Perfumes for Guys v4, Discussion anything about fragrance

t0n3
post Nov 3 2016, 04:45 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(TAZIO.N @ Nov 3 2016, 04:09 PM)
Thanks bro.I'm pretty sure nobody will be offended by you since you're one of the most respected poster here.Like I said before,I'm just beginner of the Oud..From what I read,those Feel Oud,Ensar and Agar Aura are the real deal(did they?).Just curious If  you have tried any of those real oud oil.
I also find out that Agar Aura is based in Malaysia.So we have at least 2 highly regarded fragrance/oud house here.(the other one is Auphorie).Not bad kan? biggrin.gif
I haven't tried those you mentioned but I have tried some from Arabian Oud. From what I read, none of the commercial perfumes use real oud because it's extremely expensive. Real oud is animalic but of course perfumer can add some animalic notes with synthetic oud to make it smell like the real deal. You can read more about it here :-
- http://perfumeshrine.blogspot.my/2009/12/p...odagarwood.html

It is said that there is a small amount of the real oud used in Oud by Mona di Orio. Some companies do that. Like the case of Jasmine used by Chanel. Only a small amount of the real thing is used on top of Jasmine aroma compound to make it smell more natural.
cheefai7
post Nov 3 2016, 05:55 PM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Nov 3 2016, 04:45 PM)
I haven't tried those you mentioned but I have tried some from Arabian Oud. From what I read, none of the commercial perfumes use real oud because it's extremely expensive. Real oud is animalic but of course perfumer can add some animalic notes with synthetic oud to make it smell like the real deal. You can read more about it here :-

It is said that there is a small amount of the real oud used in Oud by Mona di Orio. Some companies do that. Like the case of Jasmine used by Chanel. Only a small amount of the real thing is used on top of Jasmine aroma compound to make it smell more natural.
Start farming some agar wood then. Anyway if synthetic aromatic is able to do the job, let it be, to conserve the environment.
attacusatlas
post Nov 4 2016, 12:29 AM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Nov 3 2016, 04:45 PM)

I have tried Oud by Mona di Orio a few years ago when I was in Singapore. I quite like it.

Or another option will be Oud by MFK.
whitey87
post Nov 4 2016, 12:57 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Nov 1 2016, 04:49 PM)
I happen to be wearing it today. Doesn't even smell remotely similar to the original Colonia. The Essenza is a neroli bomb. If the original is a casual day-time scent, the Essenza is for a smart casual evening out. Performance is quite good for an EdC by the way.
Couldn't agree more with you. This is indeed a neroli bomb with citrus hiding in there somewhere. Bought a big bottle from the ADP boutique in Rome's Spanish Steps after the smart gentlemen serving me gave me a complimentary shave and facial within the store....yes they have a classy looking "barbershop" setting at the back of the store biggrin.gif

QUOTE(maxtorxxx @ Nov 1 2016, 05:33 PM)
What do u think about Colonia Oud
Had the original version bottle ( Colonia Intensa Oud ) before they rename it to just Colonia Oud since 2012. Bought while they were doing a promo in Parkson Pavillion....I was coming up the escalator and this wonderful smell can be detected from the floor below. This fresh citrusy oud is my first foray into western oud perfumes. A wonderful and intoxicating smell IMO quite different from the more common rose/oud combo like Zegna's Indonesian Oud and Dior's Oud Isphahan acquired after this ADP

This post has been edited by whitey87: Nov 4 2016, 12:58 AM
t0n3
post Nov 4 2016, 10:40 AM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Nov 4 2016, 12:29 AM)
I have tried Oud by Mona di Orio a few years ago when I was in Singapore. I quite like it.

Or another option will be Oud by MFK.
Long time no see bro! How's life treating you?

Where can I find MdO in SG? It's not listed in here :-
- http://your-perfume-guide.com/singapore/

I'm wearing their Cuir today.

whitey87
post Nov 4 2016, 04:38 PM

64 posts

Today am wearing Ghroob, a perfume oil from Arabian Oud. The bottle itself is encased in this somewhat "gothic" or "arabesque" metal casing. A floral oriental smell with Oud which opens with orange blossom. Kafkaesque did a review of this 2 years ago...

http://www.kafkaesqueblog.com/tag/ghoroob/

TheNiro
post Nov 4 2016, 05:06 PM

107 posts

Anyone interested in a Tom Ford Noir Extreme (tester)?
80% left in bottle
attacusatlas
post Nov 4 2016, 05:42 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Nov 4 2016, 10:40 AM)
Long time no see bro! How's life treating you?

Where can I find MdO in SG? It's not listed in here :-
- http://your-perfume-guide.com/singapore/

I'm wearing their Cuir today.

Hi bro, indeed it has been a while. Life has been good. I hope the same goes to you.

I sampled the Mona di Orio at the Hide & Seek in Kampong Glam, Singapore. Unfortunately it has closed down permanently.

Quite sad to see a shop with so much character and personality disappeared. They not only carried niche perfume like your favorite Tauer, Histoires de Parfum, Etat Libre D'orange, Humiecki & Graef, Huitieme Art Parfums, they also carried eyewear by House of Holland and Ksubi, as well house furniture.

If case you are interested to know, the Mona di Orio was selling at SGD 340 at that time.

I really hope they will make a come back soon.
kahyeec
post Nov 4 2016, 07:09 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Oct 24 2016, 10:01 AM)
I guess this is to solve recent custom problems. If you changed your address to Singapore, there's no VAT charged.
Hi again guys , noticed now Fragrence X is still charging VAT but have been reduced to around 5% of the purchase price , which is substantial as compared to nearly 20% a week ago. Now can sound the all clear and proceed to purchase as usual liao. rclxms.gif
whitey87
post Nov 4 2016, 07:50 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Nov 4 2016, 07:09 PM)
Hi again guys , noticed now Fragrence X is still charging VAT but have been reduced to around 5% of the purchase price , which is substantial as compared to nearly 20% a week ago. Now can sound the all clear and proceed to purchase as usual liao.  rclxms.gif
yeayyyy.....lucky I postpone a purchase. I prefer to order max 3 bottles now and shipped thru USPS since its "always' gets thru without much hassle c/w DHL
kahyeec
post Nov 4 2016, 07:58 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(whitey87 @ Nov 4 2016, 07:50 PM)
yeayyyy.....lucky I postpone a purchase. I prefer to order max 3 bottles now and shipped thru USPS since its "always' gets thru without much hassle c/w DHL
I think the VAT is mainly to settle the issue from DHL side of things. Anyways , hope this VAT will remain low and it is not a typo or some system error dry.gif
whyamiblack
post Nov 5 2016, 12:24 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(kahyeec @ Nov 4 2016, 07:09 PM)
Hi again guys , noticed now Fragrence X is still charging VAT but have been reduced to around 5% of the purchase price , which is substantial as compared to nearly 20% a week ago. Now can sound the all clear and proceed to purchase as usual liao.  rclxms.gif
I think VAT only applies to purchases above RM500. Tried placing order below the amount and no VAT charged. Guessing it's for DHL delivery issue of higher purchases.
kahyeec
post Nov 5 2016, 05:32 AM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ Nov 5 2016, 12:24 AM)
I think VAT only applies to purchases above RM500. Tried placing order below the amount and no VAT charged. Guessing it's for DHL delivery issue of higher purchases.
Thanks for the info bro , i always put more than RM500 things into my cart, so did not notice . No wonder Singapore forum guys says there is a 7 percent import tax levied for FragranceX purchases above SGD 400. I guess there is a cut off amount where you will need to pay VAT.

whitey87
post Nov 6 2016, 11:08 AM

64 posts

Bought Chanel Allure Edition Blanche during the long Deepavali weekend at a super duper nett price from Parkson... RM375 and I got a RM80 voucher. So nett price is ONLY RM295 :-)

A woody citrus masterpiece by Jaques Polgue....fresh opening hours with lovely tonka and sandalwood drydown. Lovely.

SOTD

This post has been edited by whitey87: Nov 6 2016, 11:09 AM
kahyeec
post Nov 6 2016, 01:32 PM

1,153 posts

QUOTE(whitey87 @ Nov 6 2016, 11:08 AM)
Bought Chanel Allure Edition Blanche during the long Deepavali weekend at a super duper nett price from Parkson... RM375 and I got a RM80 voucher. So nett price is ONLY RM295 :-)

A woody citrus masterpiece by Jaques Polgue....fresh opening hours with lovely tonka and sandalwood drydown. Lovely.

SOTD

Since Chanel dont accept Parkson Vouchers , it is always good to buy a Chanel full price bottle and use the voucher to offset purchases at Dior . Damn Parkson , make me spend a lot of $$ there biggrin.gif
meredzone
post Nov 7 2016, 01:53 PM

blank
2,801 posts

Anyone interested in :-

1. Bleu de Chanel EDT 100ml (Bought from Parkson 98% left)
2. Dior Sauvage EDT 60ml (Bought from Parkson 98% left)
3. Acqua di Gio Profumo Parfum 75ml TESTER (85% left)
4. YSL La Nuit De L'homme EDT 100ml TESTER (98% left)

Can pm or whatsapp me at 010-717 0007

Will post in WTS thread soon. THX

t0n3
post Nov 7 2016, 04:50 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Nov 4 2016, 05:42 PM)
Hi bro, indeed it has been a while. Life has been good. I hope the same goes to you.

I sampled the Mona di Orio at the Hide & Seek in Kampong Glam, Singapore. Unfortunately it has closed down permanently.

Quite sad to see a shop with so much character and personality disappeared. They not only carried niche perfume like your favorite Tauer, Histoires de Parfum, Etat Libre D'orange, Humiecki & Graef, Huitieme Art Parfums, they also carried eyewear by House of Holland and Ksubi, as well house furniture.

If case you are interested to know, the Mona di Orio was selling at SGD 340 at that time.

I really hope they will make a come back soon.
Ah Hide & Seek. Lucky you. I never got the chance to visit it. It was already closed when I got there a few years ago.
attacusatlas
post Nov 7 2016, 08:58 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Nov 7 2016, 04:50 PM)
Ah Hide & Seek. Lucky you. I never got the chance to visit it. It was already closed when I got there a few years ago.
It was indeed sad to see it to close down. That area, Kampong Glam is quite an enjoyable place to visit, and to have a cup of coffee watching ppl passing-by.
attacusatlas
post Nov 7 2016, 08:59 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

So, as usual, Christmas is just around the corner (literally). Anyone has any wishlist ready?
attacusatlas
post Nov 7 2016, 09:07 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...40&p=57812948&#

It was in Jan 2013.

274 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:08 PM