those resins rich scents.

Tauer has discovery set you can choose and buy. Ships to Malaysia.
- http://www.tauerperfumes.com/discovery-set.html
No worries bro. No need to stress yourself. Just relax and enjoy this long weekends.

My scent on the first day of 2016 is the little brother of Musc Ravageur - Labdanum 18. Le Labo is notorious for its inappropriate naming, which often doesn't smell as the name suggests. That's because, the name is taken based on ingredient with highest concentration used. The number denotes number of notes. Happy 2016 everyone and have a fragrant year ahead!

Haha bro looking at le labo boutique really nostalgic and make me wanna relive my hong kong fragrance trip...

And my SOTD - By Kilian's Prelude to Love

Wonderful neroli iris leather scent which suits our hot weather just fine.

The neroli opening resembles TF Neroli Portofino and the iris just nice not waxy, and goes very well with the soft leather.

I dont think anyone can leave By Kilian's counter empty handed, that might be their policy i guess lol.

Im sorry to leave it aside after i gotten my Nio.

Le Labo i do like thier gimmicky botle marketing technique and i find Bergamotte 22 is worth your every penny if neroli portofino is your style and dont want to spend more to get the 100ml. and also rose 31. Only find these 2 ngam my mediocre mass market nose lol

AmmoShaf
post Jan 1 2016, 05:11 PM

702 posts

Started 2016 with these two new addition. Although this is not my first adg bottle. Bought them at a decent price from a fellow forumer. Really want to try something different as currently only having these kind of fresh/sporty kind of fragrances including DHS, MB Individuel, Legend Intense, Davidoff Cool Water. I guess DHI is the only different perfume that I have. And decants such as PAPH, LIDGE, Encre Noir, Play Intense. Didnt like LIDGE or Play Intense at first, but after few times wearing, growing to like it and now I miss the smell after finished the decant. Interested to try Oud or something strong like Amouge(which I never smell) , but not sure where to start. Would be great if you guys have recommendations.

274 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:31 AM