Goodbye Shell Cyberjaya, jobs at stake

TSlightwerker
post Apr 17 2015, 12:28 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 17 2015, 11:27 AM)
An O&G company still only have expertise on O&G business, not others.
So is good step you are taking. All the staffs from other business/departments basically are not competent.
i agree with u with regards to their incompetency.
but i still do not agree about the racism practised by shell or any MNC.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 17 2015, 01:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Apr 17 2015, 12:28 PM)
Then you shall come to Middle East and feel it your self.
ongss
post Apr 17 2015, 03:14 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Apr 17 2015, 10:07 AM)
well, the things u mention are totally irrelevant.
do u know whenever we see any resume from shell we will just KIV? reason because shell people are too focus on 1 single repetitive task. for example the finance person that i interviewed from shell only know accounts receivable ! she dont know heck about P&L or BS. And yet they are demanding high salary? I could easily hire at cheaper (or i would be more willing to pay higher pay) to those from chinaman company because this finance girl i hired knows almost everything in finance ! since then i never have prejudice towards small company anymore. mind u i am in a german MNC.

don't believe what i said? go ask other MNC whether they would hire shell staff or not. try those companies near you in cyberjaya (not T-system or HP). My excolleague from here who went to AIG practise the same idea as well.
If you are referring to those Finance shared services, then it is a different story. Firstly, Shell is listed in US market and SOx compliance is mandatory. Therefore, jobs are required to have segregation of duties. So, it is inevitable that some of these staffs only know certain areas. And, they are supposed to know very well because they should know the country-specific statutory requirements since they usually support more than 1 country.

Anyway, the purpose of shared services is like producing Ford's model T. No doubt, you could be in a German MNC. But, you are not in the share service fields like BASF, BHP, BP, Air Products, Worley Parsons and etc. So, to me, you should have skip those cv in the first place since their experiences are not relevant to your company. The girl that applied your opening should have try out those share service centres instead of your company.

To me, it is very simple to dig out information. Just go to Linkedin, search the keywords "Shell Cyberjaya" and take a look into the list of people used to work in Shell Cyberjaya. Then, look at their current positions.

Nevertheless, Shell is going to recruit more share services staffs to fill in their office at Cyberjaya. So, be prepared to see more these sort of cv in the market.
QUOTE(thoyol @ Apr 17 2015, 10:59 AM)
Unfortunately this is totally true too. Shared Centre constantly train people to become a specialist and focused on 1 area. The idea is to make the employee well-versed and totally competent in the said area and only that area. It will make them become a 'oil-greased' part of the whole system.

They will have a hard time to compete with "all-rounder" or generalist. They can only fit in other Shared Centre environment.
That's true for workforces at operational levels. For senior levels who are the process custodians, they should know end-to-end processes. Quite a number of ex-Shell finance staffs are doing quite well in local public listed companies.

anangryorc
post Apr 19 2015, 08:49 AM

597 posts

QUOTE(lightwerker @ Apr 17 2015, 12:28 PM)
they do have competency to talk cock and play politics, these competencies are the keys towards "successful" career.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 19 2015, 02:07 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Apr 19 2015, 08:49 AM)
they do have competency to talk cock and play politics, these competencies are the keys towards "successful" career.
All MNC is like that, talk only big, but actual work skill are minimal.
When you are in the office, playing office politics is the only way to climb up and stay in it sweat.gif
Even if you have have to step your friend's head to climb up rclxub.gif
dc28yk
post Apr 21 2015, 08:42 PM

269 posts

Of so many comments i read... only supersound seems depress...

Out of the 800 works from shell? Anybody that depress? Did anyone get a VSS yet? Or retrenched already?

They offer you a job to.. work.. they are not suppose to take care your grandfather, grandmother, father, mother, sister, brother and etc...

I respect your opinions.. but you sound so depress...
Jack Wilshere 10
post Apr 27 2015, 11:51 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(danny_rocker @ Apr 17 2015, 08:36 AM)
You know Jack, you made a smart move. This is expected in big MNCs nowadays. Everyone wants to cut costs and maximize profits. So, it is better that we don't depend on these big goons so much and start making money through our own business.
I always believe that work at big company doesn't mean we r rich and sucessful.
ricstc
post Apr 27 2015, 12:04 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 19 2015, 02:07 PM)
All MNC is like that, talk only big, but actual work skill are minimal.
When you are in the office, playing office politics is the only way to climb up and stay in it sweat.gif
Even if you have have to step your friend's head to climb up rclxub.gif
notworthy.gif the most wise words from this thread - you apparently have seen this done that notworthy.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 27 2015, 12:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Apr 27 2015, 12:04 PM)
notworthy.gif the most wise words from this thread - you apparently have seen this done that  notworthy.gif
Step or be step, you choose it.
Xeqari
post May 21 2015, 12:14 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(maldini @ Mar 23 2015, 10:19 AM)
The product won't be available for new customer but existing customer will still be supported by SAP. ByDesign has limited modules, even as MNC, certain module might not necessarily have big users. So some of MNC has hybrid approach to use cheaper alternative for less users for instance HR module.
are u sure? don't simply make false statement here to misled the forumers
Suntory rollout Business ByDesign Cloud ERP in Asia
Wave 1 : Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia
Wave 2 : In Progress (Can't reveal) but will go live end of the year.
Wave 3 : Cant reveal too.

NEC was also awarded the SAP AWARD OF EXCELLENCE 2015 "Project Award" for the successful completion of this project.

Before I left NEC, I actually saw the Resources Plan for their confirmed projects for 2015/2016 and it has a lot of MNC in it.

btw, they are converting ECC peeps into ByDesign peeps.
NEC acquire Abeam Consulting. ABeam Consulting to be wholly owned subsidiary of the company.

This post has been edited by Xeqari: May 21 2015, 12:19 PM
cybermaster98
post Jun 15 2015, 10:20 AM

4,440 posts

So whats really happening with Shell in Cyberjaya and how does that affect HP?
filage
post Nov 5 2019, 09:04 AM

1,205 posts

What does staff in Menara Shell do nowadays? Is this an IT hub ?
mohdyakup
post Nov 5 2019, 10:18 AM

4,351 posts

Shell GSSB Cyberjaya banyak staff Pinoy & India liao
mohdyakup
post Nov 5 2019, 10:19 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Nov 5 2019, 09:04 AM)
What does staff in Menara Shell do nowadays? Is this an IT hub ?
Which one? At KL Sentral or Cyberjaya?
filage
post Nov 5 2019, 07:15 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Nov 5 2019, 10:19 AM)
Which one? At KL Sentral or Cyberjaya?
Kl sentral, isn't cyberjaya closed?
mohdyakup
post Nov 5 2019, 08:37 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Nov 5 2019, 07:15 PM)
Kl sentral, isn't cyberjaya closed?
Cyberjaya office still open liao. Its Shell Shared Services Centre GSSB.

KL Sentral is for SMEP & Global Engineering support if not mistaken.
SUSdestiny6
post Nov 13 2019, 07:50 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Nov 5 2019, 08:37 PM)
Cyberjaya office still open liao. Its Shell Shared Services Centre GSSB.

KL Sentral is for SMEP & Global Engineering support if not mistaken.
Always change name....work from sbsc>sbo now new name pulak? Nyon still the GM?
mohdyakup
post Nov 13 2019, 07:59 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Nov 13 2019, 07:50 PM)
Always change name....work from sbsc>sbo now new name pulak? Nyon still the GM?
GM is the new one if not mistaken. Malaysian.
SUSdestiny6
post Nov 13 2019, 08:03 PM

817 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Nov 13 2019, 07:59 PM)
GM is the new one if not mistaken. Malaysian.
Oh ok....took vss around last 2years

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0223sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:48 AM